Still Loving The Hodgepodge…

It’s volume #208 of The Wednesday Hodgepodge, and I still love it!  I still look forward to answering the questions and visiting the participants.  I’ve learned many things about myself, and others, through The Hodgepodge.  Thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for continuing to make this mid-week fun possible!

1. Have you ever written a love letter? Have you written one recently? Had one written to you? Did you keep it?

Yes, I’ve written many love letters.  Ed and I wrote hundreds of love letters to each other, during his time in the army.  By the time we got married, I had a small suitcase, filled with Ed’s letters to me.  Sadly, when Ed and I married, I left them behind, at my parents’ house, and they threw them away.  I’ve wished, many times, that I’d taken those letters with me when I moved!

2. What’s a movie that ends in a way you especially love?

Pretty Woman is one of my all-time favorite movies, and I especially love the way it ends!

3. Something that makes your heart sing? And for those of you who are parents, I mean something besides your children that makes your heart sing?

Let’s see, not having to set an alarm clock every night… waking up every morning, with the one I love… living in a home that’s paid for… having most of our family living nearby (with the rest of them planning to move closer!)… any or all of these things make my heart sing!

4. What’s the last event you had to attend, phone call you had to make, routine task you needed to complete, or meal you had to prepare, that you did do, but only half-heartedly?

Last Sunday morning, I half-halfheartedly vacuumed my bedroom and cleaned the bathroom–two of my least favorite household tasks.

5. Tuna fish salad-yay or blech? If you said yay, how do you like your tuna salad prepared? Hey, this is the Hodgepodge, right?

I like tuna, I just don’t love it.  Whenever I make tuna salad, I add chopped, boiled egg, pickle relish, and some Miracle Whip or mayonnaise.

6. What’s something you ‘know by heart‘?

I’ve known Ed’s social security number by heart since 1970!  I learned his social security number [before I learned my own] because I wrote it so many times on the envelopes of all of those love letters I wrote him!

7. In the spirit of Valentine’s Day, what two or three word phrase would you write on a conversation heart for someone you love? That someone could be a spouse, child, parent, cousin, bestie…anyone at all whom you love.

To: Ed

“You’re still the one”

Random:

So far, week #4 of retirement is going much better than week #3!  I hope the trend continues.  It’s hard to believe it’s almost been a month already!

Published in: on February 11, 2015 at 8:49 am  Comments (11)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/02/11/still-loving-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So many people have mentioned adding egg to their tuna. I don’t think I’ve ever had eggs in mine. Hmmm…

    Pretty Woman does have a great ending. I’m glad the retirement weeks are becoming easier. Enjoy your day!

  2. I would be devastated if the love letters Chris and I have written to each other since 1988 were thrown away. Bless your heart.

  3. Glad to hear that you’re still enjoying retirement. Sorry to hear the letters were thrown out, I know I would’ve been upset!

  4. Good movie choice! I think my social security number is the only number I really know except for my phone numbers. Love you conversation heart saying.

  5. I’m glad to read that retirement is getting better. I too hope that trend continues. For me it’s been over three years. It seems it’s been shorter but the calendar does not lie. God bless you and Ed as you adjust to new things. Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment.

  6. Your parents threw them away???!!! That is VERY sad. That’s even sadder than my mom throwing away my shoebox of baseball cards of players like Mickey Mantle, Roger Maris, Roberto Clemente, Sandy Colfax, etc. etc. Fun to read your Hodgepodge today!

  7. I knew my own social security number first, but these days I can recall my husband’s number better than mine….his is the one on all our important accounts.

  8. I like Pretty Woman too! There are so many great endings out there!

  9. Retirement? Evidently I have a lot of catching up to do. I am off to read your older posts!

  10. Waking up without an alarm clock with your sweetie in bed next to you = best part of retirement!

  11. I have seen “Pretty Woman” at least 50 times. Glad your retirement is improving.


Leave a Reply

