The First Hodgepodge Of Summer…

Summer is ‘officially’ here, even though the temperatures of the past two weeks have made it seem to have arrived early!  Yesterday was the first break we’ve had in our unseasonably high temps, but they’re predicted to be high again today 😦  So, I’m going to “cool my heels” by joining in The Hodgepodge!  As always, thanks to our gracious hostess, Joyce, for continuing to host this fun meme, especially now!

1. June 23rd is National Pink Day. What’s your favorite something pink?

My favorite ‘something pink’ could be any one of three things… the pink, hand-painted, ceramic ‘what not’ that a friend made for me after I gave birth to my daughter (36 years ago), a pink sleeveless top that I like to wear in summer,  or the pink (mauve) chair I recently borrowed from Ed’s mom’s house (to sit in after my back trouble began).

2. What did you enjoy most about gym class when you were in school? How about the least?

I enjoyed nothing about gym class when I was in school!  I hated everything about it–the exercises, the games, and, worst of all, having to put back on my school clothes after getting all hot and sweaty.  (We didn’t have showers.)

3. What memory is brought to mind by the smell of roses?

The smell of roses always reminds me of a funeral home, but I love them anyway.

4. Do you prefer to read or write?

That’s a tough question, and it really depends on what day it is!  Most days I prefer reading over writing, but I do enjoy blogging a lot!

5. Sam Keen is quoted as saying, ‘Deep summer is when laziness finds respectability.’ Would you agree? Is laziness ever respectable? How will you be lazy this summer?

Yes, I agree.  I think everyone needs a chance to relax, sometimes, and I don’t really consider it being lazy.  I consider it resting my body and soul.  My laziest days are spent lounging under my favorite oak tree on St. Simon’s Island, or under the Magnolia tree in our front yard, sometimes with a book or magazine, but always with someone else to talk to!

6. The Florida Keys, Disney World, or a resort somewhere on the Gulf Coast…which Florida destination would you choose (and why) if the trip were today?

Today, I think I’d choose a resort on the Gulf Coast, simply because it would be a little closer than traveling all the way down to the Florida Keys…  I could use a little more beach therapy, right about now.

7. What question do you hate to answer?

These days, I hate to answer any question that requires ‘deep thinking’.  My brain is tired and foggy from a lack of hormones.  It’s been a rough journey, giving up HRT after 15 years…

Random:

100_5114

the last of our 2015 garden (corn, flowers, and peas)

Thankfully, the gardening season of 2015 is almost at a close.  It’s been a difficult growing and harvesting season, for a number of reasons–first too much rain, then not enough rain, then not enough garden helpers!  (Ed had to hoe and harvest alone, this year.)  By last Sunday, Ed’s back was beginning to give out, too… We put up the last of our peas and corn, this week.  In spite of all of our troubles, we managed to can enough food to last until next year, and probably a little beyond.  Praise the Lord!

100_5126

We still have to ‘can’ our tomatoes, but, after that, we’ll be finished.  Hopefully, I can still enjoy the row of beautiful zinnias and sunflowers, in the garden, for a while longer.  I love having fresh bouquets of flowers to enjoy, each day!

100_5110
garden flowers – 2015

Published in: on June 24, 2015 at 7:19 am  Comments (14)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/06/24/the-first-hodgepodge-of-summer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Enjoyed reading your answers and seeing your photos. Visiting from the Hodgepodge link-up. And now I’m off to find out where St. Simon’s Island is!

  2. I love your zinnias! They’re such a pretty flower : ) Enjoy your day and stay cool!

  3. It must be wonderful to have that much produce. My granny used to make a delicious roasted tomato sauce, with garlic and onions from scratch. I’ve attempted but keep running out of tomatoes! Must be nice to go outside to pick some more.

  4. Enjoy the flowers while you can and the relaxing time. Looks like you’ve had a lot of hard work getting everything harvested and canned.

  5. A magnolia tree nap sounds amazing! Have a good week!

  6. Look at all those tomatoes! So pretty. And yes, I could use some beach therapy too.

  7. That is an impressive garden! Sitting under a magnolia tree sounds so relaxing. Enjoy 🙂

  8. Oh my! I loved your answers and your photos. What beautiful zinnias and vegetables. I planted zinnias this year instead of lantanas and they were saturated with the rain so now I have to replace them. We saw so many magnolia trees on our trip in Louisiana and Mississippi. I would love having a huge magnolia in my yard to sit under and visit with a friend.
    I guess now I should be grateful our school did have showers. lol.

  9. What beautiful flowers and produce. I admire gardeners who put up their labored-for produce. I was never that domestic for some reason and only had a small enough garden that we could use on a daily basis. That is now a distant memory as we now live in a garden home with a small yard. But we do still love fresh veggies when we can get them.

  10. Your garden is doing beautifully. Such pretty zinnias growing amongst the veggies. As for the smell of roses reminding you of a funeral home. Carnations always did that for me. Guess it’s just a personal thing.

  11. Those lovely tomatoes make my mouth water!! And the green ones remind me of my mom’s green tomato relish, which was absolutely delicious with roast beef. I tried making it once and it just was not the same. It was okay, but it wasn’t mom’s. Sigh. I enjoyed reading your Hodgepodge and chuckle that we all hated gym for the same reasons!

  12. Oh wow! Your garden is already almost over?! Here it’s just in the beginning stages. tomatoes usually don’t begin ripening until sometime in August.

  13. A little beach therapy is always in order, don’t you think? 😉 I didn’t realize that your garden season ended so early (or at least it feels like it’s so early considering that here in southwestern Illinois, we’re still waiting for things to ripen up enough to pick).

  14. Yes funeral homes usually smell of roses or lily’s. Your garden is amazing and you have harvested so many awesome things!


Leave a Reply

