Wednesday Hodgepodge # 193

It’s another October Wednesday, which means it’s time for another edition of The Hodgepodge.  You can join in the Hodgepodge fun by clicking the button at the top of this post! Here are today’s questions, provided by our hostess, Joyce, along with some answers, provided by me:

1. Do you manage your own money or do you have a financial planner who helps in some way? Do those kinds of conversations stress you out? A lot or a little?

Ed’s taken care of the majority of our financial planning, but he’s also had a little help with it over the years.  Ed has discussed a few financial things with me, but I don’t know or understand a lot about it.  Our conversations stress me out just a little,  but watching what’s (or should I say what’s not happening) with our money stresses me out a lot!  Remember the good old days when a person could live off of the interest their money earned? Ha!  That’s not happening anymore!

2. The second week of October is Pet Peeve Week. Off the top of your head, share TWO of your current pet peeves.

(1) People talking on cell phones in public places. Spare me from listening to your personal conversations, please! (2) Unruly children in public places.  Some of them act like they’ve escaped from the zoo!

3. What is one thing you’d like to learn right now, this very week if you could?

Well, Joyce, now that you’ve brought it up, I think I need to learn more about Financial Planning!  Actually, I’d rather learn more about photography though.

4. How concerned are you about the recent health related news concerning Ebola? How about Enterovirus D68?

Since my husband works in the healthcare field, as well as our daughter-in-law, I’m very concerned!  I don’t think the public is getting the whole story, either, which concerns me even more.

5. Garfield, Nemo, or Tigger-your favorite orange cartoon character?

I really like cats, so, of course, I’m going to choose Garfield.  Nemo is okay, but Tigger really gets on my nerves!

6. I’m going to see Gone Girl with my neighborhood book club this week. So often books made into film are disappointing. What’s a book turned film you thought was well done, in that the casting was ‘like you pictured’ when you read the book, and the film plot remained mostly true to the book plot?

I remember reading The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks, and thinking Miley Cyrus would be perfect in the leading role.  She was, but of course, the book was more detailed, and a lot better than the movie.

7. What is one story your family always tells about you?

There are probably several, but the first one that comes to mind is the story of how I used to ration the Heinz 57 sauce when the children were growing up!  We ate Heinz 57 sauce on pork chops, and the boys were notorious for pouring out more sauce than they needed. I didn’t want anyone wasting the stuff, ’cause it was expensive, and my budget was tight!  It still is.

Random:                                      

If you read here on a regular basis, you know the struggles I’ve had with the baby chick named ‘Della’, who turned four weeks old, Monday.  The first week she was fine, then she came down with a condition known as ‘pasty butt’.  Della lived for two weeks in isolation, with a glass separating her from the rest of her sisters.  Finally, last week, she was well enough to move back in with her sisters, and had been doing better.  She was so happy to be back with the flock, and they readily accepted her.  Although she was much smaller than the others, she was feisty!

Della was fine all day Monday, but that night, when I made the final check before going to bed, I found her huddled in the corner of the box, in a strange position.  I immediately knew something was wrong with her. Her head was tucked down between her legs, and she didn’t appear to be able to hold it up.  Once again, sadly, I isolated Della from her sisters.

All day, yesterday, Della remained in this odd position, with her head drawn between her legs. She was unable to eat or drink, although I did try to forcefully dip her beak into water several times during the day.  Della could only scurry backwards when moving around because she couldn’t lift her head.

After doing some internet research, I discovered that Della had come down with a condition known as ‘wry neck’, which can come on suddenly, and can be caused by several different factors. I have no idea which factor may have contributed to Della getting ‘wry neck’.

Della was special from day one.  She was the little white one who chirped at the top of her lungs when I first opened the box containing the eight chicks.  The ‘feisty one’, I called her.  I believe that’s what kept her going these past three weeks, when she had to endure so many painful bowel movements and butt cleanings.  Della was a fighter!

Sadly, Della’s condition of ‘wry neck’ continued to deteriorate throughout yesterday, and we finally had to make the difficult decision, that nobody ever wants to make…  Della is no longer with us today.  She’s finally found peace at last, but I sure am gonna’ miss her.

Published in: on October 8, 2014 at 8:05 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/10/08/wednesday-hodgepodge-193/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sorry for the troubles with your chicks. I never read or saw The Last Song. Might be a rental, probably for a night hubs is not home : )

  2. Sorry to hear about Della. It would be nice if raising chicks didn’t have a downside. I also think the public isn’t getting the whole story on ebola. We just shook our heads when the Admin and CDC tried to get us to swallow the ‘logic’ of ‘If we stop incoming flights from affected countries, it would make it WORSE.’ Really? Even on the face of it, that’s ridiculous

  3. I am sorry to hear that Della fought the good fight and didn`t make it.You worked so hard to keep her safe. I hope the other chicks are doing well. Have you finished the pears yet.

  4. Aww…how sad about Della. So very sorry to hear the news.

  5. Poor Della! I’m so sorry to hear that she’s gone. I love reading about your chickens.

  6. Ah heck. What a shame about your little feisty fighter. I had such high hopes when she started doing so much better! Those chicks have sure challenged you!

    I’m happy to have finally found someone else, doing Hodgepodge, who chose Garfield!! 🙂

  7. Condolences on Della. I don’t mind children acting like children in public. I do get annoyed with people constantly yakking on their cellphones in public.

  8. I’m so sorry about your Della. Sounds like you both fought very hard to keep going. I end up with kids who are too tired to be out and parents who don’t know to take the little one home and put themto bed.

  9. Those are two pet peeves I agree with!
    I am so sorry to hear about Della…((HUGS))

  10. I’m so sorry to hear about poor Della.

  11. How heartbreaking! but y ou made the right decision. It sounds like she was miserable. You did our best and more.


Leave a Reply

