‘Mother, May I’… Present To You The Hodgepodge?

The underlying theme of today’s hodgepodge brought the old childhood game, ‘Mother, May I’ to mind, which prompted my title.  Just thought you might like to know.  In these modern times, I can’t help but wonder if anyone still plays ‘Mother, May I’?

Anyway, it’s good to have The Hodgepodge back, after last week’s hiatus, so thanks to our hostess, Joyce for hosting.  Joyce, it’s good to have you and The Hodgepodge back!

1. What’s a phrase your mother often said to you? If you’re a parent, is this something you now say to your own children?

The years spent with my mother were so long ago, my memories have faded somewhat, but one particular phrase my mother used that stuck with me through the years is “They don’t have any scruples.”  When things would go awry between me and someone else,  during those turbulent teen years, mama would often say, “They just don’t have any scruples.”  I’d never heard the word “scruples” before, and it struck me funny when mama used it.

I can’t say I’ve ever used this particular phrase, to my children or anyone else, other than relating it in this story about mama.

2. What is a scent you associate with your mother or your childhood home?

I’ll always associate the scent of Avon with mama.  Mama loved  Avon products, and even sold them for a brief period of time.  Mama always used Avon perfume, and had several decorative decanters–some of which we still have.  Those pictured below are not among our collection, but Mama had some of them.

il_fullxfull.139677778

photo via Google

3. What’s an activity you remember always doing with your mother (or someone who was a mother figure in your life)?

Things that stand out in my mind are: the ‘girl talks’ we had, coloring Easter eggs together, and shelling peas or butter beans together during the summer.

4. Flared jeans, maxi dresses, and jumpsuits are 70’s fashion trends back this spring. Are you on board? Which trend would you be most inclined to try? For the men…flared corduroys, wide-collared shirts, and floral prints…what say you?

Oh, how I remember the fashion trends from the 70’s!  I could never wear those jumpsuits, back in the day, because their straddles were never long enough to fit me, but you can “bet your sweet bippy” I wore my fair share of flared jeans in the 70’s!  These days, I’d only wear the maxi dress, and only around the house!

As for the 70’s men’s fashions, Ed had a couple of pairs of flared corduroys, and, at least, one wide collared shirt.  I can’t say that I ever remember seeing him in a floral print though.  These days, I don’t think Ed would be caught dead in any of the fashion trends!

Below is a blast from the past.  Kathy and Ed in our 70’s attire.  Ha!

3-2-2011 1;30;10 PM Kathy's teen years5

Ed in Okinawa 1970 thru 72 (or just before leaving)pt 29

5. May 6th is Teacher Appreciation Day and also Nurse Appreciation Day. Is there a nurse or teacher you have especially appreciated along the way? Tell us why?

There are two nurses who are especially near and dear to my heart.  The first is my mother-in-law, who’s now deceased.  She was an office nurse, and worked in local doctor’s offices for many years, standing on her feet all day, making sure sick people were taken care of. Her working hours were not set in stone.  She went to work mid-morning, and got off after the last patient had been seen, which was often as late as 7 p.m.  She truly loved her job, and didn’t give it up until she was in her 70’s.

10-15-2011 1;33;37 PM5

The other nurse who’s special to me is my daughter-in-law, Jennifer.  Jennifer became an RN just over five years ago. She has established (and excelled at) her nursing career– in a large, over-crowded, under-staffed, hospital–in the midst of losing her mama, battling cervical cancer, and carrying a high-risk pregnancy, I might add.  Jennifer works long, hard hours, in addition to caring for her family.  Many times her twelve-hour (or more) nursing shifts have fallen on weekends and holidays.  Jennifer takes her job very seriously, and often brings the worries of the day home with her.  I tip my hat to Jennifer for what she does, and am proud of all she’s accomplished in such a short time.

10424295_10203371354797731_7932371723829080012_n

6. If I came by your house, what would I find on your frig door?

You’ll find several Shutterfly magnetic photo magnets on the front of my fridge, a sheet of paper tallying my ‘egg count’, and a small copy of a poem about grandparents, that my daughter gave me.

7. Princess Charlotte Elizabeth Diana made her royal entrance on Saturday, May 2nd. On a scale of 1-10, how much attention did you give to all the news coverage? 1=Who’s Charlotte? 10=sat glued to the telly, cuppa in hand.

Actually, I read about the birth on the internet.  I guess I’d have to give myself about a 2 or 3 on this one. I  know who Charlotte is–and I saw a brief news clip, of the couple taking Charlotte home, but I didn’t watch any of the news coverage before, or after the birth.

Random:

Today I’d like to take this opportunity to wish our oldest son, Brett, and his wife, Christina, a very happy wedding anniversary.  The years are flying by, and it’s already been nine years since the two of them ‘tied the knot’.

First there were two…

000_0037_0001a

May 2006 (rehearsal dinner)

but soon there were two more, when the Lord blessed this couple with two precious little boys 🙂

412

April 2015 (Easter Sunday)

Wishing them many more  happy years together!

Published in: on May 6, 2015 at 7:00 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/05/06/mother-may-i-present-to-you-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy anniversary to your son and DiL! They made a lovely family! It was a fun Hodgepodge today (well, it always is) and I enjoyed your answers! Love the 70s photo of you two!!

  2. Nurses are special people for sure. Happy Anniversary to your ‘kids’ and Happy Mother’s Day to you!

  3. Ah, those Avon containers take me back to my grandma’s house. She was an Avon lady and had them everywhere! I loved her little lipstick samples. She always gave me a couple when I went to visit. It was very exciting for a little girl! Love your family photos, though I have no desire to go back to the 70s. lol Happy Anniversary to your son and his wife. Lovely couple!

  4. I remember play “Mother May I” , it was fun! Sweet memories of you and your mother. I remember those Avon scents. Happy Anniversary to Brett and Christina.

  5. Nice memories and lovely pics of your family.

  6. Wow what a beautiful family you have. I totally forgot about Mother May I. We played that game as well but not very often. Happy Anniversary to your son and family. I am going to have copy your picture of the AVON Perfume Bottles. I sell AVON and tonight we are doing a Fragrance class. Pretty neat that you happen to have this on your blog on this day.

    Thanks for sharing.
    @TrinaO’Neil from
    Walking My Own Path

  7. Love the picture of you & Ed!!!
    Happy Anniversary to your son & DIL!

  8. Brett, Christina and the boys are a fine looking family. You are blessed to have two grandsons. I enjoyed reading your hodgepodge answers.Also, thanks for stopping by my blog post and leaving a comment.


Leave a Reply

