Rainy Days And Mondays…

Another week has come and gone.  Last week, Ed celebrated his two month anniversary of being a retired man.  I intended to write a thoughtful and reflective post concerning the past two months, but, somehow, I never got around to it.  Too busy living life, I guess.  Time is flying!

The beautiful weather we enjoyed so much at the beginning of last week, has since left us.  It’s been replaced by the cool, wet weather that Ed dislikes so much.  It’s supposed to be like this for the entire week.  I’m thinking, Oh, boy!  This is going to be a really long week!  Of course, the weeks are never long, anymore.

Our weekend was jam-packed with all sorts of family time.  On Friday night, our daughter and oldest son, and their families joined us to catch up on, and laugh about, the events of the week.  Now that Thursday was behind us, we could laugh about all of the events of that day.  (If you missed the post about last Thursday, it was a good one.)

On Saturday, our youngest son and his family were finally able to join us for a visit.  It had been five long weeks since we’d seen them, due to illness and other things!  They hadn’t planned to stay overnight, on Saturday, but they bought toothbrushes, borrowed some clothes, and stayed anyway.  I don’t know if it was because it was unplanned or because we hadn’t seen them in so long, but it was a really good visit.  The best part for them– they didn’t have to pack and unpack either!

Our youngest grandson, Evan,  had totally changed in the five weeks since we’d seen him.  He’s rapidly transitioning from baby to boy, as youngsters tend to do during their second year of life.  You could almost see the wheels turning in his head, as he explored everything!  I heard him say three words together, two different times.  One of the phrases was “I did it!”  His greatest pleasure, this weekend, seemed to be my collection of books.  He was constantly bringing one of his parents a book to read, then suddenly he discovered great pleasure in throwing the books over our baby gate, to his cousins who were playing on the other side.  I tell you, that boy’s brain is always working!  He’s going to be a smart one.

On Saturday night, for a while, Ed and I were able to enjoy our entire family together, under our roof, once again. These moments are becoming increasingly rare.  It was good to watch all of the grandchildren playing with each other.  I hope, at times like these, the cousins will make memories that will last a lifetime.  All are growing us so quickly!

In addition to the time spent with family, Ed and I did a few things around the house.  He finished a project concerning some planters at each end of our yard swing.  I’m planning to plant some running, blooming, vines on each end of the swing, which are supposed to attract hummingbirds.  We’ll see how it goes.  In addition to finishing the planter project, Ed switched places with two trees in our yard.  I hope both survive the move.  One of the trees required the use of the tractor to move it!

We ended up planting our squash and cucumber plants out in the garden, on Saturday afternoon, took.  They’d outgrown their cups, so we took a chance, and transplanted them.  If a pre-Easter frost finds us, Ed and I will be scrambling to find enough buckets to cover our tender, young plants!  It looks good to see something green growing in the garden again.  The squash and cucumbers joined our onions and garden peas.  No luck with our potatoes, though.  I guess they rotted in the ground.

One last thing Ed and I did, over the weekend, was have another argument!  We rarely used to have arguments, before retirement.  I guess we can chalk this new trend up to living together 24/7.  We seem to be getting on each other’s nerves, at times!  My standard method of operating is “slow and easy”, while Ed’s standard method of operating is “hurry up and get ‘er done”, and, sometimes, our two worlds collide.  We had a collision on Saturday. Thankfully, there were no fatalities 🙂

Have a great Monday!

Published in: on March 23, 2015 at 10:21 am  Comments (5)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/03/23/rainy-days-and-mondays-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It is so good to catch up with you and your news! Having some quality family time is so important, especially as the little ones grow up! Lucky you, and lucky them! I enjoy your retirement stories (even about the arguments!). Joe is retired, but I am not, so I have that 24/7 stuff to look forward to in a couple of years!!

    Wishing you a good week ahead, with some sunshine!

  2. I din’t know which realization blew my mind more: that Ed has been retired for two months or that Evan is almost two years old. To pen a cliche, – boy time sure does fly!

  3. oops I meant I don’t know. TYPO!!!!!

  4. Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend with your family. Sorry to hear that you had a collision, but glad to hear that it was just a “fender bender”. 😉

  5. There are some things to figure out in this new normal. My hubs is on a similar track and you and I are more the slow and steady : ) I’m so glad you finally got to spend some time with your grandson!


Leave a Reply

