The Wonderful Wednesday Hodgepodge…

These retirement days just keep on flying by!  In another week, Ed will have been retired for 3 months already!  And I thought time was flying before…

It’s Wednesday in our neck of the woods, so that means it’s time for The Hodgepodge!  As always, (maybe even a little more since her husband’s recent retirement), I thank our gracious hostess, Joyce, for hosting this wonderful meme!  I tell you, folks, it’s tough to fit blogging in with newly retired husbands!  (It’s 10 pm Tuesday night, and I’m still working on this!)

1. Besides left over Easter goodies, what’s something currently kept in a basket at your house?

I’m currently storing magazines in one basket, and Evan’s toys in another. The toys are in a larger rectangular wicker basket with wooden wheels on it, so we can roll it.

2. ‘The greater danger for most of us is not that our aim is too high and we miss it, but that it is too low and we reach it.’ ~Michelangelo Buonarroti

So which one are you…the one who aims too high, or the one who aims too low? Have you ever seen The Sistine Chapel? Did you know Michelangelo’s surname prior to answering this question?

I’m definitely the one who aims too low, out of a fear of not succeeding.  After all, I didn’t get my driver’s license until I was 26 because I was afraid to take the test… and I didn’t give college a try until I was almost 50!

No, I haven’t seen the Sistine Chapel, and I didn’t know Michelangelo’s surname prior to reading this question.  Yay, for learning something new, huh?!

3. April 7th is National Beer Day. Hmmm…wonder how that’s celebrated? Do you like beer? Have a favorite? If you’re not a beer drinker do you have any recipes you enjoy cooking that call for beer?

No, I don’t like beer.  It stinks and tastes even worse than it smells.

Years ago, my hubby, Ed, used to enjoy drinking Pabst Blue Ribbon beer.  Do they even make that brand any more?

Since I can’t stand the smell or taste of beer,  I don’t have any recipes that call for it (that I know of).

4. When did you last travel somewhere new? Tell us where? How’d it go?

It’s been several years since we traveled any place new.  These days, we don’t travel much, and, when we do, we usually stick to familiar territory.  I think the last new place we went was Charleston, SC, and I loved it!  We made a return trip a couple of years after our first one.  Here’s one of my favorite pics from our first trip:

100_1466a

5. The value of ____money____is greatly overrated.  I say this because money sure doesn’t go very far, these days!  A twenty dollar bill doesn’t even come close to buying what it used to.  It now takes a fifty to buy what twenty used to buy.

6. What’s a pet peeve of yours when it comes to restaurant dining?

I have two of them.  The first one is loud or annoying children in a restaurant.  The second is loud people who talk on their cell phones during the meal.  Either one of those situations drives me crazy.

7. It’s Poetry Month…share a favorite poem, either the title, a few lines you find meaningful, or the whole kit and caboodle.

A few weeks ago, I discovered a poem in the newspaper that I really liked.  I’ve been waiting for an opportunity to share, and here it is!  The poem is a little long, so I chose only my favorite verses to share:

I Remember (submitted to our paper by Arvid Lawless)

A little house with three bedrooms, one bathroom and one car on the street

A mower that you had to push, to make the grass look neat.

In the kitchen on the wall, we only had one phone

And no need for recording things, someone was always home!

We only had a living room, where we would congregate

Unless it was at mealtime, in the kitchen were we ate.

We only had one TV set, and channels maybe two

But always there was one of them with something worth the view.

For snacks we had potato chips, that tasted like a chip

And it you wanted flavor, there was Lipton’s onion dip!

Remember when the doctor used to be a family friend

And didn’t need insurance, or a lawyer to defend?

The way that he took care of you, or what he had to do

Because he took an oath and strived to do the best for you!

Remember going to the store, and shopping casually

and when you went to pay for it, you used your own money?

Nothing that you had to swipe or punch in some amount

And remember when the cashier person had to really count?

There was a time when just one glance was all it would take

And you would know the kind of car, the model and the make.

They didn’t look like turtles, trying to squeeze out every mile

They were streamlined, white walls, fins–and really had some style!

One time the music that you played whenever you would jive

Was from a vinyl, big-holed record, called a forty-five!

The record player had a post, to keep them all in line

And then the records would drop down, and play one at a time!

This life seemed so much easier, slower in some ways.

I love the new technology, but I sure do miss those days!

So time moves on, and so do we, and nothing stays the same

But I sure love to reminisce and walk down memory lane!

Random:  

You may have seen this commercial on television, but I hadn’t seen it until our daughter sent it to me in an email.

She said it made her think of me.

I laughed when I watched it because it made me think of my three old red hens, aka ‘the girls’.  They are allowed to free-range, these days, and they think they are family members!  It’s not uncommon for one of them to hop up on our laps while we’re relaxing in the yard.  They follow us all around the yard, too. in search of a treat!  One hen has even learned how to slip past the baby gate we use to keep them off of our front porch!  Often, we’ll find her waiting for us on the porch–along with about four of our cats!  I could totally see this hen traveling like the hen in the commercial 🙂

Published in: on April 8, 2015 at 7:40 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/04/08/the-wonderful-wednesday-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh, cell phone users in restaurants. YES! Oh, I saw a young couple, obviously dating, sitting on the same side of a booth in a restaurant once. They were both head down, texting up a storm. We watched them wondering why even go out together if they were going to ignore each other. That’s when my husband said, “look, I think they are texting each other”. Sure enough, I think they were! What?

    And, no they weren’t deaf. They would speak to the waitstaff, to a friend that passed by their table, so they could hear and speak quite well.

  2. GEICO has the best commercials! Thanks for this one. :-). Your hens sound like so much fun. I always thought a lap chicken would be nice, but not while our German Shepherd was still with us. Maybe now. Enjoyed your post!

  3. They definitely still make PBR! It has become the beer of choice for hipsters; they brought it back into style. And it’s just… ok.

  4. Love, love. love the poem you shared! Charleston is wonderful…hubby and I are going there in Nov. for his college reunion at The Citadel.

  5. I have no advice on how to blog with a hubs at home : ) I’m still figuring that out myself! I’ll keep ya posted-ha! I love the chicken ad too…makes me smile.

  6. Loved the poem and your story about your hens. Kids in restaurants depends on the kids, what type of eatery and attentive parents. For years we went out to breakfast with the kids as the food came fast. Mr BC or I would take them for a walk if they acted up. They eventually learned to be taken somewhere nice and how to behave. Kids are different now days.

  7. My husband can’t stand the smell of beer. He thinks it is so gross. I think it’s kind of funny 😉 That is a great poem. Things were much simpler in so many ways.

  8. In answer to your question, no you can not taste the beer in the beer bread!

    Baskets are great and makes things look organized. True, money doesn’t go far at all these days. I forgot about the cell phones in restaurants, your so right. I love the poem and I still make Lipton’s Onion Dip!

  9. I like the poem.
    Mama Bear

  10. I like the poem in #7.
    There were fewer electronic devices, and the family members felt more connected.

  11. Thanks for a wonderful post. I have been missing these visits via your reflections. My laptop is being a little more cooperative today than it has in the past month, thankfully.

  12. Well, I think of you every time I see that commercial! Seriously, I do!!

    I enjoyed reading the poem. I’m not much into poetry, but enjoyed the sentiment in this one! Another fun Hodgepodge!

  13. You have excellent tastes in music. It looks like you and Ed are settling into retirement. Hang in there! As always, thanks for your visit and comment on my blog page.


Leave a Reply

