No, Not Today…

By now, you probably know me.  I’m that fairly predictable creature of habit, who likes little change in her life.  It’s Wednesday, and you’re probably expecting to see my usual Wednesday edition of ‘The Hodgepodge’, but surprise,  there’s no Hodgepodge today!  Our Hodgepodge hostess, Joyce, is still recuperating from her daughter’s wedding, last weekend.

Who out there remembers their child’s wedding?  I know I sure do, from the first wedding until the last one, several years later!  I still remember all of the planning before the wedding, the preparations on the day of wedding, and the cleaning up after the wedding!  I also remember recuperating the week after the wedding, so I hope Joyce gets some much-needed rest!

As for me, I’m still plodding along, individually wrapping Christmas ornaments, and putting away boxes of decorations.  Santa is slowly being replaced, on the living room shelves, by my collection of Snowmen, which I display during the month of January.  Those cheerful-looking snowmen will help me fight off my usual case of ‘winter doldrums’ during this cold, boring month of January.

My coca-cola tree, in the pool/play room is still decorated for Christmas.  It was the last tree up, so it will be the last to come down.  I really love all of the coca-cola ornaments I’ve collected, and hate to pack them away.  I’m leaving my gingerbread village on display for a while longer, too…  Have I mentioned how much I love Christmas?!

In other news, this week, the new company officially took over running the hospital where Ed is employed. Three men, who comprise this company, will be working within the hospital for two weeks, deciding what cuts and changes they want to make, then they will proceed to make those cuts and changes.  If you are a praying person, will you please send up a prayer, or two, for all of the hospital employees, whose livelihood depends on decisions of these men.

Old man winter is ‘officially’ on his way to southeastern Georgia, according to the weatherman.  Our outside pipes are wrapped, and I’m planning to make some chili for supper tomorrow night.  That’s about as prepared as I know how to be.  We don’t get a lot of freezing temperatures here, and they never last very long, thank goodness!

One last thought, before I go.  On Monday, I blogged about my camping vacation memories.  Who would’ve thought I’d get so many negative thoughts concerning camping?!  I guess there just aren’t that many ‘happy campers’ out there in blog land!  Ha!  All jokes aside, camping really is fun, especially in a camper.  I’ve tried ‘tent camping’, too, but that’s just not for me!

In closing, I apologize, again, for not visiting other blogs as much as I normally do.  As soon as I finish packing up the last of the Christmas decorations, I will do a lot more visiting.  In the meantime, there are two boxes of ornaments sitting in the living room floor, just waiting to be individually wrapped!  Hope to see you soon.

Published in: on January 7, 2015 at 9:21 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/01/07/no-not-today/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. No, I’m not a “happy camper”. ha!

  2. Hope you enjoy yourself while taking down the decorations. It’s much colder here in Ohio. With the windchill, it feels like -9. Now that is just too cold. lol

    I’m sure camping is fun, but I think I’d rather have a hotel room where someone else makes the bed and cleans up and restaurants where someone else cooks. haha I know, I know, I’m just plain lazy, especially on vacation.

  3. LOL – I’m one of those who left an “I don’t like camping” comment, but there are plenty of folks who do, and I have no problem with that at all, and enjoy hearing the stories. Had I had the opportunity in my younger years, I may have enjoyed it but know I would not enjoy it today! Our Christmas is all put away, thankfully. I’m not as sentimental about it as I used to be. Stay warm up there! We are only supposed to see high 30s, here, so we aren’t worried about pipes this time.

  4. Praying for all those families who might be affected by the guys decisions. I think Chili is on my menu for tomorrow night. Wednesdays we have bible study at church so we usually eat left overs or go to a little neighborhood restaurant afterwards. I still have to pack Christmas away, we did the outside yesterday morning. Enjoyed your post… it is good to be back!
    until next time…nel

  5. Did you get any of your Coca Cola ornaments at the big Coca Cola attraction in Atlanta. believe it or not I was there a few years ago, and bought a wooden refrigerator magnet of an old six pack of coke bottles. It’s s till on my fridge.


Leave a Reply

