Another Hot Hot Hodgepodge…

We’re still dealing with  some hot July temperatures,  a few afternoon thunder storms, some back aches, and having our mailbox obliterated by an out-of -control truck, on Monday.  So what’s new at your house?

Thankfully, it’s Wednesday and this means it’s time for my favorite form of ‘escape’, aka “The Wednesday Hodgepodge”.  Thanks so much to our hostess, Joyce, for continuing this fun mid-week tradition!  Let’s get started, shall we?

1.July 15th is National Give Something Away Day.  What can you give away? Will you?

We could stand to give away a few dozen eggs, at the moment.  We currently have about ten dozen in our refrigerator.  I just gave away two dozen, and would give away even more if I knew someone else who needed them.

2. Do you have a mantra? Please share with the class if you feel comfortable doing so.

We have a saying in our family.  Whenever things don’t go according to plan we say, “It’s that Bacon luck, again.”  Often, it seems like whatever can go wrong for us does go wrong for us.

3. Who does the grocery shopping in your house? How many times a week do you shop? Do you make a list or pray for inspiration in the produce aisle?

I’ve always been the one who does the grocery shopping for our household, but, now that Ed’s retired, we shop together.  Once a week we’ll go shopping for whatever we need.  I’ve always been a list maker, so I usually have some kind of a list with me whenever I shop.

4. Is there a TV show you’re embarrassed to say you watch? You’re going to tell us what it is, right?

Probably so. The latest is “Orange Is The New Black” (on Netflix)  The show is set in a woman’s prison, and some of the content has been a little on the embarrassing side, but it’s an interesting and entertaining show.

5. A recent article listed fifteen words we should eliminate from our (written) vocabulary in order to sound smarter-

that, went, honestly, absolutely, very, really, amazing, always, never, literally, just, maybe, stuff, things, and irregardless

Of the fifteen, which word is your most overused?

Of those fifteen words, I’d say “that” is my most overused word.

6. So apparently dying your hair gray (in your youth!) is a thing right now. It’s called ‘The Granny Hair’ trend. Your thoughts?

I haven’t heard of this new trend, but I say, enjoy your own youthful hair color while you still can.  There will be plenty of time for “Granny Hair” later in your future!

7. A while back Buzz Feed asked members to share the most beautiful sentence they’ve read in a piece of literature. A hard thing to narrow down, at least for me, but let’s try. What’s one of the most beautiful sentences you’ve ever read in a piece of literature?

Joyce, you have stumped me. I honestly have no idea, and nothing is coming to mind at the moment.

Random:

Feathered Friends

P1010222

I just love watching how our two free ranging red hens seem to enjoy spending some time with their younger ‘sisters’, who still spend most of their days in the pen.  Late every afternoon, all of them get to free range together for a couple of hours, but the older and younger hens continue to sleep in two different chicken houses at night.  These nine hens have laid over 1000 eggs since the beginning of January!

Published in: on July 15, 2015 at 7:18 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/07/15/another-hot-hot-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I would gladly take fresh eggs from your prolific hens! They’re pretty chickens, as chickens go, and I bet their eggs are pretty, too. Sorry about the mailbox. Ours was mowed down once by a snow plow. In all of the blizzard, it was a small problem , and nothing a bungee cord couldn’t fix. Happy Wednesday.

  2. Hello, visiting from Hodgepodge! Sorry to hear about your mailbox. Your chickens are lovely birds!

  3. Wish I lived closer, I’d buy some eggs from you. Your chicken pen looks so very nice and neat and clean.

    I couldn’t think of a quote from literature either. Probably because I haven’t read anything you could call literature in a really long time.

  4. Would be glad to take those fresh eggs off your hands. Your chickens and their home are a lovely sight. 1,000 eggs! Wowzer! I saw recently that you can freeze eggs. You probably already know that though.

  5. 1000 eggs! I wish I were you neighbor and you could share : )

  6. Enjoyed reading your answers. Your hens look great and I’m sure they enjoy their free range time a lot!

  7. I would take some eggs off your hands if we were closer. What a treat!

  8. We are eating a lot of eggs on the LCHF diet, but I’m not sure we could use that many!! Wow!! Joyce gave us another fun Hodgepodge!

  9. I’m curious why your old hens and new ones have separate quarters. I’d take a dozen or two eggs off your hands if only we were closer.

  10. I need eggs and free range for sure. Send them this way! “Granny hair” I like that – and I have it. Embraciing it head on. From the Hodgepodge.

  11. Would take the eggs if we were close enough! A dozen anyway 😉

    I read Orange is the New Black. Hear the TV series is way more vulgar and controversial and have no desire to watch it. But to each her own, right? 😀

  12. I am sorry for your troubles. I hope that your back improves real soon. Our mailboxes are often the victim of wayward trucks, especially snow plowing trucks. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

  13. OITNB is a bit over the top, but I’m hooked on it! The only problem is that I watch it as a marathon & then have to wait another year for the next season!


Leave a Reply

