Friday Fragments…

Half-Past Kissin' Time

 

My poor neglected blog is really bothering me.  Lately, it seems there hasn’t been much time for it.  I keep thinking I’ll get around to it, but then I never do.  Today, I’m going to list a few fragments from the week, and link up with Mrs. 4-4-4-4 at Half-Past Kissin’ Time.

I’ve been confused all week–running a day behind.  Those long weekends tend to do that to me, or perhaps it’s my age creeping up on me 🙂  Whatever the problem is, it sure doesn’t seem like a Friday.

Our fall peas are now ready to be picked, so guess where I’ve been spending some of my mornings?  On Wednesday, I spent all day picking and shelling.  Yesterday, I headed back to the garden to finish picking what I wasn’t able to pick on Wednesday.  Considering it’s been very hot and dry, the peas have produced amazingly well.  Bugs got to the earliest of the peas, but Ed seems to have those under control, at the moment.

I’m SO ready to decorate for fall!  Anyone else feeling that way?  I hope to get my back-to-school tree decorated (with apples and teacher’s ornaments) over the weekend, if all goes well.  I have some new fall porch decorations I’m dying to put out, too.

Yesterday was a crazy day.  Our oldest son called me at 7:30 a.m., to ask me if I could babysit their youngest son.  His mother-in-law had just been taken to the hospital by ambulance, and his wife, Christina, needed to join her mother at the hospital, as quickly as she could.  I had just ten minutes to get my outside chores finished, and be ready to babysit!  I was still watering lettuce when they arrived.

I kept Chase all day, and kept his brother, Caden, from lunch, when he got out of Kindergarten, until late afternoon.  Granddaughter, Madison, joined us for a couple of hours through her lunch break from home school, too.  It turned out to be a busy day, since I was also trying to finish shelling and blanching peas from the garden.  I had a good helper though.  Chase enjoyed helping shell peas, and I just had to take a picture!

100_4248

I’ve shelled and blanched 10 packages of peas in two days, with more to come!

Christina’s mama is very ill, and was actually moved to a larger hospital in the city. They’re still running tests to determine what the problem is.  She was in ICU as of last night.  I hope and pray she’ll be alright.

In other news, Ed is continuing to pick up fallen pears off the ground!  For some reason, they are rotting quickly, this year.  He’s probably picked around 2000 pears!  He stopped counting, a long time ago, at 1000.

We have several grape vines, and it’s been a great year for grapes, too!  There’s actually a pear tree, at Ed’s mom’s house, with grapes growing among the pears!  The grapevine made its way over to the tree, and attached itself.  I hope to get a picture of that soon, which I will share!

I’m afraid that’s all the time I have for now.  The chickens are waiting to be let out (so they can destroy the straw in my flowerbeds–again!), the cats are waiting to be fed, and the plants definitely need watering.

Until next time…Have a great weekend!

 

 

Published in: on September 5, 2014 at 8:04 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/09/05/friday-fragments-14/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Grandma to the rescue. Praying for Christina’s mother!

  2. I still can’t get over your garden and all that you put up! I am ready for Fall but not ready for decorations just yet. Glad you got to spend some time with your grandchildren and I will keep Christina’s other in my prayers. Have a nice weekend.

  3. What a cutie! Hope Christina’s mom will be ok. I had to give up on the veggies this year. Maybe when I’m done with all this teaching I’ll go back to it. For now, it’s flowers. 🙂

  4. Your garden never ceases to amaze me. And that pear tree – 2,000 pears on the ground alone! What fertile soil you must have! you should recruit Chase more often. He certainly looks like he takes shelling peas seriously! Have a fantastic relaxing weekend.

  5. It has been a crazy few weeks for me too. We took five grandkids to Florida and then with the short week, it is exhausting:)
    Chase is getting so big and just adorable!
    Your garden is amazing. I am going to have one next year. No more excuses.
    Have a great weekend.

  6. A back to school Tree! that sounds so fun. Autumn is my favorite season, I just wish it lasted a few months longer.
    Oh my, I do hope Christina’s mother is doing better. It does sound like you had a busy day with the grand kids, and that photo of Chase is just darling.
    Grapes, pears and peas, it sounds like you are all set with some tasty fare and lots of work. I can only imagine how difficult it is during growing season to get time for much else.

    Have a Fabulous Day!

  7. Fall is a busy harvest time; I’m glad you have plenty of deliciousness to collect. Glad you have helpers, but I hope she’s well soon.

    That’s an interesting use for teacher junk; I’ll keep it in mind.

    It’s nice to meet you 🙂 For future reference, save yourself some syllables; it’s pronounced Mrs. Fours 🙂 Thanks for linking up! Join in any time.


Leave a Reply

