Friday Fragments #324…

Half-Past Kissin' Time

Wow, what a busy week this has been!  During a normal week, I only go to town once.  This week,  I’ve been to town every day!  It’s all good though.  Next week I can stay home the entire week, if I want to 🙂  Yay for retirement, and being able to stay home!

On Tuesday, I had my hair cut and colored–again.  I’m seriously thinking about phasing out having my hair colored, in the near future.  I’ve always said I didn’t want to become the little old lady with black hair, and I feel like that’s where I’m headed!  I think it’s about time for a change.  It’s beginning to feel awkward with my hair being dark, while Ed’s is so white.  (Maybe I can meet him halfway? Ha!)

On Wednesday, I went to the doctor for my six month’s checkup.  I got a good report.  According to all of my lab results, I’m doing fine.  I guess that means my total lack of energy and inability to sleep is due to ‘old age’. It figures!  I’ll just have to deal with it. (my words, not the doctor’s)

Thursday was our granddaughter, Madison’s, eighth birthday.  It’s hard to believe it’s been eight years since our first grandchild arrived.  I remember that day like it was just yesterday.  (It was one of the most stressful days of our lives–and it ended with an unscheduled c-section!)

Since it was her birthday, I offered to take Madison and her mama out for lunch–to any place Madison wanted to go.  She chose The Huddle House, so that’s where we went!  Later in the day, after Ed came home from work, Madison’s other grandma came over, and we shared cake and ice cream with Madison and her mama. (Madison’s daddy had to work late.)

100_4497

Madison posing with the doll cake her mama made for her

I’ve really been enjoying these cooler days and nights!  It finally feels like fall 🙂  I think the highs may reach near 80 over the weekend, but it’s okay since two different grandchildren have outside birthday parties planned!  We’ll be celebrating birthdays all weekend long.  Evan’s first birthday party will be on Saturday, and Madison’s party will be on Sunday!

Last night, some of my young chickens finally tried roosting on the perches in their chicken coop! Not all of them,  but some did.  Yay!  We’re finally making progress!  The chicks who refused to get on the perches, were huddled underneath the ones who were on the roosts.  Those chicks may have gotten pooped on during the night!  That should teach ’em!

Since I brought up the chickens, today, I’m going to leave you with a couple of pictures.  I know I’ve told you that my chicks are friendly and lovable, and spoiled. Well, I finally have some pictures to prove it!

100_4177

One of the older girls, named ‘Bossy,’sharing a moment with me on the back steps

100_4503

Speckles, Freckles, Dottie, Ebony, and Dixie vying for my attention 

I can’t believe how big the new young chicks have gotten already!  They are growing up quickly!  Six weeks ago, they would fit in the palm of my hand.  I tell you, these girls are convinced they’re my lap chickens.  After all, I ordered them from a site called My Pet Chicken.com.  Friendly chicks–gotta’ love ’em!

Just so you know, right after the picture above was taken, someone pooped in my lap! Ha!  It’s one of the hazards of having ‘lap chickens’.  The other hazard is getting scratched, which is why I’m wearing Ed’s long-sleeved shirt over my dress!

I’m linking up my Friday Fragments over at Half-Past Kissin’ Tiime.  Have a great weekend, y’all!  I’ll see ya’ on Monday.

Published in: on October 24, 2014 at 7:10 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/10/24/friday-fragments-324/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It took me 6 months to transition to my own hair color. With all the travel we do it was the best decision I made. Happy birthday everybody!

  2. I went to my natural color just before I retired, just to see how gray I really was and was very surprised that I looked pretty good.

  3. I didn’t know there was such a thing as a lap chicken. Do you collect and use their eggs?

  4. You had to go and out do me with five chickens on your lap, didn’t you. Well, at least I’ve never been pooped on!

  5. LOVE the pictures of you and the chickens! So cute! And Madison is such a cutie! My grandmother always colored her hair way up into her 80s. She was not a fan of gray hair on her own head. I’m that way too. I use a non-chemical color on mine and, until the day comes that I tire of doing it myself, I shall continue. Gray looks fantastic on everyone but me. LOL

  6. I miss having chickens, though I never held a bunch of them on my lap. 🙂

  7. I love the pictures of you holding your girls! I don’t color my hair … I had my stylist color it once, and I couldn’t tell the difference (maybe someone else might have been able to, I don’t know). But because I couldn’t tell the difference, I couldn’t see the point in spending the $$.


Leave a Reply

