The Wednesday Hodgepodge…

1. When did you last ‘swim against the tide’? Explain.

I’ve felt as if I’ve been swimming against the tide for the past three months.  That’s when this whole issue with my back first started.  One week it seems like I’m making progress[with the sciatica], and may possibly reach the shoreline.  Then another wave comes and pulls me back out to the sea [of pain] again.

2. What’s the last self-help or self-improvement book you read?

It’s been a long time since I’ve read a self-improvement book, but it was something by Dr. Phil McGraw.  I remember this because I remember my oldest son, Brett, telling me that people didn’t need to be reading “Dr. Phil”, for self-help,  they need to be reading the Bible, and you know what?  He was right.

3“Tolerance is a tremendous virtue, but the immediate neighbors of tolerance are apathy and weakness.” (Sir James Goldsmith) 

Agree or disagree? Discuss. With civility please, because I think we have a good thing going in our very diverse (in geography, age, religion, political persuasion, ethnicity, marital status, upbringing, and cooking abilities) neighborhood here on This Side of the Pond.

I don’t agree with the first part of this quote, but I definitely agree with the last part.  As our society [and our country] becomes tolerant of more and more things, it’s also gaining a lot more apathy and weakness in the process.  I’ll keep the rest of my thoughts about tolerance to myself, but I think you have a good idea where I stand.

4. What is one of your most vivid memories of the kitchen from your childhood?

I was just talking about this to my daughter, the other day!  My most vivid kitchen memory is the mess my mother made when she cooked a meal, because she usually left it for me to clean up (during my teen years).  I believe that woman dirtied every dish in the kitchen whenever she cooked!

5. How did/do your own children’s summers compare with your summers as a child? If you’re not a parent, answer as it relates to what you’ve observed about the current generation of children vs. your own childhood.

My children’s summers were quite different than my own.  My parents never took vacations in the summer, and we rarely went anywhere on weekends.  During the summer, I stayed at home, from age eleven on,  while my parents worked.  I was given a list of chores to do while they were gone.  I can count, on one hand, the number of fun activities I did during the summer.

I was always home with our children during the summers.  We attended the summer activities at the library, each week.  We always went on two vacations every summer, and often went on weekend camping trips, as well.

As our family grew older, we stopped camping, and put in a swimming pool, plus added satellite television.  We continued to take summer  trips, they just weren’t as long or as often.

6. Tell us what body of water you would most like to be on or near today, and why?

I’ll bet most of you think I’m going to say ” the water surrounding St. Simon’s Island.”  Ha!  You’re right!

7.  Share a favorite song about water, or a favorite song with the word water in it’s title, or a favorite song to listen to as you sit beside the water.

I have an entire folder on my MP3 player that is dedicated to “Summer Tunes”, and I usually listen to those while enjoying the view at SSI.  Among those tunes, my all-time favorite is, “Knee Deep” by Zac Brown Band (featuring Jimmy Buffet)

Random:

A couple of years ago, I decided to set my favorite beach pictures to my favorite beach song.  Here’s the finished product:

As always, thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for continuing to host this fun, mid-week distraction from life 🙂

Published in: on July 8, 2015 at 9:35 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/07/08/the-wednesday-hodgepodge-11/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The video is a great idea! Loved watching it. Sweet pics of fun times with your family. Sounds like you made summers a lot of fun for your kids.

  2. I am so sorry to hear about your back pain. I hope it goes away soon. I absolutely loved your video random thought! All the best!

  3. I hope your back feels better soon. Your son is very wise. Great video!

  4. We had chores year round, and my girls did as well. It builds character : ) I hope your back is on the mend soon! Feel better!

  5. I’ve never heard that song, but I so enjoyed it and your pictures in the video. So fun! I’ve never stayed on St. Simons but I have vacationed a couple of times on Jekyll Island. It’s been around 30 years ago, but I really loved it.

    Have a great day Kathy!!

  6. Great video! I had chores to do when growing up-no sitting around watching television. Of course, after chores were finished the neighborhood kids and I played outside till the street lights came on.

  7. So soThis comes with prayer.rry that you are still experiencing that pain but I am thankful that you were able tp share your beach time pix and music.

  8. Oops! My computer is working better, but it still isn’t back to its cooperative state. Sorry about the messy comment!

  9. I hope you’re going with the tide at the moment and thanks for sharing your great video.

  10. Yep, your #6 was no surprise to me! Praying that you will find relief from your sciatica.

  11. So your mom was one of those lucky people like on the cooking shows where they can cook and not have to clean up the mess….LOL! Enjoyed your summer beach video.


Leave a Reply

