No Hodgepodge Today, But There’s Still ‘Hummy’…

Our hostess, Joyce, has taken the week off from the Hodgepodge, this week.  So, instead, I’ll tell you about our resident hummingbird, ‘Hummy’.

For years, Ed and I have tried to attract hummingbirds, without a lot of success, I might add.  We don’t have many flowers in our yard, nor do we have an ideal spot to hang a feeder.  However, we still persisted.

Last year, a couple of hummingbirds found their way over to our daughter’s house, next door.  She has flowers planted all around her porch, and chose to put a hummingbird feeder among the flowers.  It worked!  Soon she had two hummingbirds–a big one, and a smaller one.

Late last summer, I purchased a new hummingbird feeder when they went on sale at Tractor Supply.  I hung the feeder from a shepherd’s hook in the yard. Before too long, I saw a hummingbird visiting!  It turned out that my daughter let her feeder run out of nectar, and when she did, her birds found their way to my feeder!  (My daughter says when the nectar would run out, the hummingbird would fly up and look inside of her sliding glass door, as if to say, “Hey, where’s my food?!”)  The two birds visited back and forth, between our houses, the rest of the summer. 

This spring, my daughter and I put out our hummingbird feeders again, but she accidentally mixed her nectar using twice the recommended amount of sugar.  Needless to say, the hummingbirds liked her feeder best!  I think they enjoyed their ‘sugar high’!  Eventually, her feeder ran low, and the two hummingbirds migrated next door to my feeder, although I’m sure they were disappointed with my regular strength nectar!

We’ve all enjoyed watching the antics of the hummingbirds, all summer.  The largest of the two hummingbirds is a bully.  He always chases the smaller one away, but the smaller one still manages to get some nectar.  We’ve named the largest bird ‘Hummy’, and Ed’s even taken his photograph.

100_4090

‘Hummy’, the hummingbird

We enjoy watching ‘Hummy’ flying around, landing on various things in the yard.  This is the first year we’ve been able to do this (remember Ed had cataract surgery, last year!).  Before long, the weather will cool down, (I hope!) and ‘Hummy’ will soon disappear for a while.  Hopefully, both ‘Hummy’ and his friend will reappear next spring.  Perhaps, then, I’ll mix that first batch of nectar a little sweeter than usual 🙂

Published in: on August 20, 2014 at 9:44 am  Comments (6)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/08/20/no-hodgepodge-today-but-theres-still-hummy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Our hummingbirds have gotten quite friendly lately. They start off the summer buzzing to and from the feeder, never lingering too long. Now they sit while we sit and occasionally buzz our hairlines : ) I love them though-fascinating creatures, and they are one bird I see that makes me think God is so very creative! Enjoy your day.

  2. We’ve had them in the past, but it’s been a long time since I’ve seen one at out feeder. Probably a good idea to hang it near flowers. We’ll have to try that.

  3. You should start with the sweeter nectar now, so they have a fond memory of the sweetest place to feed….they will be sure to come back! Hummingbirds are amazing creatures to watch!!

  4. I used to have a feeder in California, or rather my ex did. I had an old cat who despite her advanced years, made it her summer ritual to catch one. So that put me off having feeders & outdoor cats. Now that my boys are all indoors here, I have a winter bird feeder but forgot all about hummingbirds. It’s now on my list for next summer.

  5. My daughter has canna lilies planted under her kitchen window, and almost every day she sees a hummingbird darting amongst the lilies. Makes working at the sink a little less of a burden. 😉

  6. We have a lot of flowers so they come into our yard to eat and I just love watching them! Great photo…..


Leave a Reply

