Catching Up…

It’s Monday again, and that can only mean one thing.  It’s time to play ‘catch up’.  Boy, the weekends pass in a hurry, don’t they?!  Ed had another three-day weekend, but, still, the weekend passed in a hurry.

Only two words are needed to describe our weekend–hot and wet!  The temperatures were almost unbearable on Friday and Saturday, with highs reaching the 100 mark!  By 10 a.m., each day, simply walking out on the porch was reason enough to make one sweat! Needless to say, we stayed inside as much as possible!

We originally had a day trip to the beach planned for Friday.  Once I saw the weatherman’s predictions, I knew there was no way I was going to sit outside–even under my favorite oak tree at St. Simon’s Island!  We postponed our trip until Sunday, when the temperatures were predicted to drop.

Ed and I made the best of being ‘shut ins’, by watching lots of television and taking naps.  Both days, late in the afternoon, Ed fired up the grill and cooked supper for us.  Saturday evening, on a whim, we even ate grilled steak, salad, and baked potato by candlelight!  Fun times.

Sunday morning, at the crack of dawn, we were packed and headed toward St. Simon’s.  I should have known it was going to be ‘one of those days’ when I realized that I’d forgotten to bring my shrug.  (I always wear a sundress when going to the beach, but bring a shrug to wear over it when going anywhere other than the beach.)  The sky was overcast on the way, but had cleared by the time we reached the island.  It was shaping up to be a gorgeous day–or so we thought!

100_4184

When we arrived at The Village, I noticed there was an arts and crafts festival being held in the park.  It was the first festival we’d been able to attend all year, so we headed over before unpacking our beach chairs.  I enjoy browsing the exhibits, even though I rarely buy anything. Sunday was no exception.

Before long, Ed and I were settled in our chairs, underneath our favorite oak tree.  A stiff breeze was blowing, and I noticed the water was a bit choppier than usual, but it felt so good to be outdoors!  Before long, I looked to my right, and spotted this…

100_4187

I’ll bet you can guess what happened next!  Within the next hour, the rain began to fall!  Ed and I quickly grabbed our chairs and headed for the car, where we sat and waited to see if the cloud would pass.  The longer we sat, the darker the skies became, and the more it rained.  It didn’t just rain, it poured!  We’d been on the island just over an hour…  After another hour of waiting, and watching the downpour, we gave up and left the island.

We didn’t go straight home, though.  Instead we did a little shopping, in nearby Brunswick.  I was disappointed about missing my ‘island time’, and felt naked without a shrug to cover my skimpy sundress, but we made the best of a bad situation, and still had a nice time.  In the end, that’s what really counts.

Before long, summer 2014 will be winding down, but there are still enough days left to get in a little more ‘island time’!  Ed has a four-day weekend coming up, and it’s my birthday weekend.  Guess where I’m hoping to be, at least one of those four days?  The ocean and the oak tree are calling my name…

Happy Monday!

Published in: on August 25, 2014 at 8:15 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/08/25/catching-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love that you and Ed have a special place to go to. Maybe for your birthday you should book into a motel and spend a couple of days under your tree.

  2. We love to head to the beach when it isn’t raining especially when it isn’t too hot. Have a good week.

  3. Joe’s birthday is coming up, too. His is the 5th. Kathy, I hope we can plan to meet one of these days, when we are finally up in Brunswick at our son’s new house. They enjoy St. Simon’s too, so we are looking forward to spending some time there, as well. Nice to catch up on your news. Sorry your time on the island was cut short by the nasty weather.

  4. Sorry about the weather. I do love walking through those craft fairs. I love how you guys have your favorite tree to sit under and hope you get to go for your birthday. Have a fabulous birthday and enjoy the long weekend.

  5. I’m so sorry that you had to cut short your time on the island … hoping that you get plenty of time there this weekend.

  6. It still sounded like a wonderful Sunday.

  7. Sorry you got rained out! But glad you still had a nice day. Hope you have a wonderful birthday!


Leave a Reply

