200 Hodgepodges And Counting…

They say time flies when you’re having fun, so I must really be enjoying my life!  It’s hard to believe I’ve been blogging for almost six years, and that I’ve joined in ‘The Hodgepodge’ for two hundred times!  I haven’t missed an edition yet.

I was one of the original participants.  I actually ‘met’ our hostess, Joyce, while doing a similar meme on another blog.  When that meme ended, I actually emailed Joyce and encouraged her to take up the meme and continue it.  Joyce did even better, she came up with a similar, but improved meme, and thus ‘The Hodgepodge’ was born!  The rest is history.

Joyce does such an amazing job each week, creating informative, and thought-provoking questions!  She’s also a gracious hostess, visiting the participants, and leaving a thoughtful comment for each one.  I say it every week, and I’ll say it again, “Thanks for all you do, Joyce.”  The Hodgepodge is so great because of your efforts.

I’m thankful for the old (and new) friends I’ve ‘met’ while participating in ‘The Hodgepodge’.  I look forward to reading your answers each week, and I follow many of you on a regular basis.  Many of you do the same for me.  In the words of an old song, Thank you for being a friend.  I look forward to our continued friendship in the days ahead!

All that being said, let’s get to today’s questions, along with my answers:

1. What is something in your life right now that feels a little ‘hodgepodge’?

My entire house feels, and looks, a LOT like a ‘hodgepodge!  At the moment, I have containers of Christmas decorations sitting in almost every room in the house.  My goal is to have the house decorated, and the boxes put away, by the end of the week.  We’ll see how it goes!

2. What does ‘peace on earth, goodwill to men’ mean to you?

All people, everywhere, should just get along and be nice to each other.  Just think of the problems that would solve!

3. Which edible treat you are most looking forward to sampling this December?

I always look forward to making Christmas candy for the family.  Fudge!  Buckeyes!  Peanut Brittle!  Divinity!   Be still my beating heart–candy is not on my list of acceptable foods to eat, but I’ll have to try a sample or two–and pay the price for it, later 😦

4. It’s that most wonderful time of the year…do you agree, and if so why is it so wonderful? If not, what would you say is the most wonderful time of the year?

Yes, I agree it’s the most wonderful time of the year, because it’s the time of the year when we celebrate the birth of our Savior, Jesus Christ. Unfortunately, most people seem to forget that Jesus is the reason for the season, myself included, at times.

I love all of the Christmas decorations, Christmas lights, Christmas music, Christmas movies, Christmas goodies, Christmas presents…  Well, I think you get the idea.

5. What was the last word you looked up in a dictionary (actual or online) and why?

I can’t recall a particular word, but I’m sure it had something to do with ‘The Hodgepodge’.  This meme often requires doing a little research!  (Keep us on our toes, Joyce!)  

6. Besides a Christmas tree, what is your favorite thing to decorate this time of year?

100_2071

Christmas 2012 – shelves filled with curios (and the village) in the background, along with our youngest son, Brad

I always look forward to unpacking all of my Christmas curios and decorating the shelves in our living room.  I’m also excited about being able to display my gingerbread village on top of Ed’s mom’s buffet, which is located in our pool room.  It’s the first time I’ve had a place to properly display the village, since we moved into this house.

7. Share one thing you’ve learned (about yourself, people, or anything at all) in the Wednesday Hodgepodge, or through blogging in general.

First of all, let me say that I’ve learned A LOT since I first started blogging!  It’s amazing how much you learn by reading the blogs of other people. We’re all different in many ways, but, yet, we’re the same.

The first thing that comes to mind, however, is learning how the weather is quite different in different parts of the USA. For instance, I’ve been wearing shorts and running the A/C while decorating for Christmas, while our hostess, Joyce (who lives just a few states up) had eight inches of snow on Thanksgiving!

The other striking thing I’ve learned is how certain foods are native to certain parts of the country.  Boiled peanuts anyone?  How about some grits?

Random:

Thanksgiving 2014 has come and gone in a blur. It was a good day, with all of the family present, except our daughter-in-law, Jennifer, who had to work.

