Friday Fragments…

Today marks the end of week #3 since Ed lost his job  and went into retirement.  It’s been the most difficult week, so far, at least for me.  I chalk this up to the fact that I haven’t been feeling well all week.  Nothing else has really changed.

As mentioned in an earlier post, I had a temporary crown put on a tooth, on Monday.  I’ve had a lot of discomfort, since then, and will be returning to the dentist again, today.  The problem is not the dentist, it’s my teeth and how they fit together, which isn’t normal.  Hopefully, “the third time will be the charm”, and the dentist can get my crown down a little lower today.  My gums are already feeling much better.

This week also marks the second week I’ve been reducing my HRT (hormone replacement therapy).  I’ve been gradually working toward stopping HRT, for over a year, by going down to a lower dosage, last January.  I recently began the process of skipping one capsule every third day, another step in weaning off hormone therapy slowly. No hot flashes, so far, but I can tell a change in my mood.  I’m hoping my mood will change, for the better, once my mouth doesn’t hurt anymore!

It rained again this week, and we discovered Ed wasn’t successful in fixing the leak in our roof.  He got on top of the house again, yesterday, and added more silicone.  I’m hoping “the third time will be the charm” for the roof, as well as my tooth. When Ed built our house, several years ago, he put a tin roof on it.  It’s been nothing but a problem for the past two years!  If money wasn’t an object, I’d have that tin replaced with shingles, in a heartbeat.

Ed and I are still working on getting our business affairs transitioned, in the wake of his involuntary retirement.  He was finally able to get the final date that our insurance coverage will end, so we can move forward with shopping for new insurance coverage.  For the first time in our lives, we’ll have separate health insurance policies, because Ed’s on Medicare.

Ed and I took a trip to town, yesterday, to have our prescriptions filled and to stop by the grocery store.  We ran into a former co-worker of Ed’s, and he told us that three people, at the hospital, had gotten their jobs back, this week. The management company discovered they’d “cut too deep”, so they had to back-track and re-hire some personnel. Hearing this has me wondering about this management company…

The big project for this week, for Ed, turned out to be re-doing our grapevines.  We have several vines, and Ed hasn’t had much time to properly take care of any of them.  He started with the two vines closest to our house, this week.  He took down the old strands of wire the vines were running on, and replaced that with new fence wire.  It will take a year or two for the vines to recover, and get properly trained, but the vines should grow much better and yield more grapes, in the end.

My projects for the week consisted of starting a new book and painting some Valentine’s Day sun catchers.  I wasn’t thrilled with the way the sun catchers turned out, but, at least, the book is good.  I’m reading American Sniper.  I wanted to see the movie, but figured the book would be much better.

That’s about it for this edition of Friday Fragments, and I’ll be linking up with Mrs. Fours @ Half-Past Kissin’ Time. Enjoy your weekend!

 

Published in: on February 6, 2015 at 9:38 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/02/06/friday-fragments-20/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I hope third time is a charm for everything. Retirement does take a lot of adjustment but it can be good.

  2. Hope your dentist will get things right today and that everything else works out too.

  3. My hubs has had problems with a recent crown. He had the crown first, but still tooth pain, so the dentist went back in and did a root canal, still pain. He has looked at it again, and thinks he may end up having an implant-ugh! I hope you find relief from your dental woes.

  4. Those pains that linger really do wear on your mind. Health insurance is easier to get now than just 6 or so years ago.
    all the best

  5. Mr BC went into retirement due to a health issue, before he was medicare eligible and before Obama care. We would have been up a creek if I hadn’t been able to sign up for health care, mid year, with my company. Things were a struggle for a couple of years until we finally got our finances on track and I could eventually retire.

  6. When you said starting a book, I thought you were writing one. That’s what I’m doing. No more “I don’t have time” excuses now that I’m involuntarily retired. Also, I didn’t know houses had tin roofs. I learn something new everyday. Maybe I’ll have a tin roofed house in my book. You never can tell!

  7. I like to listen to books, but I will probably go to the theater to see American Sniper.

    Sounds like you’ve been going through a rough patch; I’m sorry to hear that. Here’s to a healthy, happy spring for you and Ed 🙂

    Thanks for linking up! Have a great weekend!!

  8. 2 words for you: Black Cohosh. My gyno in SC recommended it to me a few years ago, and I (as well as CH) can tell a HUGE difference when I skip a few days. It’s amazing how well it works! 🙂

  9. I am so sorry about what happened to Ed. Management is all over the place these days, not in a good way.
    The book American Sniper was good and the movie was really good too.
    I stopped HRT and did the natural estrogen thing. Sweet potatoes, yams, carrots, canteloupe most orange foods. My mood, hot flashes all of my symptoms stopped after a week of including several of these a day.
    Have a great weekend.

  10. Hope third time was a charm for your tooth and roof. And all the best to Ed. Hope he finds work soon.
    Dropping by from FF linkup.

  11. Feeling ill, reducing HRT and rain! I do believe that is a sure recipe for a difficult week, throw in tooth pain, involuntary retirement and a leaky roof and that sounds like a pretty rotten week. I do hope things go better this week.


Leave a Reply

