Another Wednesday Hodgepodge…

It’s time for The Wednesday Hodgepodge!  Come on in, take your shoes off, and sit a spell…

1. Elizabeth Lawrence is quoted as saying, ‘Even if something is left undone, everyone must take time to sit still and watch the leaves turn.” So have you done just that? And what did you leave undone in order to do so?

There’s not much turning of the leaves going on where we live.  We’re literally surrounded by pine trees, with a couple of oaks, maples, and sycamore trees scattered about. Most of our trees don’t turn pretty fall colors.  However, I did sit still, this past weekend, long enough to notice the brilliant blue color of the sky, and to enjoy watching a fire burn in the new fire pit.  As for what I left undone?  A lot of things, most of it housework!

2. Since we’re talking turning…what’s one thing you feel you’re doing ‘every time you turn around’?

Vacuuming the kitchen floor!  Honestly, I don’t know where all of the trash on that floor comes from, with just two of us living in the house!  It drives me crazy!

3. How hard is it for you to ‘turn the other cheek?’

Sometimes it’s still hard to ‘turn the other cheek’, but not as difficult as it used to be, when I was younger.  I think age (and experience) has made me more tolerant and forgiving.

4. When did you last turn a drawer, your car, a room, or your entire house upside down looking for something? Did you find it?

The last time I turned the house upside down looking for something, was at the beginning of this year, when I lost my eye glasses.  I never did find them, believe it or not!  I guess when I lose something, I lose it for good.

5. ‘One good turn deserves another’…were you most recently on the giving or receiving end of that sentiment?

I was on the receiving end, when my daughter called and invited me to ride into town with her, on Monday.  The week before that, she invited me over for lunch.  Sometimes, she’s thoughtful like that.

6. Red, yellow, and orange are the colors of fall. Also the colors of fruit. If you were permitted only one color of fruit in your diet, which would you choose? This question isn’t as easy as it sounds, at least not for me.

You’re right, Joyce, it’s not easy to choose, but I’m going to say ‘orange’ because there are several different kinds of citrus fruits that I like.  I think ‘red’ would be my second choice!

7. The Hunt for Red October, October Sky, Halloween…which ‘October’ film is your favorite?

I don’t have a favorite ‘October’ film, at least not one I can think of. However, there is a ‘made for television’ movie that I like, called ‘November Christmas’. (A portion of the movie concerns Halloween, that’s what made me think of it!) This movie is usually broadcast on television, each year, and if you haven’t seen it, you’ve missed a good one. (November Christmas will be airing Nov. 2 on Hallmark Movies & Mysteries Channel)

Random:

Several months ago, I posted the story about the ‘Claxton Quarter Horse Twins’.  The mare died from the trauma of the twins’ birth, and one of the foals died, a day or so later. However, the other twin survived, after first being bottle fed, then finally being taken in and nursed by another mare named ‘Ruby’, along with her own foal, I might add!  

Here are a couple of comparison photos of the surviving filly, named ‘Vic’, which is short for ‘Victorious’: (photos via Claxton Quarter Horse Facebook page)

10473750_655481971216949_2470711637077461393_n

Then (February 28th) and now (October 19th)

wearing the same blanket!

10734075_655482014550278_1712873837682716907_n

Thanks to a lot of TLC, ‘Vic’ is growing into a beautiful young filly!  I love a happy ending, don’t you?

10710776_642763712488775_6565249175447832359_n

**As always, many thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for furnishing these great questions and for hosting the Hodgepodge on her blog. You, too, can join in by clicking her button at the top of this post!

Published in: on October 22, 2014 at 7:06 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/10/22/another-wednesday-hodgepodge-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m not familiar with that movie…I’ll definitely have to watch for it! The story you shared about the horse is so touching…what a beauty!

  2. Awww, what a nice happy ending. I’ll share that story with my oldest granddaughter … she just loves horses.

  3. Sweet Vic!! Love good horse stories. I hate having to drag out the vacuum cleaner every time the floor needs cleaning. I think I need to get one of those smaller, quicker ones instead of the big heavy duty machine with the HEPA filter. 🙂 BTW, I love pine trees. So gorgeous dusted with snow. (Did I say that???!!!)

  4. Glad the horse is prospering. Your daughter deserve a pat on the back!

  5. Such a great story about the beautiful Vic (great name)! So sad about the two losses, but how wonderful that Vic survived and is thriving! Another fun Hodgepodge! You are the first I’ve read who didn’t choose red as the fruit color!

  6. I’m going to have to look for that movie. I’ve never heard of it. I’m glad Vic is doing well : ) Happy Wednesday!

  7. Our leaves don’t change either but I assumed it also meant taking time for yourself. I couldn’t think of enough orange fruits to pick it! Aww, Vic is so cute. Enjoy the rest of your week.

    Your comment about not watching the news……I never watch the news. My dad calls me when something big happens! He calls me about California fires and I tell him I didn’t even know. Actually I feel I should watch sometimes but it just brings me down.

  8. Great story about Vic. Daughters are precious.

  9. Enjoyed your fall report via Wednesday Hodgepodge. Like yoy, we don’t have the brilliant fall color. Maybe some color will still be around in the Smokies. We will be there a few days this week.

  10. The “Vic” story is heartwarming. It is always a blessing when a pet overcomes a lot to just be alive. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

