A Few Friday Fragments…

It’s been a while since I wrote a fragmented post.  I’ve been trying to be a little more creative, lately, but it’s the end of the week, and my brain feels dead.  I feel the need to indulge in a few fragments today.

It’s been a week since our daughter-in-law, Jennifer, had to have a kidney stone removed.  Ouch!  As of yet, I haven’t experienced having a kidney stone , but I’m told it’s definitely no picnic.  Many women say that kidney stones are worse than childbirth.  If this is the case, I’d just as soon avoid the kidney stone experience!

I guess you could say that summer is ‘officially over’ here in our neck of the woods.  The students, here and in most surrounding towns, went back to school on Tuesday.  It seems awfully early and too hot to be going back to school.  I especially hate to think of the students sitting inside of those hot buses at 2:30 in the afternoon, but nobody asked my opinion.

Our oldest two grandchildren will be home-schooled, this year.  (It will be the 3rd year for Madison, the 1st year for Caden)  This means they’ll have at least another week, or so, of summer vacation. In fact, they spent the first day of regular school, this week, at a nearby water park!  If you ask me, that beats sitting in a stuffy old class room any day of the week.

11800593_10152934447251428_2890351183159457085_n

photo borrowed from DIL’s Facebook page

I’m continuing with the home PT exercises for my back.  So far, so good.  Some days are a little better than others, but, so far, my back pain has been fairly minimal, this week.  I hope and pray it stays that way!  Occasionally, my neck tries to flare up, too, and I take things a little easier on those days.  (I have a bulging disc in my neck, as well.)  By the end of August, I should know, for sure, if the exercises are working.

In addition to the exercises, I’m now walking ( about 1/2 mile each time) twice a day. I’ve made a promise to myself (and to God) to get out and walk as long as I am physically able.  I will never take the ability to walk for granted again.

Ed finally mowed down the last of our garden, this week.  This included the last of my zinnias, sunflowers, old corn stalks, and lots of weeds.  We only have sweet potatoes left, and, sadly, they have grown up in grass, so you can’t really see them.  We’ll find out, in a couple of months, if excess grass affects the growth of sweet potatoes. I’ll miss my zinnias and sunflowers…

100_5137

The chickens need something ‘green’ in their diets, so I planted some cabbage, collard, and lettuce seeds [in trays], this week.  After they sprout, and the plants are big enough, Ed will transplant them out in the garden for me.  There will be no more  planting for this girl!  My back simply won’t tolerate that much bending over, or even sitting on the Grasshopper gardening stool.

Ed and I spent some time with our three oldest “grands”, this week.  I would say “we babysat”, but there’s not much ‘babysitting’ involved anymore. They’re all getting so big, so fast.  I brought out the old wrestling men and wrestling ring that belonged to our sons, when they were small, and both things were a big hit with the “grands”. Watching the boys (and Madison) play brought back so many memories…  This could have been Brett and Brad twenty-something years ago!

P1010264

Well, it’s starting out to be a rainy, gloomy Friday, in our area,  and I have a dentist appointment after lunch.  What a way to kick off the weekend!  Things should only get better after that, right?  I hope so!

Happy Friday!

 

 

Published in: on August 7, 2015 at 9:02 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/08/07/a-few-friday-fragments-12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s nice to hear a chunk of your life. Beautiful flowers! They made me realize I was so caught up in my vegetable garden that I forgot to plant zinnias and dahlias this year!

  2. I love the pictures of your grandkids. They are so cute and look to be having so much fun. Your flowers are beautiful. It’s sad that they are now gone for the year.

    Bulging discs are no fun. I have one in my lower back that flairs up from time to time. Yuck!

    Hope all goes well at the dentist and that you have a most wonderful weekend.

  3. Good to catch up on all your ‘fragments’, Kathy! I’m glad you are up to walking each day and that they pain has subsided some. Keeping you in my prayers! It’s hard to believe the summer is nearly over. Gosh, the time just flies by now. I’m sure you will be missing all that lovely color from your garden. Something to look forward to next summer, I guess. Have a good weekend! You are right…after the dentist, it can only get better!!

  4. I’m glad that your exercises are helping. I love zinnias, and your bouquet is lovely.


Leave a Reply

