A Simple Woman’s Day Book Post…

Today I’m joining Peggy Hostetler, and friends, for another edition of The Simple Woman’s Daybook.  If you’d like to join in the fun, hop over HERE. to find out how.

simple-woman-daybook-large

For Today… August 10, 2015

August 10 is mine and Ed’s only nephew’s birthday.  His name is Jeremy, and he turned 41 today.  We rode our motorcycle to the hospital, on the night he was born.  To say a lot of things have changed in the last 41 years would be an understatement!

Outside my window… the sun has played ‘peek-a-boo’ all day.  I see my two red hens walking around the yard, while my seven other hens are wishing they could join them.  I will let them out, too, as soon as they have finished laying eggs for the day.

I am thinking… about the television show,  The Astronauts’ Wives Club (ABC).  I’ve been wondering if this show is based on true facts, and I’ve recently discovered it is.  As a child of the sixties, I’ve been enjoying this weekly trip down memory lane– seeing the furniture, household items, the clothes, cars, etc.   I’m also enjoying learning more about the space program, back then.

I am thankful… for a lot of things, but, most recently, I’m thankful for the ‘Audio Bible’  that our oldest son, Brett, presented [as a gift] to us.  Ed and I listen to several chapters each morning, and are thoroughly enjoying hearing the Bible come to life for us.

I am wearing… a sleeveless [snake print] house dress, as usual.  After three years, I’m still not able to wear shorts, comfortably, during most of the summer months, so I continue to wear house dresses on most days.

I am creating…nothing, at the moment, but I recently hemmed a pair of slacks for Ed.  Does that count?

I am going…to visit St. Simon’s Island, again, sometime in the next few days.  Yay!

I am wondering…about a lot of things– what my back is going to do, the weather, when our son’s house is going to sell.

I am reading… a funny book entitled Old Age Ain’t For Sissies/Retirement Is For the Birds
I read this book, years ago, but I am enjoying reading it for the second time. It makes me smile.

I am hoping… the worst of the hot weather is behind us, but I doubt it is.

I am learning... how to live on a ‘fixed income’ since Ed’s retirement.  It’s been quite a challenge, so far.

In my garden… nothing is growing except a few sweet potato plants and a lot of grass! However, all of that will soon change since we recently planted some cabbage, collards, and lettuce seeds in starter pots.  By the end of September, those plants will have found a new home in the garden.

Most of my hanging baskets are beginning to look bad.  The summer heat has taken quite a toll on some of them.

In my kitchen… I am cooking pinkeye peas, rice & gravy, cabbage, cornbread, and fried pork chops for supper.

In the homeschool room… the grandchildren are getting ready to begin their classes, next week–in their homes, not mine.  I hope both have a successful year, and learn many new things.

A favorite quote for today…“It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle, than for a rich man to enter into the kingdom of God.”  (Mark 10:25)  

A peek into one of my days… My day usually begins with a morning walk, then the feeding/watering of our hens and pets, followed by listening to the Audio Bible for 20 minutes, then eating breakfast.  The rest of the day varies.

One of my favorite things… right now, it’s watching Madmen on Netflix.  (It’s another show, about a group of Madison Avenue advertising executives, and it’s also set back in the sixties.)  Ed seems to have gotten caught up in the show, as well, and we usually watch an episode every day after lunch.

From my photo files… a photo taken on St. Simon’s Island, about 4 weeks ago.  This pelican and seagull sat on these posts the entire time we were there.  A bit of an ‘odd couple’, don’t you think?

P1010239

Thanks for hosting, Peggy!

Published in: on August 10, 2015 at 6:52 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/08/10/a-simple-womans-day-book-post/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I enjoyed this post and learning more about you and your life. I really like that last picture from when you were at St. Simon’s Island. Hope you have a great day!

  2. I enjoyed your post! I should join this one, too!


Leave a Reply

