We’re Expecting!

I’ll bet my title got your attention, didn’t it?!  Hold your horses, it’s not what you’re thinking!  Ed and I are in our sixties, so our baby days have long been over.  None of our children are planning to have any more children, so we’re finished having grandchildren, too.

Instead, after months of indecision, thought, and prayer, we’re expecting the arrival of……

another batch of new baby chicks!  That’s right, I finally decided to take on the chicken challenge again.

100_4285

ready and waiting…

If I told you all of the events that have transpired, preceding this decision, you’d probably think I’m nuts, so I’ll keep them to myself.  I will say that it’s entailed lots of thought, prayer, and indecision–and one previously cancelled order!

After five long months, suddenly, everything came together yesterday, almost in the blink of an eye.  The three breeds of chicks I wanted were suddenly available–at the same time–and at the last-minute! (Monday is hatching day)  As of yesterday afternoon, eight precious, newly hatched, baby chicks are on a postal truck bound from Ohio to Georgia!  That’s a long ride!

I’m excited, but I’m scared to death!  I had serious misgivings about ordering chicks through the mail.  I worry that some babies won’t make the journey alive, but I’m told the survival rate is around 99%.  The chicks retain enough nutrients from their yolk sac to sustain them for up to 72 hours (to give all eggs in a nest time to hatch)

I also worry that we may get an unwanted rooster, since sexing of baby chicks is only 90% accurate, and we only want hens. I will also be dealing with a flock of mixed breeds, and that’s an unknown.  I don’t know what lies ahead, but I’m ready to deal with it, and do the best I can!

I decided to try raising baby chicks in the fall, as opposed to spring.  By doing this, the chicks will spend all winter growing, and will be ready to begin laying eggs before spring.  I hope it works out!  Where we live, baby chicks are only available[in farm stores] in spring, that’s what prompted me to use mail order.

As for my three remaining ‘girls’, I can’t help but wonder what they will think of the new family additions.  Hopefully, it won’t bother them much, since they now free range, and the new chicks will be kept penned up.  It is a bit scary adding to the flock, though.  Sort of like introducing a new baby brother or sister to the family–except there will be eight of them (hopefully).

Stay tuned for further developments!  The babies are scheduled to arrive any time between today and Thursday. Let the good (or bad) times roll…  I’m as ready as I’ll ever be!

Published in: on September 9, 2014 at 7:59 am  Comments (7)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/09/09/were-expecting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hope all goes well with your new chicks!

  2. Congratulations?

  3. Good luck with your new family members! 😉

  4. 🙂 Have fun! I know you’ll love them as much as you do the others!

  5. I can’t wait to hear all about the new babies!! I’m excited for you!

  6. Congratulations. I know what you mean about it being scary adding to the flock. i went through that anxiety with adding first Marcos and then Marble to Marcel & Marceau’s humble little abode, and as you know it couldn’t have worked out better. I’m sure the same will be true for you and “the girls”. looking forward to lots of heartwarming posts!

  7. How exciting…..I can’t wait to see them! I am praying that it all comes together perfectly for you.


Leave a Reply

