This-N-That On Tuesday…

100_4888

I’ve been away from my computer for a few days.  Sometimes life gets in the way of blogging.  As much as I enjoy blogging, if I have to choose between life and blogging, I’ll choose living every time!  I’ve been busy celebrating both Valentine’s Day and a family birthday.  It was a busy weekend, but what fun we had!

Ed and I celebrated our Valentine’s Day, on Friday, by going out to lunch.  We went to Longhorn, which happens to be my favorite steakhouse.  I was thankful to be able to chew my steak, considering the dental woes I was having, just a few days ago!  There was a time when I feared I might be having soup for the rest of my life.

I spent most of Valentine’s Day in the kitchen, first making a heart-shaped German Chocolate cake for Ed, then baking some cupcakes for Sunday’s family dinner.  I was dead on my feet by the end of the day.  It was such a busy day, Ed and I didn’t exchange cards/gifts until late that afternoon!

Fortunately, Ed made chili for Valentine’s Day supper!  We took  our chili, some hot dogs, and Ed’s German Chocolate cake over to our daughter’s house, since she invited us to come over and share in her family’s Valentine’s Day celebration.  We enjoyed eating with them, and watching their exchange of Valentine gifts.

Sunday morning found me back in the kitchen, as I prepared lunch for the entire gang.  Sunday was our daughter-in-law, Christina’s, birthday, in addition to being the day after Valentine’s Day.  Everyone gathered together for lunch, following church.  Afterward, we celebrated Christina’s birthday with an ice cream cake, and some exchanged Valentines.

I have a funny story to share, concerning Christina’s birthday gift from our son.  He brought her gift to our house, on Friday night, so he could wrap it.  When he pulled the gift out, I realized it was a set of baby monitors.  My eyes grew large, and I quickly asked, “Are y’all pregnant?!”  He laughed and said, “No.”  It turned out that the old set of monitors they’d been using in the boys’ room had broken, and Christina wanted a new set.  I must admit, he sure had me going for a minute or two!

Another funny story concerns our daughter-in-law, Jennifer.  Our son, Brad, called me bright and early on the Monday morning before Valentine’s Day weekend.  He asked if I’d order a pair of shoes[for Jennifer] from Amazon, have them delivered to our house, then let him pay me for them over the weekend when they came to visit.  Apparently, Jennifer wanted a new pair of shoes for Valentine’s Day, and Brad wanted to surprise her.  I ordered the shoes, and they arrived two days later.  I bought a Valentine’s Day bag, and put the shoes inside of it.

It turned out that Brad had to work, unexpectedly, on Valentine’s Day. He was gone all day, and, because her gift was here, Brad had no Valentine’s Day gift for Jennifer.  Then, Jennifer asked Brad if she needed to pack casual shoes, for the trip, or did he have a pair, waiting here, for her.  Brad sheepishly told Jennifer she should pack a pair.  At this point, I can only imagine what Jennifer’s thoughts must have been!  Brad says it was a tense trip, but he was secretly enjoying every moment!

It was almost suppertime before Brad and Jennifer arrived here in town.  They’d already planned to spend the night with Jennifer’s grandparents, and Jennifer was in a hurry to get there because they were running late.  Brad quietly informed her that he needed to stop by our house first–on the pretense of dropping off a guitar!  I’m sure Jennifer was probably at the end of her wits, by then, and she told him they didn’t have time for all that!  They stopped anyway.

Knowing what Brad had done to Jennifer [because he’d secretly told me over the phone], we couldn’t help but wonder what kind of mood she would be in when they arrived.  Jennifer came in bearing Valentine’s gifts, and didn’t say too much until Brad surprised her with the Valentine’s Day bag containing her new pair of Sperry Top-Siders! Then, we all had a good laugh!  I sure am glad Jennifer is a good sport, otherwise, Brad might have gotten a black eye for Valentine’s Day!

Published in: on February 17, 2015 at 10:27 am  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/02/17/this-n-that-on-tuesday-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. All’s well that ends well for Brad and Jennifer, right? I agree with you about life getting in the way of blogging but for me it gives me such a feeling of satisfaction when I do manage get a blog out.

  2. Oh my! Good thing Jennifer is a good sport, indeed! And I agree with you on living vs blogging. 😉

  3. Sounds like a great weekend. You certainly were busy!

  4. You had me at German Chocolate cake : ) My favorite!


Leave a Reply

