Miscellaneous Monday…

I’m posting this early because company is coming to town this (Sunday) evening.  My brother and his wife are coming in from Florida for a little visit, and I’m sure we’ll be too busy catching up with each other tomorrow for me to blog.  It will be our first visit with everyone retired!  In the past, poor Ed always had to go to work.  My brother and sister-in-law have been retired for over seven years, as have I.

I’m happy to be able to report that “the third time was the charm”, regarding my sore tooth!  On Friday, the dentist popped the temporary crown off and reworked it twice before I could bite down without feeling pain!  I was a little apprehensive when he said he was going to try working on the tooth without the use of anesthesia, but, thankfully, it didn’t hurt.   I left the dentist’s office feeling like a  new person:)

Our weekend weather was absolutely gorgeous!  It was sunny and the highs reached near 70 degrees both days.  Ed and I took full advantage of Saturday afternoon’s beautiful weather, by working in the yard.  Ed trimmed our crepe myrtle bushes (trees?), while I picked up and burned some limbs that had fallen in the yard during our last storm.

Before we spent the afternoon in the yard, Ed and I did a little Saturday morning shopping.  In addition to our weekly grocery shopping, we hit a sale at Tractor Supply, and came home with the PT Cruiser fully loaded!  It always amazes me how much stuff we can pack inside of that little car!  We had a 50 lb. bag of chicken feed, a 10 lb. bag of layer pellets, a medium bag of dried worms (for the hens), two 16 lb. bags of dry cat food, 40 cans of cat food, a large bag of wood chips (for the chicken run), plus our groceries!  Needless to say, our ‘people food’ took up much less space than our ‘pet food’  and accessories did.

Several people left helpful hints, in Friday’s comments, regarding how to get off HRT painlessly.  Thanks to all, for the helpful advice, I’ll definitely give those suggestions a try!  I am really looking forward to the day when I’ll have one less prescription to fill, and one less capsule to swallow!

On Friday, Ed successfully got his Social Security paper work filled out, regarding the date when our insurance benefits [from the hospital] will end.  The office staff still seemed unsure of exactly when our insurance benefits are going to end, so Ed told them to terminate our benefits on March 31, and he got that in writing.  Now we’re free to see about getting follow-up insurance coverage that will begin on April 1!  I feel like we’re finally moving forward.

I’m looking forward to week #4 of retirement, this week!  It’s time to plant some garden seeds in cups, and I’m looking forward to having something growing again.  I’m planning to start some lettuce, cabbage, tomato, and pepper seedlings in paper cups, then transplant them into the garden in April.  It’s supposed to rain tomorrow, so I guess we’ll see if Ed’s most recent patching job on the roof worked, too!

That’s about all I have to write about today.  Enjoy your Monday!  I’ll be around to visit as soon as I can!

Published in: on February 8, 2015 at 10:00 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/02/08/miscellaneous-monday-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for reminding me that I need to start thinking about planting seeds indoors for my garden. Now that I’m home all day, I have great expectations. As luck would have it I did order a bunch of seeds last fall, expanding on last years tomatoes, peppers, & cukes. I don’t remember what I bought but I know w it’s rather ambitious!
    I admire how conscientious you are in thinking ahead and posting Monday’s blog on Sunday evening. You’re an inspiration!

  2. I’m so glad that you got your sore tooth resolved!

    We don’t start any plants early … but it is time to start thinking about what we’ll be planting. Now that we’ve officially given up on zucchini (insert sad face here), we need to figure out what we’ll plant in that space.

  3. Busy, busy!! That really was a load of animal feed! Enjoy your company! Can’t wait to hear about the fun you have with them!

  4. Hope your enjoying your company and glad to hear that your tooth is good now. I look forward to seeing your garden this year, it is always amazing!

  5. We got about an inch of ice today-ugh. I’d much rather have snow. Our neighborhood has been so quiet all day, as even a plow isn’t much use in the ice. Then it snowed on top of that, so the plow eventually came but we’ve been in. I can only dream about gardening, but am glad you had a lovely weekend. Enjoy your company!


Leave a Reply

