A Mid-August Hodgepodge…

It’s hard to believe that August is already half over, and in only twelve more days we’ll be welcoming September!  Time’s flying, and it’s time for another edition of The Wednesday Hodgepodge, brought to us by our hostess, Joyce.  Thanks, Joyce, for all you do!

1. Way back when (the Hodgepodge bicentennial to be precise) several of you submitted questions as part of a giveaway I was hosting. I went back to that list for inspiration today and found a question submitted by Marla, who blogs over at Marla’s Musings. Thanks Marla!

She asks-At what age did you feel like a ‘grown-up’? What keeps you young now?

Believe it or not, I felt like a ‘grown-up’, at the ripe old age of 17, when Ed and I got married and moved away to the big city.  Looking back, I realize how young and naive I really was!

As for what keeps me young?  Nothing.  I’ve always felt much older than I really am.  It’s why I ended up marrying someone who is 5 years older than me.  I’ll never be 20 again, so I choose to embrace being 60. Ha!  Senior citizen’s discount, anyone?

2. When did you last buy a vehicle? Was this by design or because you had no other option? Was the car/truck purchased for your own personal use or was it bought for someone else to drive? On a scale of 1-10 (with 10 being delightful and 1 being ‘pass the Excedrin’) how would you rate the experience?

Trading vehicles…Sigh. It’s a subject that enters my mind from time to time.  We could buy a new vehicle any time, but we are somewhat attached to each of our “nearly antique” vehicles.

Our oldest vehicle is a 1991 Ford pick up truck that belonged to Ed’s dad.  Next in line is the  1997 “Lincoln Town Car”, which belonged to Ed’s mom.  We purchased both of these vehicles from Ed’s mom’s estate, back in 2013/2014 because both were very good vehicles, with low mileage–and we weren’t ready to let them go, just yet.  We still aren’t.

Last, but not least, we have my 2001 PT Cruiser, lovingly referred to as “Classy”.  We purchased her in March of 2001.  Old “Classy” has some age on her, but not a lot of miles, for her age.  I loved this car from the moment I saw it, and still do. “Classy” is small, but due to the way she’s built, we can (and frequently do) haul a lot of cargo in her. If I could, I’d keep her forever. We’ll need to give up at least one of our “antique cars” when purchasing a new car, and neither of us is ready to do that, yet.

It’s been our experience, that vehicle purchasing gives both of us a headache!  I’d rate our purchasing experience, of “Classy”, at about a 7.  That’s because PT Cruisers were in short supply, at the time, so we probably paid a little too much for her.

3. Corn bread, corn chips, corn pudding, corn on the cob, cornflakes, corn chowder-your favorite of the corn-y foods listed? What needs to be served alongside your selection?

Corn bread is one of Ed’s favorite foods, so I make it often.  However, I like cornflakes and corn on the cob just as much as corn bread.  I like corn bread best when it’s served with home made vegetable soup or some type of greens. (Yep, I’m a country girl!)

4. What’s something in your life that regularly requires you to ‘put your thinking cap on’?

These days, almost everything requires me to “put my thinking cap on”.  My mind isn’t as sharp as it once was.  Often, I’ll start one thing, then get side tracked and forget what I was doing.  Just the other night, Ed and I discovered we’d both forgotten the combination to our safe!  Fortunately, I got it right on my second guess.  Then there’s that little problem of trying to remember other people’s names…

5. Share a favorite movie set in a school or classroom, or whose theme relates to school days in some way.

I love, love, love the movie Mr. Holland’s Opus!  I’ve seen it several times, but I still tear  up during the part where Mr. Holland’s former music students perform, as a retirement tribute, for him.

6. Reading, writing, and ‘rithmatic’ are commonly referred to as the three R’s. What are the three R’s in your life right now?

Reading, writing, and retirement!

