Out With The Old, In With The New Hodgepodge…

 It’s hard to believe another year has come and gone already!  There’s a lot of truth in the words of an old Kenny Chesney song, “Life goes faster than you think.  Don’t blink!”  Ain’t it the truth?!
It’s been another entertaining, yet informative, year of The Wednesday Hodgepodge.  Many thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for continuing to furnish such great questions!  Many thanks, as well, to those of you who’ve taken the time to visit my blog, and leave a comment here and there.  I appreciate you very much, and wish you and yours a very Happy New Year!
Since time is ticking away, faster than I think, I suppose I’d better get busy with this week’s questions:
1. Share a favorite moment from your Christmas holiday celebration.

I think the moment I enjoyed the most was visiting the homes of our grandchildren, early on Christmas morning, to see what they got for Christmas.  There’s just something magical about children and their new toys, on Christmas morning.  The excitement is unsurpassed!  I’m blessed to live close to most of our “grands”, so I was able to walk across the yard to visit one, then travel just down the road (walking distance) to see the others.

100_4767

Madison with her gifts

100_4770

Caden and Chase with their new bikes, opening the first gift

 2. What would you say has been the biggest news event during your life so far?

If you’re talking about the biggest national news event, without a doubt, it was the terrorist attacks of September 11th.  The assassination of President Kennedy was the other thing that popped into my mind.

3. The Pantone Color of the Year for 2015 is Marsala. What say you-like or no like? Would I find this color anywhere in your home or wardrobe? Will you add something in this shade to either?

I really like this color, and, yes, you will find some of this color throughout my home–in the drapes, throw pillows and the bedspread.  I have a pair of slacks that are almost this color, and I’d love to have more items.

4. Would you rather meet your ancestors or your great-grandchildren? Explain why.
I’d prefer to meet my great-grandchildren, so I could see what traits and characteristics have been passed down from Ed and me, through our children, and their children, as well.  It amazes me how that works!
5. Share one life lesson learned in 2014?
I finally learned to live and appreciate one day at a time, without looking too far ahead into the future!    Why? Because Ed’s job situation [at a local hospital] has been perilous, for quite some time, due to a lack of funds.  This year, all employees were forced to take a reduction in salary, and weren’t allowed to accrue any more vacation days. We’ve learned to appreciate each and every paycheck, even though it was somewhat smaller, and we learned to treat each paycheck as if it could be our last one.  We took full advantage of those ‘mandatory’ vacation days, that Ed was forced to take each month, and tried to make them ‘fun days’.

6. What was your best or favorite purchase made in 2014?

I’ll have to say that having a cover built over our front porch was money well spent in 2014.  It sure is nice to have that cover over our porch, especially when it’s raining outside!

7. What is one thing you’re looking forward to in the new year?
I’m looking forward to seeing the unstable situation at the hospital [where Ed works] resolved.  A privately owned company will be taking over management of the hospital on January 5th, with plans to try to make the hospital financially stable.  We already know that some employees are going to lose their jobs, due to this transition, we just don’t know who or when it will be.  We’re hoping for the best, and preparing for the worst. Either way, it will be a relief to finally get things resolved, and, hopefully, our hospital can remain open instead of having to close its doors.
Random:
I’m so far behind with blogging, it isn’t even funny!  So much to do, so little time, but I’ll get there, eventually.
Our Christmas was wonderful, and I fully intend to write a blog post about it, soon.  In the meantime, I’ll share our ‘Crazy Hat Christmas Photo’ of 2014!
100_4791
It was quite a hoot trying to get a family picture, of the twelve of us!  We have some hilarious out-takes:)  
P.S.  This photo is unedited, otherwise I would have cropped out all of the toys on the living room floor!  
Published in: on December 31, 2014 at 9:02 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/12/31/out-with-the-old-in-with-the-new-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m also way behind on the blog, but especially in visiting. Something had to give though. I will get back on track in mid January. Or at least try! Happy new year!

  2. I can’t believe we have so much in common. Our answers are very similar. Wishing you a healthy, happy new year!

  3. LOL on the comment about the unedited photo! 😉 Happy New Year to you and yours!

  4. Love that crazy hat picture.

    Happy New Year! May it be filled with many blessings for you and yours!

  5. I love the crazy hats, too! What a fun thing to do! Great Hodgepodge! I’ve missed you here and look forward to catching up, when you have time! Happy new year (prayers lifted for the hospital and your Ed’s job)!!!

  6. Looks like you had a fun Christmas with your family. I love the hat photo! It’s so nice to have family living close. Happy New Year to you!

  7. Thank you for your sweet comment on my blog. That is very special to be able to see your grandchildren on Christmas morning. I was just having fun with your snow….the direction changes with the movement of the pointer! Praying things will work out in Ed’s favor at the hospital. That must be stressful and I’m glad you have learned to live day to day so to speak. Love the crazy hats! Happy New Year…..

  8. I have trouble blogging regularly too, and you know what, that’s okay. Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving some encouraging comments. Happy New Year to you and Ed and your entire family.


Leave a Reply

