Another Miscellaneous Monday…

Ed and I made it through another cold and wet weekend!  We finally got out of the house on Friday and Saturday, and we both felt like we’d been freed from prison!  The weather still wasn’t suitable for being outside, so we did a little shopping both days.  Actually, on Friday, we did some browsing in one town, then we waited until Saturday to do our actual shopping in a different town.  It didn’t matter what we did, it was just great to be out of the house!  Ed even said, “Shopping in the rain sure beats being cooped up in the house!”

On Friday, we made a stop by the Tractor Supply Store.  We saw a sign saying they were having “Chick Days”, and couldn’t resist stopping in to see the newly arrived baby chicks.  The chicks are always so cute, I want to bring them all home with me!  Of course, “there’s no room in the inn” at my house, so I can only admire them, then leave empty-handed.  My ‘babies’ will be 6 months old, this week, and are currently keeping us and our family supplied in eggs 🙂

Speaking of chickens and eggs,  a strange occurrence has begun at our house!  One of our old hens has decided to stop laying her eggs in the nest inside of the chicken coop.  Even stranger is the new spot she’s chosen to lay her eggs–on the blanket [under the car port] where our dog sleeps!  For the past two days Ed has found an egg on the blanket, right beside the dog!

Our ‘local children’ (the ones who live near us), and their families gathered at our house on Friday night.  That’s always a nice way to end the week, and kick off the weekend. The cousins always enjoy playing together, at Mimi’s house, while the adults get caught up with what’s been going on during the week.  Would you believe, the cousins actually asked to have their picture taken, this week?!  Ed happily obliged, and here’s the result:

100_4906

our three oldest ‘grands”, Madison, Caden, and Chase

Our youngest son and his family were not able to join us for a visit, this weekend.  We missed them, since it’s been two weeks since we last saw them.  This mama is looking forward to a day when they will live ‘local’, as well, and will able to join us for spontaneous Friday night visits with the rest of the gang!  Besides, this little fella’ needs more opportunities to play with his cousins, before they all grow up!

10421174_10202785521232258_2916483432822423752_n

our youngest ‘grand’, Evan

Speaking of growing up, last week, our oldest son’s graduating [high school] class of 2000 lost its second member.  The class was small, with maybe thirty-something students in it, so everybody knew everybody.  This classmate also happened to have been one of our son’s friends during the school years.  Sadly, he’s gone too soon, at the young age of thirty-two…

While walking about and browsing, on Friday, I quickly realized how out of shape I’ve become!  Ed’s been cooking breakfast for us nearly every morning, since he retired, and it usually includes eggs and bread.  Ed also helps me with the housework, now, so I have less to do around the house.  As a result, I’ve gotten even more out of shape that I was before!  Beginning today, I’m dusting off the treadmill–at least until spring decides to come.  Eventually, I’ll get my exercise while working in the garden, which is a lot more fun than walking on the treadmill–sometimes!

Today is the day I’m going back to the dentist to have my permanent crown put on.  I hope it fits better than the temporary one did in the beginning.  (Wouldn’t you know I was just starting to get used to it?)  Unfortunately, I have a feeling it won’t be long before another ‘patched’ tooth bites the dust, and I’ll have to start this awful (and costly) process all over again.

Our temperatures are supposed to be in the 70’s for the next couple of days–but without any sun!  I guess it would be too much to expect a warm and sunny day, but I’ll take it!  At least I can move all of the plants out of the laundry room while I wash a few clothes this morning.

That’s about it for what’s happening around here–not very exciting, but, hey, it’s life!

Have a great Monday!

 

Published in: on March 2, 2015 at 8:39 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/03/02/another-miscellaneous-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your grandchildren are all so beautiful! How great that the cousins know and like each other! I have so many wonderful memories of my cousins, growing up. It is important! I love hearing about your hens and all the eggs!

  2. Although I sympathize with your cabin fever, I can’t cry too much. Imagine being cooped up by snow and cold temps for the greater part of this fierce winter! But I guess that’s not really cooped up, as we have to go out an shovel

  3. Ahhh, I’m looking forward to 70-degree weather! It’s going to get into the 50s here a couple of days this week. And I’m looking forward to that.


Leave a Reply

