A Few Friday Fragments…

Half-Past Kissin' Time

Week five of retirement has been a wet and cold one!  Of course, after watching the evening news, I’ve realized it’s not really cold here, compared to most places.  Still, for us, it’s been cold enough to keep us indoors.  All of that is due to change tomorrow, thank goodness!  Temps are supposed to reach 72, by Sunday.  I’ll believe it when I see it.

We met with an insurance agent, on Monday, to purchase future healthcare coverage, for after the insurance, from Ed’s previous job, runs out.  Between the two of us, the process took about two hours, so that took care of a big portion of the day!  Ed got one kind of policy, while I got another.  After all of that, Ed’s previous employer now says, “We could have covered you through the end of May.” (If this is true, why did they first state the end of March on the form?)  Grrr….  Speaking of Ed’s previous employer, why is it they had no problem disabling our ‘Flex Pay’ medical expense card, but are having so much trouble discontinuing taking the payments for it out of Ed’s check?!

Ed had to go and have blood work done, this week.  He’s always had his blood drawn at the hospital where he used to work, so he went back there, on Wednesday, to have it done.  As usual, anytime he goes back to the hospital, his blood pressure goes up.  Things are still crazy there, and dealing with them makes us crazy, too!

I took down all of the Valentine’s Day decorations, yesterday, and put out the St. Patrick’s Day decorations.  My St. Patrick’s Day decorations are my least favorite decorations, since I’m not a fan of green (except for money, of course!).  It’s sort of fruitless to decorate a green tree with green decorations anyway.  In just over three weeks, it will be time to decorate for Easter!  This year is passing quickly.

You know, I’ve had nothing but trouble with the temporary crown I had put on three weeks ago.  Well, last night, while eating a piece of Valentine’s Day candy (my first and only piece!), the crown actually came off!  Fortunately, I realized it was off before I actually swallowed it.  Hopefully, I’ll be going back to the dentist today!  (If not, it will be a long weekend!)  This will be visit #4, since receiving this crown!  I’m hoping and praying the permanent one works better than the temporary one has!  Of course, the problems in my life are small, compared to the problems of some people in my life, so I shouldn’t complain.

Speaking of the problems of people in my life, I’d like to end this edition of Friday Fragments by asking for your prayers.  Not for me, but for some people who are very close to me.  My sister-in-law ( my brother’s wife) is going through some tough times, at the moment.  Her mom is currently under the care of Hospice, and is living out her final days.  As if that’s not enough to deal with, my brother and his wife are dealing with other serious family problems [concerning their oldest grandson], as well.  Please pray for God’s strength and guidance for them, as they travel the road that lies ahead.

I’m linking today’s fragments up over @ Half-Past Kissin’ Time.  Thanks for hosting, Mrs. Fours!

Stay warm, and enjoy your weekend!  God willing, I’ll see you back here, on Monday.

 

 

 

 

Published in: on February 20, 2015 at 9:47 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/02/20/a-few-friday-fragments-10/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Keeping your family in my prayers.

  2. Oh my, Kathy, I do hope things get better for you soon. Perhaps Spring will brighten your days.

  3. Retirement can have some interesting life changes. We were lucky to find a great insurance guy to get us set up. I actually swallowed the last crown I lots. I had to have an implant because the tooth actually broke. My retirement dental insurance plan has not been very good.

  4. Keeping your family in my prayers. And praying that your permanent crown will not give you the fits that your temporary one has.

  5. Praying for your sis-in-law and family as well as your crown issues.

    Thought of you this a.m. as my hubby and I entered our favorite breakfast spot. They still have their Mardi Gras decorations on their tree but have also recently hung a green olaque about St. Patrick’s Day. I guess the purple, gold and green of Mardi Gras colors are more interesting than unrelieved green.

  6. Praying for your family members. Hope you got the crown taken care of. I ended up having to get an implant for 1 of my teeth. Not bad, but pretty expensive.

  7. Will definitely lift your family up in prayer! When it rains it pours! I am due for a crown and have been avoiding it because I just don’t like the dentist and the mouth pain 😦


Leave a Reply

