A Few Friday Fragments…

Half-Past Kissin' Time

It’s the end of another exhausting week, and time to share little bits and pieces of it through Friday Fragments.  Thanks to Mrs. Fours @ Half-Past Kissin’ Time for hosting, and giving us “Fragmented People” a place to link up!  Here we go.

While it hasn’t been a great week, it’s been one of the best weeks Ed and I have had in quite a while.  Perhaps we’re just becoming accustomed to things going wrong!  We’ve certainly had lots of practice with that.  Medicare Part B refusing to pay Ed’s first claim, this week?  No problem.  We’re used to such things.

The temperatures here have been brutal, this week.  The highs have been into the 90’s every day.  Ed has braved the heat each day, as he attempts to put new underpinning around our house.  It’s what you do when the workmen you call for estimates don’t bother to call you back!  He  has one side almost finished.  A quote comes to mind, “That which does not kill you, will make you stronger.”  I hope this home improvement project only makes Ed stronger.

I’m now entering the seventh week since my attack of sciatica.  Each week seems to get a little better.  My back hasn’t hurt in several days, nor has my leg.  Now, if only the numbness in my left leg would disappear. It comes and goes, but at least I can walk without much discomfort now.  It’s amazing the things we take for granted, until we suddenly can’t do them!

My daughter and I spent the better part of Thursday morning peeling and chopping onions.  She’d been given a 50 pound bag of Sweet Vidalia Onions!  We peeled and chopped most of them, bagged them, and put them into our freezers.  They come in very handy for cooking.  If you haven’t tried sweet onions, you’re missing a treat.  Some folks eat them like apples…but I’m not one of them!  My hands may be smelling like onions for quite a while.

I mentioned, on Wednesday, about our experiences with the “Broody Hen”(she wanted to sit on the eggs and hatch chicks, but we didn’t want her to.) We gave her a cold water bath, one day, then put her in solitary confinement the following day. (With a fan blowing on her to keep her cool, because cooling a broody hen off is supposed to break the broody cycle.)  I’m happy to report that “Broody Hen” is now back with her sister hens–and she isn’t spending all day on the nest!  I guess the treatment worked!

After our garden nearly drowned in April, we’re running ourselves ragged trying to keep it watered in May.  Ed moves the sprinkler several times a day.  We haven’t had any rain in quite a while, and it’s very dry–everywhere except under our house!  We’re still fighting the problem of high humidity under there.  Go figure!

Even with the  hot, dry, weather, we’ve been able to enjoy fresh vegetables from our garden, daily.  We’ve enjoyed fresh carrots, squash, peas, cabbage, lettuce, cucumbers, and peppers, so far.  Hopefully, we can add green beans and new potatoes to the list, soon.

We got a call from our youngest son, who lives in another town, this week.  It was good news!  He and his wife have had their house up for sale for three weeks, and have been going crazy with all of the “showings”.  They had sixteen showings within sixteen days!  On Tuesday, a couple finally made them an offer!  Brad and Jennifer countered their offer, and the couple accepted.  Their house is now under contract.  I’m so happy for them–and us!  They plan to move back here as soon as their house is sold.

School is out for the summer, here.  Thursday was the last day of public school.  The class of 2015 will graduate tonight.  Several of the graduating students are near and dear to my heart, and have been since they were in first grade, when I was working as a paraprofessional.  I volunteered to tutor one little girl, the summer after she finished up first grade, because she was having some difficulty with reading.  I knew she could be successful with a little extra work, so I offered to help.  Chasiti came to my house each week, that summer, and we sat at my kitchen table and practiced reading skills.  I’m proud to be able to say, Chasiti is going to be an honor graduate tonight!

That’s about it for this week’s edition of Friday Fragments.  I hope everyone has a safe and happy Memorial Day weekend.  We don’t have any elaborate plans, just some good food and family fun, at home.  It’s hard to beat that–unless it’s a trip to a beach somewhere!

Published in: on May 22, 2015 at 7:17 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/05/22/a-few-friday-fragments-11/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like you’ve been busy. I’m glad to read some good news (broody hen issue resolved, improvement on your sciatica, son and family moving back) … because you’re certainly “due” some good news.

  2. That’s a lot of onion. Didn’t know you could freeze them. Glad Broody Hen is doing better. Brad and family are moving back, how awesome is that!!!! Have a nice weekend.

  3. Hope it cools down for you so you can enjoy the holiday weekend. New York is still waiting for spring. 45 degreesthe last two nights and same is expected for tonight although next week holds the promise of 80s – unless it changes. Have a good one!

  4. I never thought of freezing onions. What a great, time saving idea!
    Why do I feel sorry for the hen that wants babies.
    Yikes, you are in the 90’s already. We are still dealing with the 50’s. I am looking forward to the 70’s but we will likely go right to the 90’s too.
    I hope next week is even better!

  5. Sending good vibes your way and hoping the weeks get better. 90 degrees! I would want a trip to the beach with weather like that.
    I do believe my chest puffed up with a little of the pride that came through strong and clear in your fragment about Chasiti. Congrats to the grad and to you for seeing her potential all those years ago.


Leave a Reply

