Friday Fragments…

Half-Past Kissin' Time

In an effort to get back into blogging on a more regular basis, I’m posting some Friday Fragments and linking them up @ Half-Past Kissin’ Time.  It feels good to get back into a ‘somewhat’ normal routine again.  Posting with a bad back and a retired hubby around is difficult, y’all!

I ventured out of the house on a short trip to the grocery store, with Ed, on Monday.  (I’ve been pretty much housebound since my back messed up.)  Never, in my wildest dreams, did I think I’d be so happy to visit the local grocery store!  Walking was still painful, so my visit was short, but it was great to get out and about a bit–and we have plenty of food in the house now!

I also helped cook supper on Monday night.  I had to sit in a kitchen chair to finish up, but, with Ed’s help, I made it. We cooked fresh squash from our garden, and, as always, they were so good!  Home-grown veggies always taste the best.

On Tuesday, we lost another one of our ‘original’ flock of six red hens.  Now we’re down to just two.  Sick sister, as I called her, had been ailing for a while. She’d get low, then she’d rally for a few days.  I’m not sure, but from what I’ve read, I think she may have been suffering from ovarian cancer, a disease her breed (Red Star) is known to have. I take comfort in knowing she had a good life.  She enjoyed the last several months of free ranging. We still have seven young hens in our new flock.  Our egg count topped 500, today–and that’s just since January!

On Tuesday night, we received some of the ‘typhoon-like’ weather that had been predicted for Wednesday.  The wind and rain woke me up during the night.  We woke up to find our house surrounded by water.  The garden was  surrounded, as well.  Fortunately, Ed had dug a long ditch at the end of the garden rows, so he was able to open up the rows, and drain the majority of the water out of the garden.  It’s too early to tell how much damage was done to the plants while they sat in water overnight.  We’ve gotten over six inches of rain during the past week!

On Wednesday, I drove my car for the first time in over three weeks.  I drove myself to the hair dresser’s.  It was time for a haircut, and I was more than ready!  I had over an inch cut off, in an effort to get rid of some of my old hair color, and to make my hair easier to take care of.  The salt and pepper look is quickly taking over my hair, but, you know, I kind of like it!

The weather turned unseasonably cool, on Wednesday.  I’d just thrown my flannel shirt in the dirty clothes hamper (I use it for a jacket when I do outside chores) because I thought I was finished with it until fall.  Surprise!  I had to dig it back out, on Wednesday morning–and turn the heat back on!  What is up with this weather???

After the crazy month of April, I’m more than happy to say hello to the month of May!  Hopefully, life here will soon settle back into a normal state–with no mold or termite issues, no dealing with government agencies, and no more back aches!  Normal sounds very good, right about now.

Happy May Day!

 

 

Published in: on May 1, 2015 at 7:30 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/05/01/friday-fragments-21/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So sorry to hear about your back problems. Missed your blogging however I too have taken a short time off as well.

  2. Happy May indeed! This is the time of the year when my flannel shirts come out of the closet. When it’s too warm for a sweatshirt I use them as a light sweater until it’s time for – yippee! -tees and tanks

  3. Kathy, I’m glad you were able to get out for a bit, and getting your hair done had to feel good – always does to me! Your rain storm was really serious! Hope the garden is okay. Sorry you lost another hen. How did they handle all the rain and wind? I know you close them up at night, but it must get scary for them. 500 eggs! amazing! That’s more than 10 dozen a month, if I did the math correctly! Wow!!

  4. It is always a treat to get out after being cooped up in the house for awhile. Glad you were able to do just that. Hope your back gets better really soon.

  5. Hoping for a back-to-normal May for you! Yikes, that’s a lot of rain. Hopefully your garden plants will survive. Sorry to hear that you lost another hen.

  6. Oh, no! Sorry to hear your back is ailing you! I hope you feel better soon! It sounds like it’s been pretty stressful out your way lately; here’s hoping everything picks up soon! Thanks for linking up 🙂


Leave a Reply

