A Few Friday Fragments…

Half-Past Kissin' Time

It’s been a while since I’ve joined Mrs. Fours for Friday Fragments, but I’m finally attempting to get back into a normal blogging routine.  That means I should be posting and visiting a little bit more in the future–I hope!

Finally! I am free from the Christmas clutter that has been plaguing me, and am getting back to normal life.  As of last Friday, the last of the Christmas decorations were taken down and safely packed away in their storage containers.  What did we ever do before the invention of those neat plastic storage boxes?!

I have decorated the ‘year round’ tree for January, by covering it with snowmen, snowballs, and snowflakes.  I bought several new ornaments for the tree, for half price, or less.  I also bought a box of old-fashioned icicles (for 75% off) and draped them over the limbs.  Putting those icicles on the tree brought back some old memories from my childhood.  Remember when everybody used to put icicles on their Christmas trees?  Remember how the icicles would cling to your clothing when you got close to the tree?  They still do!  Ha!

100_4861

January tree (and partial snowman collection)

Everyone’s been busy, plus I’ve had an after-Christmas cold, so Ed and I haven’t seen much of the kids and their families, lately.  Last Friday night, just like old times, the children who live closest to us stopped in for a visit.  Everyone brought their own supper, and we all had a great time catching up with each other.  I jokingly told them I thought they didn’t love us anymore, since we hadn’t seen much of them since Christmas!

Of course, we missed Brad, Jennifer, and Evan’s presence, last Friday night, like we always do when they’re not with us.  It just so happened that Brad called while the others were here, so he did manage to get in on a little of our conversation, too!

Speaking of our grandson, Evan, apparently, he’s learned how to climb since Christmas!  His daddy reported that he’s climbing on EVERYTHING, including the stairs, if given the opportunity!  Evan’s also had his first haircut since we’ve seen him.  Our youngest ‘grand’ is growing up–and we’re missing out on most of it because he’s not here much.

IMG_5336

Evan, our youngest ‘grand’

Unfortunately, Ed’s has had a minor health issue that’s been making him miserable, for a little over a week.  He visited the doctor, on Monday, and has slowly been getting better, since then. It’s been a long week for Ed, and I know, without a doubt, he’s glad it’s Friday!

It’s been rainy and cold here for the entire week!  I haven’t seen the sun in so long, I’m having withdrawal symptoms. Judging from the comments on Facebook, I’m not alone!  Hopefully, the sun will find its way through the clouds soon!  I can live with the cold temperatures, as long as the sun is shining!

I’ve been busy doing odd jobs around the house, such as cleaning out and organizing the pantry, sorting and organizing old pictures and mementos, and, of course, packing away the last of the Christmas decorations.   I still need to do some serious decluttering!

In closing, today, January 16th, is a special day for someone who’s near and dear to my heart.

IMG_20141206_155000198

 It’s my ‘oldest‘, ‘bestest’, and only brother’s birthday!  S-M-I-L-E!

 David, I hope your day is just as special as you are!  Happy Birthday!  Wishing you many, many more!

Love,

Published in: on January 16, 2015 at 9:34 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/01/16/a-few-friday-fragments-9/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Evan is adorable!

  2. Happy b-day to your brother!! Evan is adorable, indeed! Glad the family was able to gather last Friday. What a great idea, to have everyone bring their own dinner!!

  3. I have had a hard time getting back to blogging, so glad to have Friday Fragments.

  4. Love the pic of your brother; he looks like a character.

    Cleaning and organizing is always satisfying…

    Here’s hoping your husband is back to normal soon!

    Thanks for linking up. Have a great weekend!

  5. Happy Birthday to David. Speaking of birthdays, whenever the topic of decorating Christmas trees comes up, my “baby brother” never misses the chance to tell anyone who’ll listen how anal I was about getting those Christmas tree icicles just right – one to a portion of branch and hanging perfectly even. I admit it. Another weird similarity between you and me, his birthday is January 18


Leave a Reply

