A Few Friday Fragments…

Half-Past Kissin' Time

So, the week began with lows in the forties, but is ending with highs up to ninety!  What’s up with that?  Sadly, I have turned the air conditioning back on, and am wondering what happened to fall?!

This week, our daughter-in-law posted this picture of grandson, Evan, on Facebook, along with the caption: “Crazy hair, he don’t care!”

10603385_10202322532017817_97374567124789171_n Evan

I laughed out loud when I saw it 🙂  I’m so thankful for Facebook at times like these.  His shirt sorta’ says it all, too, doesn’t it?!

The house has been too quiet since ‘Della’, the chick, passed away.  I’d grown to listen for the little chirping noises she made each time she pooped.  I still miss that little feisty chick, but her sister ‘Dixie’ has taken her place with being feisty!  Yesterday, ‘Dixie’ actually flew out of the brooder box!  I have the top of the brooder box covered with netting, but ‘Dixie’ spotted a hole and went for it.  Luckily, I was standing right there, and caught her as she landed on the top edge of the box.  Bad girl!

My ‘older girls’, the big red hens, are currently molting.  There are large piles of red feathers all over our yard!  Since the hens are going through a molt, this means they’re not laying any eggs either.  It’s been six days since I’ve picked up an egg!  It pains me to think about buying a dozen eggs, but I’m going to have to do it soon.

It’s been a long work week for Ed.  They’ve been dealing with hospital inspectors all week.  I know he’s glad today is Friday!  Dealing with inspectors is no fun!  Fortunately, it only happens once a year.

10294340_10203338817927160_2117525693380201673_n Chase

Chase (photo borrowed from Facebook)

Our little grandson, Chase, spend most of the morning with me on Wednesday.  He’ll be three in December.  I love the age Chase is, because he says the funniest things–like when he interrupted his mom’s conversation to ask ” What does crap mean?” (His mother hadn’t said “crap”, but he’d apparently heard it somewhere.)

I’m dying to have a wiener roast!  I just love sitting around the fire pit roasting hot dogs and marshmallows.  The unfortunate thing is, the mosquitoes are still so bad, it’s hard to enjoy being outside.  Maybe the next cold snap will kill those little aggravating blood suckers!  In the meantime, I’m ready to have a wiener roast ASAP!

One of my readers asked if we are finished with pears yet.  The answer is “No.”  We’re nearing the end of them, but there are still pears hanging in both trees.  I wish we’d had time to count how many pears we’ve picked up, but I know it’s been in the thousands!  I made some pear turnovers, this week, using crescent rolls.  Yum!

‘Baby’, the cat, is completely over her spaying surgery, and is as good as new.  It’s been two weeks since her surgery. She’s running and climbing trees like nothing ever happened to her.  ‘Jo Jo’, the tom cat, is still her ‘best bud’, and the two still spend a lot of time together.  Thank goodness no kittens will come out of this friendship!

We have no big plans for the weekend.  Hopefully, Ed will finish up the chicken coop and our new ‘ girls’ will finally be able to spend some time outside!  I’m so ready to see them go outside, and they’re ready, too…  They’ve been about to scratch a hole in the bottom of the brooder box all week, trying to take dust baths!

That’s it for this version of ‘Friday Fragments’.  I’m linking my fragments up with Mrs. Fours over at Half-Past Kissin’ Time.  Have a great weekend y’all!

Published in: on October 10, 2014 at 7:44 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/10/10/a-few-friday-fragments-8/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A wiener roast is the only way I’ll eat hog dogs … love the slightly charred dogs! Hope you get to have one soon.

  2. Your grandsons are so cute! A wiener roast does sound like fun. It’s been years since I’ve been to one.

  3. Both of your grandsons are adorable! I love your chicken stories. Those will be some happy chickens when they get their new digs!

  4. 3 year old grandchildren are wonderful. They say the cutest things. Love the pictures. Look forward to reading you Monday post.

  5. Aww…the kids are so cute and I love the hair-do! Thanks for sharing about your chickens. I so miss having any. My kids were not big fans at all and the hubs was okay, but not all that into it. I always end up making one a favorite pet. The first batch it was a huge Rhodie rooster. He was such a handsome fella…could have won prizes if I’d been into that, but he was enormous and the kids were terrified of him. The second batch was supposed to be all hens, but I had one little Araucana rooster who ended up with the name Esmerelda (they were supposed to be hens) who would fly up to greet me and I carried him around or he’d ride on my shoulder…even after he’d grown up. I love chickens!

  6. I enjoyed catching up with your news! Both boys are adorable, for sure! Love the crazy hair…so cute! Have a good weekend! Hope the weather cooperates and the chicken coop project can get back on track.

  7. How stinkin’ cute are those grandsons of yours?! We haven’t had anything lower than 58 and that was at night. We’re in the 80s and I can’t stand it. I should not be sweating in October. Sheesh.

  8. My, you certainy covered a lot of ground in this post. Thanks for catching us up on everything. I know what you mean about buying eggs. This was my first year growing veggies and I’m going to hate buying tomatoes. luckily I have about 7 sitting in the kitchen and two “warming up” on one of the plants. There are quite a few green ones – but NY being NY, and this being October, frost could be just around the corner.

  9. Oh, those darling FB pix make me nostalgic for when my grandsons were so little. I, too, appreciate FB updates on the lives of kids and grands, nieces and nephews!

    Have a great Sunday and week. We are supposed to have cool temps Wednesday. Hope you do, too!

  10. Thanks, Kathy, for linking up! I’m pretty sure you don’t live anywhere near Wisconsin, given your weather! Glad your kitty has healed well, and your grandchildren are just precious. Thank heaven for Facebook 🙂 Have a great weekend!


Leave a Reply

