Friday Fragments…

Half-Past Kissin' Time

Another week has gone by in a blur.  Time is passing so quickly, the days seem to all run together.  Lately, things are crazy, and it feels like life is running fast forward.  I’m pausing long enough to post and link up with Mrs. Fours at Half-Past Kissin’ Time.

~~~~~~~~

On Monday, the exterminators came.  They were supposed to treat our house for termites, and put down a plastic moisture barrier underneath the house, afterward.  They stayed two hours, sprayed under our house, then left, saying they wouldn’t have time to finish putting the moisture barrier down, so they would come back.  We haven’t heard from them since.

~~~~~~~~

The good news is we haven’t paid the exterminators yet, and they didn’t find any termites under the house (only one place where they’d been)!  The bad news is while they were under our house, they did find a broken drain line (apparently caused by the guy who sprayed insulation under our house, last week).  For over a week our bathroom sink had been draining underneath our house!  Ed had to crawl under the house and get the pipe hooked back into place.  We’re now running a fan and trying to dry things out before the exterminators return.

~~~~~~~~

On Monday, I got a letter in the mail, from the insurance marketplace, telling me they’d received all of my financial information and everything had been approved.  I’d had to send via registered mail–twice.  On Wednesday, I got an email from them telling me they needed more information!  What’s up with that?

~~~~~~~~

On Tuesday we had two different people come out to give us estimates for putting some ‘stucco’ underpinning around the bottom of our house.  One said he’d have to get back with us, the other told Ed, “It’s easy to do.  You could do it yourself”, then he left.  What the heck?  It’s Friday and we still haven’t heard back from either person.  Ed’s been watching ‘do it yourself’ videos on YouTube…

~~~~~~~~

My back is getting better, but it’s been improving so slowly, it’s been hard to notice. Then, on Tuesday, I was able to actually cook a meal (standing up), make the bed, clean the bathroom, and dust the entire living room.  That’s more than I’ve been able to do in an entire month!  Three weeks ago I was using a walker to get around.

~~~~~~~~

On Thursday, Ed got a bill from Medicare Part B for over $500!  They’re supposed to be taking a monthly premium out of his Social Security check–if and when he ever gets one.  Guess what?  We’ll be making another trip to the Social Security Administration office today!

~~~~~~~~

I actually caught Ed singing Que Sera Sera this week. In case you don’t remember that oldie, but goody, by Doris Day, here’s part of the lyrics:

Que sera, sera
Whatever will be, will be
The future’s not ours to see
Que sera, sera
What will be, will be

I guess that’s a good way to look at things.  Especially in these crazy times!

~~~~~~~~

Our youngest son and his wife have had an interesting week concerning the showing of their house.  It’s been on the market a little over a week.  Of course, they are having to keep it ‘showcase ready’, which is no easy task with an 18 month old little boy in the house!  They’ve had several showings in the past few days, and the show times aren’t always convenient.  As if all of that’s not enough, this week,  a deranged woman suddenly started calling the realtor and harassing her about the sale of our son’s house–not once, but several times!

~~~~~~~~

I can’t help but wonder if my readers get tired of hearing about our crazy lives.  It’s all true.  Nobody could make this stuff up!  When Ed and I planned for retirement, we didn’t plan for all of these complications.

~~~~~~~~

After the crazy week we’ve had, I went outside, late Thursday afternoon.  I looked up, and immediately realized the Lord was sending us a sign– a beautiful rainbow directly over our house!  I quickly ran inside and grabbed my camera.

100_5040

Things are about to get better.  I just know it in my heart!  Have a great weekend, y’all.

Published in: on May 8, 2015 at 7:00 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/05/08/friday-fragments-22/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You’re right … no one could make that all up. Praying that things will get better for you guys.

  2. Kathy, you two have certainly had some interesting times these past weeks!! I know I’m not tired of hearing about it, so keep posting! I love seeing how you tackle your challenges and keep your faith and positive attitude. Love that hubby was singing ‘what will be will be”…he is right! Sending hugs!

  3. I’ll never understand where all those repair guys go when they disappear into thin air, It happens everywhere – north, south, east, west. maybe they’re abducted by aliens!

  4. Wow! It’s no wonder that the week rushed by you. That is a lot!
    I wish you well with all the SS, Medicare, and other insurance red tape. My hubby just retired from US Dept of Defense and we have had to jump through a lot of those hoops, too, so I understand.
    Congrats on the improvement in your back. I think the rainbow is a hint of good things to come.
    🙂
    Traci

  5. Reading about your life only makes me realize I am not alone on this crazy ride. I have a pelvic problem that’s causing my sciatic nerve to go crazy. Back pain is definitely an angry pain. I hope you continue to improve.
    Your message from God couldn’t be any brighter than that. Better days are coming your way.
    Have a blessed weekend.


Leave a Reply