7. What’s something you’ve learned or tried recently you can say was as ‘easy as ABC’?

Recently, I tried making home-made Krystal Burgers for the first time, and it was as easy as ABC!  They were easy, delicious, and tasted just like Krystal Burgers, too!   Here’s the recipe, if anyone is interested:

Famous Krystal Burgers Copycat Recipe

Ingredients:
1 pound ground hamburger meat
1 envelope Lipton onion soup mix
1 cup mayonnaise
1 cup cheddar cheese – shredded
yellow mustard
dill pickle chips
dinner rolls

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Into a deep sided pan brown your hamburger meat. Remove from heat. Drain excess fat.

2. To pan add: onion soup mix, mayonnaise and cheese. Mix to combine.

3. Without tearing the dinner rolls apart, CAREFULLY cut them in half. Remove top portion. Place bottom half of buns onto a sheet of aluminum foil {large enough to cover}

4. Spread meat mixture evenly on top of bread bottoms. {OPTIONAL: If you’d like additional cheese top with American cheese slices at this point} Place a dill pickle chip on top of each bun. Top with a squeeze of yellow mustard. Place tops of buns on top of mixture.

5. Wrap aluminum foil around burgers. Place onto a rimmed cookie sheet and into oven for approximately 5-10 minutes until bread is toasted {and cheese is melted if you’ve added it}

Random:

On our last few visits to St. Simon’s Island, Ed and I discovered an interesting fellow–Mr. Pelican!

P1010283

Mr. Pelican spends most of his days sitting on the side of the pier that’s located in The Village.

Mr. Pelican sits and watches the folks on the pier while they fish or crab.

Every now and then, someone will throw Mr. Pelican a piece of bait, so I guess that’s why he keeps coming back.  That’s one smart bird!

Ed snapped this picture of Mr. Pelican, on Sunday.  Several other people were taking pictures of him, as well, and he seems to be ‘striking a pose’.  If only he could figure out how to charge for having his picture taken 🙂

 

Published in: on August 19, 2015 at 8:44 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/08/19/a-mid-august-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I was looking through pictures on Facebook the other day and saw the pictures we took at SSI … and immediately thought of you. 😉 Your answer to #4 sounds like what I could have written. ha!

  2. I felt all grown up when I was young too. I’ve never had a Krystal burger (we don’t have those here) but I think it is similar to White Castle. We call those belly bombers but they are delicious!

  3. Enjoyed your answers! That Krystal Burger sounds good, I may have to try that! Love the picture!

  4. I hear you, I am sidetracked all day long! That recipes sounds delicious, I will have to try it.

  5. That Krystal Burger sounds delish! I’m guessing that Krystal’s is a restaurant in your part of the country.

  6. I’d never had a Krystal til I went to college. They didn’t have them in NJ. I remember being shocked when my friend asked how many I wanted and said she was getting three. I thought 3 hamburgers?? That’s crazy!! I’ll have to try the recipe.

  7. Quite a few of us answered with Mr. Holland’s Opus. It is a wonderful movie! Mr. Pelican is quite handsome. They hang out at John’s Pass, over by St. Pete Beach. I actually got to stroke one, once. The feathers are so smooth and soft. I was amazed at the feel and that s/he allowed me to touch. I think the Krystal Burger knock-offs sound quite good!!

  8. I would have to say you were paying the pelican with the bait! Between my husband and I, these days what one can’t remember, the other can. We are very thankful for that!

  9. I like corn bread too! I love having a nice spicy hot chilli. I have experienced many things for which I don’t have an explanation. A really good magician leaves me with the same feeling. I hope the retirement is going well.

  10. I’m with you on #4. I can’t remember names either. Drives me crazy.

    I’ve never seen Mr. Holland’s Opus, but you and several others have mentioned it and makes me want to see it.

    Love the picture of Mr. Pelican!

  11. Yes, me too…I was sewing today and used the last of my filled bobbins…I always fill about 4 so my sewing doesn’t get interrupted often…well I proceeded and attempted to fill bobbins 3 times and the thread would just start to pile up around the bottom of the spindle..and then I’d have to cut it off…After the 3rd time, I got the book to see ‘how to thread a bobbin’ and guess what, I’d missed one of the places the thread was supposed to be guided around….talk about feeling incompetent…once I saw my mistake it was as easy as 123…


Leave a Reply

