Falling Into Another Hodgepodge…

I don’t know about everybody else, but I’m glad it’s finally fall!  I’m lovin’ the cooler mornings and evenings, even though mid-day still gets a little too warm for my taste.

Speaking of fall, how about we ‘fall’ into another edition of The Wednesday Hodgepodge, shall we?  As always, many thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for furnishing the questions and hosting this great meme!

1. It’s fall. Y’all. My favorite season of the year! What’s something you love to do this time of year that makes you feel it’s officially fall? And unrelated to that, do you ever say-‘y’all’?

I love driving around and seeing everybody’s outside fall decorations.  The bales of hay, pumpkins, scarecrows, and mums let me know me it’s officially fall.

outdoor-halloween-decoratin

photo via Google

As for saying ‘y’all’, I was born and raised in the south, and, yes, I say ‘y’all’ all the time!

2. When did you last have a falling out with someone? Has it been resolved?

The last time I remember having a serious falling out with someone was about two years ago.  It took us about three months, but we finally resolved things between us.  I try to avoid conflicts, if possible, because it’s easier to avoid conflict than it is to resolve it.

3. A song you love with the word ‘fall’ in it’s title?

If you’ve never watched it, this is a music great video of ‘The Boys of Fall’, too!

4. What’s something you’ve recently let ‘fall by the wayside?’

Unfortunately, the last of our garden has ‘fallen by the wayside’.  When my back began to hurt, and Ed’s thyroid began acting up, we had to put gardening on hold.  The weeds have been growing like wildfire!

5. When did you last attend an event, read a book, watch a movie, try a new recipe, or visit a shop-town-tourist attraction that fell short of your expectations? In what way?

At first, nothing came to mind.  Then I remembered back when I used to be a fan of Tom Cruise.  Two of the worst movies I ever paid to see were both Tom Cruise movies–Eyes Wide Shut and Vanilla Sky.  Both movies made absolutely no sense to me!  Shortly afterward, I stopped going to see Tom Cruise movies.

6. Describe a time you said or thought, ‘The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.”

This question made me think about our grandson, Evan. He can fall asleep in a New York minute, any time, any place–just like his mama can.( I have a couple of  pics of Jennifer sleeping, too, but I’ll keep those private 🙂 )

10628378_10202151822630189_6471400366751680461_n Evan

(photo borrowed from Jennifer’s Facebook page)

7. Was today better than yesterday? Why or why not?

No, today (Tuesday) was not better than yesterday.  The day began with our dog breaking through the baby gate, three times, to get on the front porch, where he’s not allowed. (What is it about our front porch?!)  Next, I discovered a second baby chick (Della’s sister, Dixie) with a case of ‘pasty butt’, so I had to deal with that!  Third, that skunk came back into our yard– again!  Give me a break!

Random:                                            

Lately, I seem to be having more than my fair share of ‘animal woes’.  As if dealing with the dog,  baby chicks, and a skunk isn’t enough, on Friday, I have to take our youngest cat to be spayed, too.  She’s an outside cat, so this means I have to find a place inside the house to keep her for a couple of nights.  Normally this wouldn’t be much of a problem, but I’ve got eight baby chicks in the house already, and cats and baby chicks don’t mix!  This should be interesting.

Also, as I mentioned, above,  the skunk came back.  Unfortunately, this made the third time within a week! We’d previously noticed that the skunk moved slowly and would fall down every few steps, so apparently something was wrong with it.  In the interest of safety, Ed sadly made the decision to shoot the skunk.  When he did, the skunk let off that disgusting skunk spray.  Now everything around our yard reeks of skunk spray!  I think I just might scream!

Published in: on September 24, 2014 at 7:08 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/09/24/falling-into-another-hodgepodge-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You do have a lot going on in the animal caretaking business. We have skunks in our area, never seen one in our yard, but you know when one’s been nearby : ) I love sleeping babies! Enjoy your day!

  2. Oh my, another case of “pasty butt”? Hopefully that skunk smell will dissipate soon … And at least you won’t have to deal with him any more. Fall has arrived here (temporarily but still!) in Hilton Head. The high today is only going to be a brisk 72. 😦 I’m not looking forward to having to bundle up in jeans and a sweatshirt to be able to get out on the beach. 😦

  3. Oh my what a smelly hodge podge. Sorry to hear Ed is having problems. Isn’t amazing how the little ones drop anywhere. Our grandson won’t nap unless he is in the stroller or his car seat.

  4. Your little grandson is PRECIOUS! Wish I had that same ability. Lots going on with all the animal woes, if you will. Bless your heart!

  5. Oh, wow! Great minds must think alike! I shared the same song video in my answer!

  6. What a cute picture of your grandson! 🙂

  7. I enjoy looking at all the fall decor! Cute pic!

  8. That is the CUTEST pic of Evan. LOL
    I am sorry about your skunk issue. I hate to even write about it, but so far, so good this year. Not sure why.

  9. What a cute picture! I’ve noticed a few fall decorations around but not much yet. I think we’re all too scared that the hot temps are going to come back. LOL Sounds like that skunk was definitely sick.

  10. Oh my, good luck with the cat…..& the chickees. I’m sure the day will supply you with material for a blog.


Leave a Reply

