Another Wednesday Hodgepodge…

Another week has flown by, and it’s time, once again, for The Wednesday Hodgepodge.  As always, thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for another delightful set of questions!

1. American Idol is back for a 14th season. Are you watching? Have you ever watched? If you were to audition for the show (or were made to audition), what song would you sing?

I have watched American Idol, in the past, but I don’t watch it anymore because I got tired of it.  Since I can’t “carry a tune in a bucket”, I have no idea what song I’d sing.  Maybe a hymn or a lullaby, since I’ve had lots of practice singing those.

2. Mark Twain is quoted as saying, “If it’s your job to eat a frog, it’s best to do it first thing in the morning. And if it’s your job to eat two frogs, it’s best to eat the biggest one first.”So when did you last have to ‘eat a frog’? Or two? How’d that work out?

Let me begin by saying that I’ve never heard this quote before, so I took it literal, at first. Ha!  After some investigating, I figured out Joyce didn’t care if I’d eaten any frogs 🙂

All that being said, if I have a job to do, I don’t really like to put it off.  My procrastinating sons used to drive me crazy putting off school projects and assignments until the last minute!   However, age has mellowed me out in that respect, a little, and, lately, I’ve found myself procrastinating sometimes.  I’m at my best, first thing in the morning, so I try to get my chores done early in the day.  If I have a big job ahead of me, I like to go ahead and get that out of the way first.

3. If you were going on safari, what is the number one animal you’d want to see?

Although I really like lions and tigers, I’d most like to see some giraffes in their natural habitat.  I think they’re beautiful, and very unique.

4. January 21st is National Granola Bar Day. I know. Do you like granola bars? Chewy or crunchy? Your favorite flavor? How about regular granola? Let’s exhaust this topic in honor of the holiday okay?

I do like granola bars, but they’re not my favorite snacks.  I like Nature Valley Sweet-n-Salty granola bars.  I’d say they’re more crunchy than chewy.

5. If only….we could all stay young and healthy forever!  

Speaking of ‘Forever’, has anyone else seen the new show by that name?  I really like it.

6. You can add one item to your bedroom. What will it be? Keep it family friendly please.

I’d add a larger closet because mine is too small.

7. What is one thing you’ve enjoyed about winter thus far? If it’s not winter in your corner of the globe, what season is it, and what is something you’ve enjoyed about whatever season it happens to be?

The one thing I’ve enjoyed about this winter was Christmas.  Other than that, I can’t really think of much!

Random:

Well, after months of wondering and weeks of anticipation, it finally happened.  Ed got ‘laid off’ from his job, on Friday, January 16.  Although we had tried to prepare ourselves, still, it caught us by surprise.  After working in the field of Radiology for forty-three years, Ed turned in his keys and film badge, and brought all of his work-related belongings home in two cardboard boxes.  Ed was one of eleven people who lost their jobs Friday.  Nine more lost their jobs on Monday.

Ed was given a severance package, along with several weeks of vacation he’d accumulated.  We’ll continue to receive regular paychecks and insurance benefits through mid-April, which will give us time to transition, and get things lined up for Ed’s Social Security to kick in.  It wasn’t Ed’s desire to retire, just yet, but we believe “all things work together for good”, so we’re viewing this situation in a positive light.

I think Ed is adjusting to the situation a lot better than most of his co-workers are!  Since Ed’s departure, our phone has been ringing, daily, with tales of woe about the workplace.  Ed’s former employees are missing him greatly, and, to me, that speaks volumes about the kind of boss he was.

And so a new phase of life begins… Retirement!

Let the fun begin!

Published in: on January 21, 2015 at 8:30 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/01/21/another-wednesday-hodgepodge-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m really sorry to hear about the job loss. I’m glad he got the severance, which helps with the adjustment. I’m sure you’ll find a new and enjoyable normal.

  2. Sorry to hear about Ed’s job loss…been there a few times. However, God has great plans from this point moving forward! Enjoy the journey!

  3. Ah heck, Kathy. I was sure hoping he would be spared. I truly believe everything happens for a reason, though. It’s nice to have a 3-month adjustment period, and good that he is of an age to receive his social security benefit. I know you will keep us posted….

  4. Sorry to hear that Ed was forced into retirement. I am certain that God will have something for him to do as you make the transition. I pray for peace as the process unfolds.

  5. Another giraffe lover here, they are so awesome! I’m so sorry to hear about Ed’s job ending. I do trust that God has a plan for each of us. I will keep both of you in my prayers as this transition takes place.

  6. So sorry he lost his job, however I hope you both love retirement!!!

    We watch the show Forever. I think it’s pretty good too.

  7. A big life change. May all go well. And I’m so glad to hear you’ve not been eating frogs. Lol

  8. I’m sorry about the job loss! Hopefully he’ll be able to find another one.

  9. Sorry that he was forced into retirement. It is enjoyable when you choose it. Praying you guys adapt quickly and will love your new norm.

  10. I hope that Ed and you will come to believe that God is preparing to open another door as he shuts the employment one. I invite you to do as I am doing, prepare to feel a draft and when you do, follow it to the door propped open to your next opportunity.

  11. Well, shoot. At least y’all have a great and positive attitude. That will carry you far! I don’t need a bigger closet but I could use a smaller bed. LOL Keep us posted about how things are going. It’s going to be different having Ed around all day. Every day. 🙂

  12. I’m sorry to hear Ed lost his job but thankful they at least somewhat “took care of him”. I hope you can find/receive good insurance.

    My Bethany loves giraffes! And she’d probably answer that question the same way you did.

    I didn’t know today was National Granola Bar Day! We try to celebrate the quirky holidays, but I think my kids would not be up for it, as that’s all I’ve had in the snack bin for a bit!

  13. Ahhh, retirement. Hate that it happened this way for him, but hopefully it will be good for both of you! You had a lot of answers that were very similar to mine!


Leave a Reply

