A Moving Hodgepodge…

After a week’s hiatus, for our hostess, Joyce, to do some traveling and get moved, The Hodgepodge is back.  Today’s theme is all about moving.  As you will soon see, moving is not a subject that is near and dear to my heart!  Without further delay, let’s get right to today’s questions:

1. When was the last time you relocated? Did you move yourself or leave it to the professionals? Are you happy staying put or is there a move in your future? Best thing about moving to a new city or town? Least favorite and/or hardest thing about moving house?

The last time Ed and I moved was in November of 2007, when we moved [next door] into our current house.  You may (or may not) recall that we renovated (and added onto) a game house Ed had previously built, then we moved into it, leaving our old home vacant. We did all of the moving ourselves, along with some help from our family.  Have I mentioned how much I hate moving?

Prior to the move, in 2007, we had lived in the same place [next door] for thirty years! Our old home place needed extensive repairs, so we eventually planned to tear it down sometime after we moved.  Our daughter couldn’t stand the thought of us tearing down the home she grew up in, and asked if she and her husband could move into the house, and renovate it.  We agreed, and she and her husband had all of the needed repairs done, over the course of a couple of years.  It’s been their home since 2008, and I’m so glad we didn’t end up tearing it down.  Sometimes, it’s nice to be able to visit “home” again.

I’d like to say I’ll never move again, but I don’t know what lies in the future.  If I had my wish, I’d live in this house until my death, but we don’t always get our wish, do we?

The best part about moving to a new place (house or town) is the change of scenery, and getting a fresh start.  This is also the worst part, for me, since I don’t especially like change.  Then, of course, there’s the unpacking and figuring out where to put everything…

2. When were you last ‘moved to tears’? Explain.

I finally got around to watching the movie, Dolphin Tale, a few weeks ago.  Any story about a creature in trouble gets to me every time.

3. Do you have rules about eating in the car…any forbidden foods? What’s the last thing you consumed in your car? Your go-to car snack when traveling long distance?

When our children were small, we never ate in our cars.  As they grew older, we occasionally ate in our cars, but the seats were always covered with towels. These days, our kids are grown, and our vehicles are older, so we’re not as strict with the eating rules as we used to be. All of that will probably change when we purchase a new car.

The last thing consumed in my car was probably a Wendy’s frosty.  Our “go-to” snack, when traveling, used to be red hots.  We don’t travel far enough to worry about snacks, these days.

4. Share a favorite song relating to cars and/or driving.

Eddie Rabbit’s “oldie but goodie”, Drivin’ My Life Away, comes to mind, and I’d like to dedicate it to all of the commuters in our family.  Three members of our family actually drive 60-100 miles, round trip, to work, each day, while the fourth member of our family actually drives a truck for a living, and racks up way more miles than I can count.

 

5. What’s your most frequently visited drive-thru…Starbucks? the bank? the pharmacy? some other window?

Our most frequently visited drive-thru is either our bank or Wendy’s (to buy a Frosty).

6. “He who hesitates is lost”…would you agree? When it comes to making decisions do you generally act quickly or do you more often than not fall into the ‘lost’ category?

I don’t agree in all circumstances, but in many circumstances I do.  Ed and I don’t like to “act quickly” concerning things, but prefer to “think things over.”  Many times this works in our favor, but sometimes it doesn’t.

7. When was the last time you got lost? Was it stressful or an unexpected happy adventure?

We sort of got lost in Brunswick, several weeks ago.  Ed’s always taking alternative routes, and looking for short cuts.  We didn’t get too far into our “alternative route” when we realized we’d tried this “short cut” before, and it didn’t work out for us.  We found a place to turn around, and, fortunately, didn’t go too many miles out of the way.

Random:

I have plans for the day, so it will be late when I make my rounds to visit everyone. Thanks for understanding. In the meantime, I’ll leave you with another photo of the view from my favorite spot.

P1010250

Published in: on August 12, 2015 at 8:04 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/08/12/a-moving-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I do love Red Hots, but feel like I’d end up with a few down in the seat : ) Hope you have a great day! Will you be in that lovely photo spot?

  2. I had to laugh at your Wendy’s Frosty comments! That’s been our summer go to snack as well! Those things are so darn good! I hate moving, too, but at least your daughter is nearby!

  3. My Mom loved Wendy’s frostiness and we took them to her all the time she was in the hospital. I like the lovely spot. Is it near your home? I also like that your daughter lives in your old home. Love that.

    • That autocorrect did it again. I did not type frostiness! Grrrr.

  4. Now you have to see Dolphin Tale 2. I was very strict with no eating in the car and still am but I imagine I would give in if I had grandchildren. Love the view………….

  5. Remind me not to watch Dolphin Tale. Like you, I can’t stand to see creatures in distress. Enjoyed your hodgepodge. Have a great Wednesday!

  6. I used to love Red Hots! Haven’t thought of them OR Eddie Rabbit is years! Joyce gave us another fun Hodgepodge!

  7. I love your pictures of St. Simon. I can certainly see why it’s a favorite spot of yours. I want to see Dolphin Tale and the sequel. I’ve caught part of Dolphin Tale on TV, but have never see all of it.

  8. SWMBO and I drive thru Dunkin Donuts a lot with Dairy Queen being next. SWMBO loves their Blizzards. Re: #7- SWMBO and I were going to a square dance years ago and I said I knew a short cut. Hours later we arrive…late! Now whenever I say “I know a short cut.” SWMBO groans audibly! Hope the back is feeling better.


Leave a Reply