I haven’t had time to write a proper post about the day, but here are a few things about Thanksgiving 2014 that stick out in my mind:

  • Grandson, Evan, came in wearing a shirt that read “I’m stuffed”.  How appropriate for Thanksgiving!
  • I didn’t take a single picture!  I have nothing left from the day except memories.  Our daughter-in-law, Christina, did take a couple of pics of the grandchildren, thank goodness!
  • I cooked part of the Thanksgiving Day meal, on Wednesday, which made preparation a lot easier on Thursday.  I will continue that tradition from now on!
  • One of the sweetest moments of Thanksgiving was over-hearing our two oldest grandsons, who are almost 6 and 3, sing the hymn When the Roll Is Called Up Yonder.  Unfortunately, they stopped when they realized I was listening.
  • I chuckled when grandson, Caden, got up from the table to replace his “girly fork”(his words, not mine) with a different kind of fork!  (We were using Ed’s mom’s fancy silverware.)
  • We began a new family tradition of having a brief devotion, then going around the table and letting each person tell what they’re most thankful for, before we eat.  This was our second year of this tradition, and it always produces some tears, as well as a little laughter!  Such precious moments.  I wish we’d started this tradition much sooner!
Published in: on December 3, 2014 at 8:31 am  Comments (12)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/12/03/200-hodgepodges-and-counting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your Thanksgiving sounds like a wonderful day! I love that hymn : ) I’m with you on the decorating. I have a friend coming for lunch tomorrow so my goal is to get the boxes put away today. We’ll see how that goes. I thought you were one of the originals. There’s a few here still from Linda’s old Random Dozen. Thank goodness I reduced it to 7. I wouldn’t have lasted if I had to come up with a dozen every week! So nice to know you through our blogs.

  2. What a sweet tradition. we’ve done it before, but need to resume it as something we do EVERY Thanksgiving!

    I didn’t realize that you were the impetus behind Joyce taking over when Linda chose to discontinue her meme. I, too, was one of the originals, but alas, I’ve not been able to participate in every single Hodgepodge, like you. You rock!

  3. Congrats on never missing a Hodgepodge. I never knew how the Hodgepodge started so thanks for sharing that. How fun!
    Your Thanksgiving sounds lovely. I tried to do as much of the preparations the few days before and I agree that is the way to go.
    I love your decorated shelves.

  4. Kathy, you have a lovely blog, both the appearance and writing. Oh, how I agree with “if I’d only known then what I know now.” Like you, I am trying to get the Christmas decorations done here before week’s end!

  5. I love what you shared for your random thought…what a memorable Thanksgiving you had! Love your pretty shelves with all your collectibles! Really makes a statement!

  6. Your Thanksgiving sounds wonderful. Even though you didn’t take pictures the memories will last a lifetime. My mouth is watering from your answer to #3. Thanks for sharing.

    I see you’re back blogging as your normal self. Glad you worked out the kinks!

  7. A great Hodgepodge (I did not know you got Joyce started on this!!!) and I enjoyed reading about your Thanksgiving, and the new tradition of devotions and thankfulness around the table. Wonderful! I usually make Buckeyes, too, but I put them in a 9×13 and cut them into squares, instead of rolling and dipping…more like fudge that way, but the same great taste!!

  8. Great post! Your thanksgiving sounds wonderful. I love all of my curios at Christmas time as well.

  9. Oh my, it sounds like we are living in very similar states of chaos while we decorate for Christmas. I keep telling myself to relax…just a couple more days.

  10. I like your new tradition. And also that you have a place to display your sweet village. It is sad that we often are busy and don’t have time to get photos of family time together. It happens here all the time. Mostly because I’m the one who takes pictures and the one trying to get things together. I suspect that’s common. 🙂

  11. Yes those Christmas boxes definitely make for some hodgepodge in the house! I haven’t even started. Love the Christmas candies and treats too. Your right, Joyce keeps us on our toes and I often have to google something. Exactly, we are all different yet all the same. I love all my blog friends. Sounds like a perfect Thanksgiving.

  12. LOVE your Thanksgiving highlights. How cute! I’ve had to look up words from the Hodgepodge too. Joyce is going to keep all of our minds young, isn’t she? 🙂


Leave a Reply

