A Chilly Wednesday Hodgepodge…

I hope everyone is staying warm and cozy, now that winter seems to have hit most of the country!  Winter for us is lows in the 30’s and high’s in the 50’s, but, for us, that seems rather chilly!  One great way to spend a warm and cozy Wednesday, is by curling up with the computer and participating in The Hodgepodge, so let’s do that!  Thanks to our hostess, Joyce, we have a very appropriate set of questions today.

1. When did someone last suggest you ‘chill out’? Or, when did you last tell someone (or want to tell someone) to ‘chill out’? Or, when did you last tell yourself to ‘chill out’?

I don’t know if we’ve actually spoken the words “chill out” to each other, but I’m sure both Ed and I have been thinking them for the past ten days or so, every since he became unemployed.  Every now and then,  little doubts about the future creep in, and, when they do, I try to ‘chill out’ and have faith that everything is gonna’ be just fine.

2. What most recently caused your heart to melt?

My heart recently melted when I read a very sweet, heart-felt, letter that Ed received, last week.  It was written by one of the young men who had worked under Ed’s supervision, for the past seven years.  The letter said a lot of very nice things to Ed, but one line that stuck in my mind was “If I could, or had to chose another father figure, I’d choose you.”

3.  “An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is only an adventure wrongly considered.” G.K. Chesterton  

Your thoughts? When did you last experience either an adventure or an inconvenience? How did you see it at first, as an adventure or an inconvenience?  Does it feel the same in hindsight?

I’m going to say “An inconvenience is only an adventure wrongly considered.”  Inconveniences are always annoying, to me, but when all is said and done, there’s usually an adventurous tale to tell about the whole situation, when things don’t go smoothly.

Ed and I are currently in the midst of a huge inconvenience, since he recently lost his job.  However, I think, once we finish with all of the frustrating paperwork and transitioning involved, we’ll happily settle into our new adventure known as “retirement”.  I’m looking forward to the day when we can look back and laugh about this whole “inconvenience”!

The truth is, we’ve already started laughing about the whole ridiculous situation, just a little bit.  How ironic is it that, after putting off clothes shopping for well over a year (due to the uncertainty of the hospital’s future), I finally bought some new work clothes for Ed, at Christmas?!  He didn’t even get a chance to wear all of them!  How ironic is it that Ed went through an extremely difficult ordeal, just to get his hair freshly cut before the new “bosses” took over, just so he would make a good impression?!  Last of all, how ironic is it that when Ed first met with the new bosses, they went out of their way to tell him  ” we’ve heard wonderful things about you, from your former employer and co-workers”…then they proceeded to fire him just two weeks later?!  Gotta’ laugh at that!

4.  A Wendy’s Frosty, root beer in a frosty mug, or a frosted chocolate cupcake…of these three, which one is your favorite ‘frosty’ treat?

I’m going to say ‘ a frosted chocolate cupcake’ ( along with a glass of cold milk), but a ‘Wendy’s Frosty’ is a pretty close second favorite, especially on a hot summer’s day.

5. Would you say your life so far this year has been more like a circus or a symphony? Explain why.

If you’ve read what I’ve written here, down to this point, you already know the answer to this question.  The month of January has been like a three-ring circus!

6. Since it’s a ‘snow day’ here, what’s your favorite song containing the word ‘white‘?

White Christmas, of course, something we never have, here in the south.

7. If you had to leave the city you currently live in, what would you find the hardest to leave behind?

That’s an easy one to answer!  I’d find it nearly impossible to leave our children and grandchildren behind, especially since most of them are our close neighbors!

Random:

  We’re enjoying farm fresh eggs again!

100_4846

Our newest chickens are just 4 1/2 months old, but some have begun laying eggs!  Their eggs are small, but at least the chickens have begun to earn their keep!  In one week’s time, the egg count is already up to ten!  It’s been quite an adventure raising this flock, because… well, because I think they’re crazy, especially the white one, known as “Dixie Chick”!  More details coming soon…

Published in: on January 28, 2015 at 7:27 am  Comments (12)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/01/28/a-chilly-wednesday-hodgepodge-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a special thing to have received. How nice that this person actually sat down and took the time to write too. I think we often feel those things about people in our lives, but we don’t always go out of our way to say it. I’m sure the letter meant a lot to your hubs. And you too, because it’s nice to know we married good men!

  2. So sorry to hear that Ed has lost his job. I am sure you will make retirement fun and exciting. When life gives you eggs make omelets!

  3. What a wonderful letter that was that your husband received. What an influence we have on others’ lives. Sometimes we just don’t realize the impact we have until later…or maybe we never know. I love Judy’s comment about the eggs and omelets. lol Quite appropriate, huh!

  4. I am sorry about your husband’s job loss. My husband was let go in August, just days after us purchasing a second car. I almost have to chuckle when I think about it. The Lord is our provider and we continue to trust in Him and His timing.
    I love your chickens. What a treat to be able to have fresh eggs and know exactly where they came from.

  5. I can only imagine how touched you’ve been by all the kind words said about Ed. Sure helps to take the sting away from him losing his job, doesn’t it?

  6. Yes you have definitely had a circus going on. Hoping that your symphony is coming soon…..
    I love White Christmas, my favorite! Me on the other hand will have to follow my grandchildren because it will be the best place to be when they come along.

  7. I am so sorry to read of your husband’s recent loss of job; however, I can vouch for the benefits of retirement. Hubby and I retired together over three years ago and we love it. I wouldn’t go back one single day. It seems like you have a wonderful attitude about it all and that along with knowing that God is in charge, will get you through. I too live in the deep south – Northwest Louisiana – and am loving these spring days in the middle of winter. The letter to your husband also melted my heart. One of God’s little hugs to you both.

  8. That was a very nice tribute to Ed in Question #2. I hope the transition into retirement goes smoothly. It was a frightening experience for me, you know, fear of the unknown sort of thing, but I’m still alive and kicking and SWMBO still loves me. As it turns out, it happened at just the right time. SWMBO was diagnosed with cancer shortly after I retired.

  9. I’ve missed hearing about the chickens!! Thanks for the update! Enjoyed this Hodgepodge!!

  10. What a sweet thing for that man to say about Ed! Anxiously awaiting more on the flock!

  11. Our weather does not get any colder than yours typically. Although while you’re saying you’re having a cold spell, we had 70 degree weather today and it was beautiful!

    We’re in the middle of the “inconvenient adventure” right now too with both kids laid up. E now needs to have an MRI on his knee and we’re waiting for the insurance’s approval. The bright side is there is no bone damage.

    In addition to his knee woes we also have to get up early each day to have time to do his physical therapy exercises. Such an adventure we are having over here. 🙂

  12. That letter must have been so touching … what an extremely thoughtful thing to have done. Family (daughter and the grands) are the only things keeping us here, so if I’d done this week’s HP, I would have definitely answered that to #7. 😉


Leave a Reply

