Another Year Older, Another Trip Around The Sun…

P1010314

Yesterday was my birthday, and as a result, I’m now another year older.  It’s a funny thing, though, while my body may be feeling every one of its sixty-one years, my mind is not!  In my mind, I’m still middle-aged. Gee, wasn’t it just yesterday when our parents were the ones who were turning sixty?

It was a good birthday.  At least it was a good birthday considering [at the moment] I’m not very mobile or able to find much comfort while sitting, and considering I’m facing back surgery in just two short weeks.  However, I know that things could always be worse!

Usually Ed takes me to St. Simon’s Island to celebrate my birthday, a tradition we began several years ago.  This year we were not able to do that, mainly because of the weather.  It was cloudy and over-cast the entire weekend, with rain showers scattered throughout.

Ed was worried about how to celebrate my birthday, since I’m not really able to get up and around much. Thanks to our daughter, on the day before my birthday, I had a lovely birthday supper at her house.  She cooked, cleaned, and decorated in spite of the fact that she’d been sick most of the week, herself.  Once again, she gave of herself, unselfishly to make sure I had a memorable birthday, and I’m grateful.  The evening was very memorable.

P1010293

As I sat in our daughter’s dining room, eating the delicious supper prepared by many, I couldn’t help but marvel at all of the past birthday celebrations that have taken place in that dining room.  You see, Ed and I lived in that same house for thirty years.  We’ve celebrated our parents’ birthdays, our children’s birthdays, and our own birthdays, in that dining room!  It felt really special celebrating there again, and, besides, I wasn’t celebrating alone, this year.  Our daughter-in-law, Jennifer, was celebrating, too, since her birthday was two days before mine.  Two more birthdays were added to the long list of ones celebrated in that dining room!

P1010311

I only had one request, the entire evening–that someone take a picture of me, along with my children, who are all now grown, with families of their own.  I wasn’t prepared for how old this picture would make me feel when I saw it, but old I am!

I’ll treasure this picture always.  A lot of blood, sweat, tears, and prayers went into raising these three, but they all make me proud when I stand next to them today!

P1010298

In honor of my sixty-first birthday, I received many cards, gifts, and even a bouquet of flowers. Some of the cards made me laugh, while others made my eyes fill with tears.  I loved everything I received, but the thing I loved most of all was that everybody took the time to celebrate another “trip around the sun” with me.

Bring on trip # 62!!!

 

 

 

Published in: on August 31, 2015 at 3:43 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/08/31/another-year-older-another-trip-around-the-sun/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yes it was just yesterday and suddenly we have become the older generation of the family. Happy, happy birthday to you!!! Sounds like you had a lovely celebration. I love the video!

  2. Yes, it does hit home that we are the elders. But the 60s are the new 40s. At leaset that’s what I keep telling myself (facing 64 in 3 months!). I’m glad you had a good celebration, even if you couldn’t get to St. Simons. Happy belated birthday!! Wishing you a year ahead with no back pain!

  3. 61! You’re still a young whippersnapper! If you’re old, what does that make me? Remember – age is but a number.

  4. Happy belated birthday … wishing that 61 is a better year for you than 60. And Teelee2013 is right … the 60s ARE the new 40s. At least I hope so because that’s what I’ve been banking on for the last 4 1/2 years. ha!


Leave a Reply

