Friday Fragments…

Half-Past Kissin' Time

It’s been a l-o-n-g time since I wrote five posts in one week, but I’m on a roll so I’ll just go with it. I enjoy linking up with Mrs. Fours for Friday Fragments whenever I can, so here goes…

Ed and I have not been feeling very good lately.  I’ve had back/abdominal pain since last Friday, and Ed’s thyroid apparently has gotten inflamed, causing him some issues.  On Tuesday, he made us both appointments to see the Nurse Practitioner.  Our appointments were for the same time, and we saw the Nurse Practitioner in the exam room–together.  After 42 years of marriage, this was a first!  Oh, and the Nurse Practitioner that we saw happened to graduate with our daughter!  Talk about feeling old!!!

Ed got a prescription to help heal his inflamed thyroid, while I had a urinalysis performed to rule out a possible kidney infection. My U/A didn’t show much, only a trace of blood. The NP didn’t really know what to make of this, and neither do I.  My back/abdomen is still bothering me, but I’m taking a ‘wait and see’ approach, for now.  The NP recommended that I drink lots of water, to flush the kidneys, and come back if the pain worsens.  Alrighty then!

Recently, I saw a post on Facebook that really hit home:

10347721_813302165355945_4927256776930764974_n

Of course, Ed and I are a little past middle age, but this applies to us, too!

The baby chicks made it through day two with only one incident.  One of the Delawares had a small case of ‘pasty butt’. (Yes, it’s an actual condition)  I had to gently moisten her fluffy butt with a wet paper towel, then remove the dried poop so it wouldn’t clog up her vent.  Afterward, she got a quick blow dry of her rear end, and was as good as new.  Sounds fun, doesn’t it?

Those little ‘Delawares’ are still being feisty, and I even caught one of them trying to fly out of the brooder!  I’ll be covering the top of their box with some netting soon!  I switched the warming light over their brooder box to a red light bulb, and they rested quietly last night, thank goodness.

Recently, when I visited with my granddaughter, Madison, she wanted me to watch a show with her called ” Barbie Life In the Dreamhouse”.  I’d never heard of this show before, but I agreed to watch an episode, because, after all, who doesn’t love Barbie?! Apparently, some genius has taken Barbie and all of her friends, given them personalities, and made an entertaining little show. If you watched Toy Story 3,  and the scenes between Barbie and Ken, you have an idea what the show is like. Funny stuff!

I had a strange experience with eBay, this week!  I’ve shopped on eBay for ten years, and bought hundreds of items, but never had this experience before.  I bought a music box from a seller, then later received an email and a refund because the guy said he dropped the music box and broke it while trying to wrap it for mailing!  Rats!  I really liked that music box, too…

One last thing–love bugs!  We’ve been plagued with massive swarms of them for over a week! Yesterday, the entire front door of our house was covered in them–even the door knob!  Nobody around here loves a love bug–not even the chickens 🙂

Have a great weekend!

 

 

 

 

 

Published in: on September 12, 2014 at 8:21 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/09/12/friday-fragments-15/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Glad the chickens are still doing well. Never heard of that Barbie show. Interesting video. So sorry you didn’t get your music box. 😦

  2. Hope you are feeling better soon. I have never gone to a Dr. or NP at the same time as hubby, that would feel a little weird.
    My daughter loves Barbie in the Dreamhouse!
    At least, the eBay guy was honest and didn’t pretend that it was broken in transit!
    Happy weekend,
    Traci

  3. Sorry you’re not feeling well. It’s nice the eBay seller was so honest. I hope you get some r & r this weekend and are back to 100% soon. Cranberry juice helps me when I feel a kidney issue coming on. I don’t think it can hurt. Take care!

  4. Ewww…. I had to look up what love bugs were! So many pictures of mating bugs, gross!

    I like Toy Story but wasn’t too fond of Ken and Barbie. All I can think of is that the show is full of air heads.

    Glad your babies are doing well.

  5. At least the seller got right back to you and was honest. I’ve shopped on eBay for years as well and just recently had my first bad experience. I’ll keep on though. I really like it. I’ve got to post some things for sell on there. I just haven’t had the energy lately. Hope all is well. Keep drinking that water!

  6. Never heard of lovebugs! We are down to one hen but she lays enough eggs for us.
    Mama Bear

  7. The love bugs haven’t hit here yet. Yes, we hate the nasty things. They make such a mess of the cars. Glad your new chicks are doing okay. Never hear of pasty butt before, but I’ve done similar grooming for the cats. Not the most fun, but must be done! I loved my Barbie doll – wish I still had her, because the original is worth a bunch of money now. Hope you both start feeling better soon! Take care!

  8. Love bugs? I’ll have to google it to see what they are since I’m sure you didn’t have Volkswagen beetles all over your door.

  9. September is so buggy. We are starting to get stink bugs and too many spiders. ickkk.
    I get a bit freaked out by the Barbie Show.
    Did you NP check for kidney stones? I hope whatever it is it resolves itself asap.
    So happy your chickens are doing well. Hope the lil one is still good.

  10. Hope you can find out what why your in pain. Glad the chicks are doing well. Like the middle age sign you posted. Cute Barbie video. So are the Love Bugs like a Beer Bug?

  11. I have always wanted to raise chicks. I do it vicariously through you and enjoy it very much.
    What the heck are love bugs? Is it a Southern thing?
    I just found out the pain in my knee is arthritis. Talk about feeling old. I hope you back gets better soon. Maybe it is just a muscle strain from gradening.


Leave a Reply

