Back To School With The Hodgepodge…

Summer is officially over, and it’s back to school time everywhere.  I’ve been on a bit of a ‘blog break’, but now it’s time to get back to business!  What better way to do it than with another edition of ‘The Hodgepodge’?!  Thanks to Joyce for hosting.

Here are today’s questions, along with my answers:

1. What’s something you wanted to do this summer that you never got around to actually doing?

Right off the top of my head, I really can’t think of anything.  I guess that’s a good thing, huh?

2. Share a favorite memory of your own back -to-school days as a child.

I remember looking forward to getting a few new clothes, a new pair of shoes, and some new school supplies each new school year, but I also remember dreading the start of every new school year.  I didn’t adapt to change very easily (still don’t), so I worried about having a new teacher and having to make new friends.

3. What’s one chore or daily task you prefer doing ‘old-school’ ?

Cleaning the kitchen and bathroom floors. I like to sit down on the floor, with a bucket of cleaning solution and a cloth, so I can reach all the nooks and crannies!  I’m going to hate it when I can no longer do this, one day…

4. Share something you’ve learned in life through the ‘school of hard knocks’.

Life isn’t always fair.  Sometimes bad things happen to good people, and the good guy doesn’t always win.

5. As a child, did you mostly bring or buy your lunch for school? What was your favorite thing to find in your lunchbox?

I ate in the school cafeteria until I became a teenager, with the exception of the fourth grade when we lived across the street from the school.  I went home for lunch that year.  Once I became a teen, I’d either pack my own lunch or sometimes go without eating until after school.  My favorite thing in the lunch box was iced tea–because I hated drinking milk!  Actually, I don’t even remember having a lunch box.  I think I used a brown paper bag and a thermos most of the time.

6. Football season is upon us which has me wondering… how big of a sports fan are you (not just football) ? On a scale of 1-10, with 10 being ‘I scream at the players through my television screen’ and 1 being ‘is knitting a sport?’ where do you fall in fandom?

I don’t care much for sports (of any kind), so I’d have to say I’m about a 2.

7. Share a favorite quote you think might inspire students of all ages at the start of a new school year.

I found this one, and liked it:

581949_434372503257761_159137787447902_1526358_979756654_n1

 Random:

I celebrated a milestone birthday, this past weekend, when I turned 60.  My family went ‘all out’ to make sure I had a good and memorable birthday, and I did!  My birthday celebration lasted for two days!  It included a dozen roses, gifts, lots of good food, family, and even some time spent under my favorite oak tree at St. Simon’s Island, so you know I was happy!  Here are a couple of photos from the weekend:

100_4212

Three generations under the oak tree at SSI

100_4230

The pink sign behind me says, “Life’s a beach at 60”  Ha!  I guess I’m about to find out!

Published in: on September 3, 2014 at 8:03 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/09/03/back-to-school-with-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy happy birthday Kathy! I’m so glad you were surrounded by family and felt well-loved!

  2. Happy birthday! Sixty is so much fun! Have a good one.

  3. Happy 60th birthday! SWMBO and I also turned 60 years old this year. I just don’t see myself as being that old. I don’t know where the time went. Well anyway, all the best as you begin you 7th decade revolving around the sun.

  4. That’s a good point you brought out in #4. I always hate it when kids say, ‘…but that’s not fair!’ Whoever said life is fair? And Happy Belated Birthday to you! Welcome aboard the 60’s ship.

  5. We now have way to much tile in this home for me to actually do that but I try to wash the kitchen floor that way when I can and the bathrooms too. I like the advice you found for the students.

    Happy 60th Birthday and so glad you had fun celebrating it! Welcome to the 60’s, I’m going to celebrate my 63rd in a month!

  6. I have 63 coming up in December. Welcome to the 60s!! It’s not so bad.

  7. Glad you’re now in my decade. For me, the 60’s have been easy to slide into.


Leave a Reply

