The Wednesday Hodgepodge…

Thank goodness, today’s Hodgepodge questions are short, and don’t require a lot of thought on my part.  Otherwise, I’m just not sure I could deal with it today.

Life continues to throw unexpected curve balls our way, and it’s just about to get the best of me.  The latest one?  Our previous insurance refuses to pay for mine and Ed’s March lab work because of the lab the doctor’s office sent it to. We’ve used the same doctor, for years, along with the same insurance, and, as far as I know, I’ve used this lab before and have never had an issue–until now. Total cost for both of our bills?  Over $900.  Ouch.

Anyway, thanks to Joyce for continuing to host The Hodgepodge, even in the midst of all that she has going on!  God bless you, Joyce 🙂

Here are today’s questions:

1. When is your next big deadline? What’s it for?

We don’t have a deadline for anything, but we’re anxiously awaiting the arrival of Ed’s first Social Security check on the third week of next month.  It’s been a long time coming (and we’ll need it to help pay thosee ridiculous lab bills!)

2. May is National Barbecue Month. Do you prefer cooking indoors or out? What’s the best thing about a barbecue? What’s the last thing you cooked on an outdoor grill?

I prefer cooking outdoors, because Ed does all of the cooking on the grill!  (However, I can make some pretty good Crock Pot Barbecue indoors.)  The best thing about a barbecue is eating it with family or friends (besides the taste of the food, of course!)  The last food we cooked on our outdoor grill was hot dogs.

3. What is one thing on your “never again” list?

I can absolutely say, without a doubt, that I will never again ride a motorcycle. Besides, I couldn’t hike my leg over the seat, even if I wanted to!

4. What’s something that annoys you about people your own age? Something you love about your generation?

I can’t think of anything about people my age that annoys me, unless it’s the fact that we’re getting old!

I think the thing I love about my generation is the era we grew up in.  Times were much simpler back then!  People still treated each other with respect, the music and cars were great, and it was a lot easier to be prosperous than it is these days.

5. Lilac, iris, hyacinth, pansy…your favorite purple flower?

Iris 12f

Iris.  I can’t grow them, but I love them.

6. What’s a song that always calms you down?

I can’t think of one particular song that calms me, but this CD always does the trick!  I bought it for our first grandchild, then quickly discovered how soothing the music was.

17038418177617p7. What’s the last thing you donated?

I donated some clothing and a few odds-n-ends to Goodwill, a couple of months ago.

Random:

Apparently, the love of gardening runs in the family.

Here are some pictures of our two oldest grandsons, along with their little vegetable garden!  (I borrowed them from their mom’s Facebook page)

11001839_10152739419941428_6839533174049401731_n
11188202_10152739419716428_2077669121925088038_n

11230229_10152739420041428_4575393670021516963_n

 

11200589_10152739420161428_1260598252896294336_n

 Absolutely adorable–our little boys and their garden!

Published in: on May 13, 2015 at 6:43 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/05/13/the-wednesday-hodgepodge-9/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yes, I agree, times were much simpler when we were younger. I would definitely contest that lab bill – $900, yikes!

  2. What a sweet garden and picture. I hope they get lots of satisfaction from growing their own veggies!

  3. Love the garden idea for your grands! What fun! Wow…a $900 medical bill is outrageous! So sorry for what you’re having to go through.

  4. I too wouldn’t trade growing up in the ’50s/’60s for any other era – past or future!

  5. Love the boys’ garden- it’s so cute! Sorry about your insurance problems. I’ve been having some trying to get a medication renewed for my mil. She’s been on it for years and it 88 so it’s probably not a good idea to switch her meds- ugh!

  6. Great pics of your grandsons. I am so glad we have our NHS the prospect of bills like that must be a constant worry.

  7. Iris are lovely! I don’t grow any either. My mother-in-law however has hundreds of them. So pretty when they’re all blooming.

  8. Hooray for those checks. I started collecting mine almost two years ago when I turned 62 and we are not touching it yet. Mark will be working a few more years but I’m trying to talk him into retiring at 65!
    I love the boys garden, how exiting for them.

  9. Oh, gosh, how cute are those little boys and their garden labels!


Leave a Reply

