The Wednesday Hodgepodge…

We’re rolling merrily along through the month of September, and it’s already time for another edition of the Wednesday Hodgepodge!  As always, many thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for hosting and providing an endless supply of questions.  Here are her questions, along with my answers:

1. On Thursday we pause to remember a dark day in history-9/11. Will you mark it in some special way?

No, I won’t be doing anything special, but I always stop and remember where I was and what I was doing when I first heard the news on that day. (working in a first grade classroom)

2. Do you ever/still…listen to an actual radio? Watch a videotape (VCR)? Look up a number in a phonebook? Refer to a paper map while traveling? Set an alarm on an alarm clock as opposed to your phone?

Yes, we still do all of the above at our house.  We still do some things the old-fashioned way, and we have the flip phones to prove it 🙂  We’re not completely out-dated though, since we sometimes  use our computer for listening to music, watching a show, looking up phone numbers, or checking with Google for directions!

3. Is it ever a good idea to discuss religion or politics with people you don’t know?

These days, I hesitate to discuss politics (or religion) with anyone, especially if I don’t know them.  Sometimes those kinds of discussions can get awkward, even with people you know! .

4. What’s a dish you haven’t eaten all summer, but come September find yourself craving? Have you made it yet this month?

I’m craving a steaming bowl of chili!  No, I haven’t made any, yet, because our temperatures are still in the 90’s, so it’s still much too hot to eat chili!

5. What’s something you know nothing about?

Oh, my!  How much time do you have?!  I don’t know anything about plumbing, electrical wiring, electronics, or working on cars–just to name a few things!  My hubby, on the other hand, has a little bit of knowledge about a lot of things, and I’m so glad!  It’s come in handy over the years.

6. September is Classical Music Month. Do you like classical music? If so, what’s your favorite piece?

Yes, occasionally, I do enjoy listening to classical music.  Pachelbel’s Canon in D is probably my favorite piece, since it reminds me of weddings.

7. What’s the oldest thing you own?

I’m not sure, but I think it might be a clock that used to belong to my mother.  I grew up with this clock, and spent many happy hours watching the little ballerina whirl and twirl while music played.  Oh, the tales this clock could tell, if only it could talk…

100_1692[1]

Random:  The circle of life …

One year ago, today, Ed’s mama passed away.  It’s hard to believe it’s been a year, because we still miss her so much.  Trouble, the cat, continues to live at her old home place, which remains unoccupied, and much the same as it was a year ago.  Ed continues to feed old Trouble every afternoon, and she’s always anxiously awaiting his arrival.  It’s almost as if things were frozen in time there at the house…but time is moving on.

100_2454

Ed’s mom ~ photo taken last Mother’s Day

Speaking of time moving on–and on a much happier note–ten months ago, our youngest little grandson, Evan, arrived!  He’s our miracle grand baby, the one we thought Brad and Jennifer might never have. Praise the Lord, for advances in modern medicine and for God’s blessings!

Little Evan began walking last week, and, to me, it’s just a little bittersweet.  Our youngest little one (and most-likely our last grandchild) is growing up entirely too quickly–but he sure is precious!  I know Ed’s mom would’ve loved him.

IMG_3749

Little Evan

Published in: on September 10, 2014 at 7:44 am  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/09/10/the-wednesday-hodgepodge-8/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Little Evan is just precious. I love the stage he’s in…where walking is entertainment : ) Enjoy your day!

  2. Grandson is precious.

  3. I know the feeling. Mu youngest grandchildren can no longer be called a baby as he toddles everywhere. He is starting to talk and phones Grammy when he needs attention.

  4. I was just sharing the fact that I make chili year round. I guess living in CA so many years I don’t think about food according to the season except for maybe my desire to eat more pumpkin! I had the same exact answer for classical music, my very favorite! Little Evan is adorable and I love when they start walking.

  5. You and President G.W. Bush have something in common. He was in a classroom too when he heard about the attack. Evan is too cute for words. I love watching SWMBO interact with our granddaughters. I love being a grandfather too!

  6. Really? You think that’s the last one?

  7. Evan is certainly adorable! That is a very unusual, but beautiful clock that you grew up with. A treasure, indeed. Blessings and prayers on this anniversary of your mother-in-laws passing.

  8. I have a flip phone too, mostly because I don’t want a phone that gets the internet, I spend way too much time on it as it is, I don’t need another way to waste time on it. I also still have a home phone (and answering machine), how’s that for old-school?

  9. Ah yes, the circle of life. The day that my mom passed was the day that DD told me that she was expecting T#3. That Evan is certainly a sweetie! And an early walker! Look out world, here he comes!


Leave a Reply

