‘Snow Kidding’, It’s Another Wednesday Hodgepodge…

I know some folks are still dealing with snow, but here in the sunny south, we’re just dealing with the cold.  Our highs are running around 50, with lows around 30, but that still feels like winter to us!

I’m spending most of my time inside, where it’s warm, so it’s nice to have the distraction of “The Hodgepodge”.  I’m so grateful to our hostess, Joyce, for continuing to give us all this soft place to land on Wednesdays…

1. Do you wear your heart on your sleeve, or keep your emotions tucked in tight?

I always wear my heart on my sleeve, no secrets here.  You can usually tell what I’m thinking or feeling, just by the look on my face. Sometimes this gets me into trouble.

2. How did you meet your closest friend?

I met my closest friend, Diane, way back in 1970, when she began dating Ed’s closest friend, Herman.  We used to spend the night with each other, during her final year high school.  Diane graduated from high school in 1970, two years ahead of me, married Herman that summer, then moved to Okinawa after Herman and Ed were deployed there. Diane and I have continued to keep in touch over the forty-five years that we’ve been friends, and our husbands remain friends, as well.

Interesting note here:  When Diane first began dating Herman, her parents didn’t like him and forbid her from seeing him.  So, for a short time, Ed pretended to be dating Diane.  He’d go pick Diane up, pass her off to Herman, somewhere down the road, then come to my house.  Herman would take Diane home, at the end of their date, since her parents were in bed by then.  Sometimes we do crazy things, when we’re young and foolish!

3.  Pink lemonade, grilled salmon, cotton candy, pink grapefruit, a strawberry milkshake, or raspberry sorbet…of the pink foods listed, which one is your favorite? Least favorite? Which one have you most recently consumed?

Of the pink foods listed, cotton candy would be my favorite!  My least favorite would be pink grapefruit.  I detest grapefruit!  As for which one I most recently consumed, I don’t remember because it’s been quite a while since I had either, but it was either cotton candy or pink lemonade.

4. When were you last ‘tickled pink’ over something? Explain.

I was very surprised and ‘tickled pink’, one day last week, when our DIL, Jennifer, and grandson, Evan, came driving up!  They were on their way to see Jennifer’s aunt, but decided to stop by for a brief visit!  I love those kinds of mid-week surprises!  I was ‘tickled pink’ all over again, when Jennifer, Evan, and Brad came back for a longer visit, on Sunday!  They ate Sunday dinner with  us, then stayed and watched most of the Superbowl game before going back home late Sunday night.

5. Are you a fan of television talk shows? Daytime, nighttime, or both? What’s your favorite?

I used to be a fan of television talk shows, but, these days, not so much.  I’ve probably watched a lot more daytime talk shows than nighttime ones. Phil Donahue and Oprah used to be my favorites, but, these days, I don’t have a favorite.

6. When was the last time you wanted to ask a question, but felt too foolish to do so?

I’m not sure, but it could have been Monday, while I was getting my first temporary crown put on at the dentist office.

7. My favorite television show right now is Stalker.  

I love the cast, and this show always keeps me sitting on the edge of my seat!  Occasionally, I’ll jump and scream, too!

Random:

Well, week 3 of Ed’s retirement has not started off good.

I had the misfortune of having another tooth break, the day after Ed lost his job.  This meant another trip to the dentist, where he told me he’d try to patch it, but, ideally, I needed a crown.  This tooth has already been “patched”, within the last couple of years, so I decided to “bite the bullet” and get my first crown, to the tune of $850 because I was told I’d eventually end up losing this tooth, otherwise.  Fortunately, for now, we still have our dental insurance, which will help with the cost.

My dental appointment to get a temporary crown put on was on Monday.  I had the temporary crown put on, and my mouth felt awful!  I went back yesterday, and had the crown shaved down some, but it still feels a little high.  I’m wondering if I’ll ever chew normally again.  I have another appointment, to get my teeth cleaned, on Friday, so I’ll talk to the dentist about it then.

Meanwhile, Ed’s in the process of trying to ‘re-do’ our two grapevines.  We’re going to try having them ‘run’ on regular fence wire, instead of two single strands of wire, like in the past.  After taking down the original two strands of wire, Ed discovered our old roll of fence wire is no longer any good.  (Rust had eaten it up.)  The cost of a new roll of fence wire?  $159, plus gas for the 50 mile round trip to AgriSupply!  Gotta’ love life’s little unexpected expenses 😦

Published in: on February 4, 2015 at 7:24 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/02/04/snow-kidding-its-another-wednesday-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Dental woes are some of the worst! I hope you feel better soon. I haven’t seen Stalker. I feel like we’re kind of out of the loop when it comes to a lot of newer tv programming. Enjoy your day, and your 50 degree weather! Funny how one part of the country’s winter is another’s spring : )

  2. Thank you so much for your warm welcome to hodgepodge! Love the Diane and Herman story – would make a great sitcom! Sorry about your tooth. What a bummer. I hate the dentist. Good luck with it. I will definitely tune into Stalker.

  3. I hate going to the dentist even for routine check ups. The good news is that you’re getting the crown now while you still have insurance to help pay for it, instead of coming up with the entire cost out of pocket? We’re going to have 50 degree weather this weekend – it’ll feel like spring to us. ha!

  4. Sorry to hear about your dental woes. I have a chipped tooth that was patched over 20 years ago and when that fell off I got another patch put on. I told the dentist it had to last at least 20 years because the first dentist was a school chum of his. So far so good.

  5. We love Stalker, too!! It really pulls you in, and has me closing the blinds and curtains before it gets dark outside! Yikes! Even with our dental insurance, visiting the dentist is expensive. Another yikes! Good luck with the crown and make sure the dentist fixes it for you. You should not be having issues!! Another great Hodgepodge!!

  6. I remember all too well when Chris lost his job…seemed like everything happened all at once. It was a very stressful time, but we made it through and I’m sure you will, too! I’ve never watched “Stalker”, but I’ll have to check it out now.

  7. Crowns are not fun. I would see if the dentist can adjust it some more so it doesn’t bother you. Really, you shouldn’t even know it is there. Sounds like you had a couple of nice visits from family 🙂

  8. 50 degrees! We won’t see that for months up here in The Mitten!
    The hardest thing about getting a crown is forking over the money!

  9. That’s a funny story about your friend Diane and Ed having to pick her up. I did like Oprah but I don’t watch any daytime now. Yes that board game Logo is a new one. Bought it for Christmas for the family.

  10. I love Stalker too. It is well written and quite suspeneful. I hope your oral problems get resolved. High’s in the 50’s…I wish! All the best!

  11. I love the story about Ed picking up your friend. Hey kids figure out how to make things work. lolol Sorry about your tooth. Hope it does not give you to much trouble. Ohhhh I hate dentists!

  12. I dislike anything to do with the dentist! I hope your insurance covers a big chunk of that fee!

  13. Great story about Ed & Herman! What a good friend!
    I haven’t seen Stalker…I’m kind of afraid that it’ll scare me too much!


Leave a Reply

