Growing Old Gracefully With The Hodgepodge…

Today marks the 190th edition of The Wednesday Hodgepodge.  I can hardly believe it!  That’s a lot of questions, a lot of answers, and a lot of visiting back and forth, but it’s still fun!  I don’t know about you, but I think The Hodgepodge is aging with dignity!

Apparently, our hostess, Joyce, is celebrating a birthday, this week.  Happy Birthday, Joyce, and thanks so much for all you do!  May this next year of your life be the best one yet!

Here are today’s questions, along with my answers:

1. I’m celebrating a birthday this week so a question relating to aging feels appropriate. Douglas MacArthur is quoted as saying, ‘You are as young as your faith, as old as your doubt; as young as your self-confidence, as old as your fear; as young as your hope, as old as your despair.” Would you agree? If not why not?

I have no idea whether I agree with this [very long] quote or not!  It’s all just too much for my aging brain to comprehend, today.  I recently turned 60, you know 🙂

I will say this, as time goes by,  we’re all going to age, but some people are able to do it more gracefully than others.  Health and life style play a big part in the aging process, as well as genetics–but sometimes it’s just the ‘luck of the draw’.  (For instance, I’ve dealt with health issues for the past 20 years, while my brother, who’s 9 years my senior, has always been as healthy as a horse!)

The bottom line is, if we live long enough, every one of us will be ‘old’, in the end, some bodies just seem to handle the process better than others.  My goal is to grow old as gracefully as I can, take care of myself, and make the best of the body I’ve been given.

2. What remarkable feat, interesting piece of trivia, or historical event occurred on your birth day and month? Not necessarily in your birth year, just the same date/same month.

Thanks to Google, I found several interesting tidbits, that captured my attention!  They are:

8-30-54 (my actual DOB) Hurricane Carol kills 68 people on the US East Coast.

8-30-76 –  Tom Brokaw becomes news anchor of The Today Show

8-30-79 – President Jimmy Carter was attacked by a rabbit on a canoe trip in Plains, Ga. (Ha!  How’s that for an interesting piece of trivia?)

3. Describe a time or circumstance where you wanted to ‘have your cake and eat it too.

The circumstance that comes to mind took place last October 30, when I wanted (and needed) to be in two places at the same time.  Our youngest (and last) grandson, Evan, had literally just been born, when we got an emergency call from our daughter, concerning our oldest grandchild. It pains me, even now, to remember that day.  Tearfully, we left our newest grandson, without ever even getting to hold him, and returned home where we knew we were needed the most.

4. What’s something you do that makes you feel young? Something that makes you feel old?

The last thing I did that made me feel young was to go out to eat, at a local restaurant, on ‘Senior Citizen’s Night’.  Ed and I were some of the youngest patrons in the place.

The last thing I did that made me feel old was watch my grandchildren use modern technology with such ease.

5. When did you last do something that was ‘a piece of cake’?

The only thing that comes to mind was our family get-together, last Friday night.  Brett, our oldest son, picked up some pizza for supper,  and Brandy, our daughter, hosted everyone at her house.  All I had to do was walk across the yard and enjoy the meal along with everyone’s company.  No hosting, no cooking, no clean up–a ‘piece of cake’!

6.  Beef, wine, and cheese all improve with age. What’s something else you’d add to that list? (not necessarily food or beverage) 

I think babies improve with age!  They’re precious, but so tiny and helpless when they’re first born.  Then, as they grow, they begin to smile, coo, walk, talk and do all those other cute little things that melt our hearts, and make us love them so!

7. If I were to have a giveaway when we hit Volume 200, what should I give away? By my calculations we’ll hit Volume 200 on November 26th, the day before Thanksgiving, which means whoever wins would have whatever it is in time for Christmas.

Perhaps, a small gift box (think shoe box size) filled with a few favorite holiday things ( ideas: decorative note pad, small decorative towel,  scented soap, small candle, perhaps an ornament–a Hodgepodge, if you will!) Or perhaps, some kind of gift card would be better? (Amazon sells a Hodgepodge of things!)  Some Hodgepodge participants might even be willing to donate toward the cause. (I would)

Random:

Here’s my ‘year round’ tree, decorated in honor of back-to-school!

100_4277100_4278100_4275100_4276100_4281

100_4274

Published in: on September 17, 2014 at 7:13 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/09/17/growing-old-gracefully-with-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love your tree…such a cute idea! I;m one who adores babies and toddlers. Such sweet stages. Then, the teen years hit and that brings a whole new set of challenges. 🙂

  2. Attacked by a rabbit? I don’t remember hearing that, but for some reason it struck me as hilarious this morning. I love your ‘teacher’ tree! Have a great day!

  3. Love your school tree. So cute! I agree with your about babies!

  4. I laughed out loud at eating out on Senior night. My hubby and I do that and we are the youngest as well which makes me laugh.

  5. Love the school tree! But not the actual going back to school. LOL That’s the same thing I like about the senior center- I’m the youngest one there. It’s not so great when a 70 year old can out do me on one of those machines though.:)

  6. “Attacked” and “by a rabbit” were funny enough together, but on a canoe trip? I have to admit I picture a rabit rabbit leaping out of a creek into Jimmy CArter’s lap with sharp teeth and claws. I think my story beats his. Let’s ask!

    I can only imagine the pain of being in two critical places at once. An emergency and a birth of grandchildren at the same time? That really “takes the cake.”

  7. rabid rabbit in the rapids!

  8. What a cute tree!! And I’m not sure that hanging around old people would make me feel young- or old. Lol and really, it does depend, doesn’t it. Some kids make me feel young. Others make me feel old. Same thing with senior citizens. Some people always seem old. Others seem to defy age and have a real spark!

  9. Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. I love the Pizza time with the family. That truly is a piece of cake. Enjoy the rest of your week.


Leave a Reply

