Good News, Bad News…

Ed and I have been on somewhat of a roll, lately, having lots of unexpected issues to deal with.  The truth is, it almost got the best of me, but I’m turning over a new leaf, and gaining some new perspective.  There’s always going to be bad news, but there’s always some good news, too.

For instance:

The bad news is, last week, I felt the need to take a little hiatus from the computer.  I just wasn’t in the mood for reading or writing.  I fell into a bit of a ‘funk’, if you know what I mean.  The good news is I’m feeling more creative, this week, after taking some time off.

The good news is, while taking a hiatus from the computer, Ed and I took a little road trip, which eventually took us for a little visit to St. Simon’s Island.  It was totally unplanned and wonderful!

100_3782

The weather was nice, the crowds were small, and sitting there under the shade of our favorite oak tree was just what I needed to soothe my weary soul.  The bad news is, we had to come back home at the end of the day.  Sigh.

The good news is, I recently learned that stretching exercises are good medicine for sciatica. (Thanks to blog friend, Mary @ Life in a Small Town, for this tip!)  Today, my back is feeling better, and my leg isn’t nearly as numb as it has been.  The bad news is, I now have what feels like a urinary tract infection, but I’m not quite sure what it is. (drinking lots of water, for now)

The bad news is, I had to miss our oldest grandson’s Kindergarten graduation, on Friday night, because I couldn’t stay out of the bathroom.  The good news is both daughter-in-laws took pictures, so I got to see how everything looked.

photo (14)

Grandson, Caden

The bad news is, I sat home, sad and alone, while everyone else attended Caden’s kindergarten graduation.  The good news is the entire family came over to our house, immediately after the program was over (including Brad, Jennifer, and Evan, who came from out-of-town for the graduation.)!

The bad news is, I didn’t get nearly enough sleep on Friday night.  The good news is, I stayed up late talking to Jennifer and Brad because they decided to spend the night with us!  Sometimes, unplanned visits are the best 🙂

The bad news is, Brad, Jennifer, and Evan had to go back home early on Saturday morning because they had plans.  The good news is our daughter and her husband (who’s back home now, thank goodness) hosted a cook out for the rest of us on Saturday night!  Does it get any better than grilled burgers and sitting around a fire pit with family?  I think not!

100_4485

Our next-to-the-youngest grandson, Chase, ( brother to Caden) said he wanted to play t-ball, this year.  The bad news is, he changed his mind, once he got to the ball field.  He never once left the dugout, didn’t want anything to do with any of it.  They say “a picture is worth a thousand words.”  One look at Chase’s face and you can see how thrilled he was with t-ball.

11202952_10152742954821428_4697885651052958748_n

Grandson, Chase

There’s good news, Chase!  T-ball season is now over.

Granddaughter, Madison, broke her arm on Easter Sunday, and had to wear a cast for six weeks.  The good news is, she’s going back to the orthopedist, today, and should be able to throw her cast away, after that!

100_5006

Some might say, the bad news is, the weekend is over and it’s Monday morning.  I say, the good news is, it doesn’t matter–we’re retired!  Let a new week of adventures begin.

Published in: on May 18, 2015 at 7:01 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/05/18/good-news-bad-news/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m so glad to see that you finally got over to SSI. Time at the beach is the perfect solution to a funk, or just about any other ailment. If not, it at least soothes the spirit which is just as important. 😉

  2. It does help to sit back sometimes and see the whole picture, and if we’re lucky we’ll discover that there are rays of light in the darkness or else we wouldn’t be able to see at all, would we? Peace.

  3. I’m sooo glad the exercises are helping. I don’t think I’ve ever hurt as bad as I did when I had that bout!!!
    Sometimes just getting away is the best medicine!!!

  4. I know exactly what you mean, I get in funks often. Looks like a nice getaway for the day. Glad your back is better but so sorry about your infection. Sorry you missed the graduation. Love the sad face on Chase! I feel like I just read about her arm and here it is all healed already. Hoping more good comes your way…..

  5. I’m catching up on blogs, after being on vacation last week. Good to get all your news, but bad that I am so far behind!! 🙂

    Love the photos! Hope your UTI is gone. They are miserable!


Leave a Reply

