A September Kind Of Hodgepodge…

1. What’s on your September calendar? Anything fun?

Back surgery is looming on my September calendar.  A minimally invasive lumbar foraminotomy, I think it’s called.  Sounds like fun, doesn’t it?  As bad as “foraminotomy” sounds, I do like the sound of the “minimally invasive” part. If it will restore my life to normal, it’ll be the best thing that’s happened to me since April 8th.

2. You might be described as a natural born _____________________?

I might be described as a natural born worrier.  I try not to worry, but I usually do, and it doesn’t help a thing!

3. September is National Courtesy Month…what one act of courtesy would you most like to see more of in your home, town, or the world at large?

In the words of the an old Aretha Franklin song, R-E-S-P-E-C-T is what I’d like to see more of, among the people, today.  So many people have so little respect.

4. Eager beaver, chicken out, clam up, or let the cat out of the bag…of the phrases listed, which one have you related to most recently?

I think “chicken out” might best fit my situation, at the moment.  I’m nervous about having surgery–but I won’t chicken out.  Of course, I could also say I’m an “eager beaver” to get it over with, too…

5. What’s your movie theater snack protocol? Do you chow down on snacks during the previews or wait until the movie begins? Do you buy snacks or refuse to pay those kind of prices? What’s the last movie you saw in a theater? How many thumbs up would you give it?

I haven’t been to an actual movie theater in several years, but whenever I go I always have to have some movie popcorn, even though it costs an arm and a leg.  I refuse to pay the ridiculous prices for those other movie snacks.  You’ll find me eating popcorn from the moment I sit down, until I just can’t eat any more.  As for the movie I last saw, it was Toy Story 3, and I enjoyed it very much.

6. Henry Ford is quoted as saying, “Nobody can think straight who does not work. Idleness warps the mind.” Agree or disagree? Why?

I agree  that “idleness warps the mind”, but ‘work’ does not necessarily have to mean having a job outside of the home. There are many types of ‘work’ a person can do to keep themselves active and focused.

7. What’s the last job you completed or task you performed where you had to ‘work like a dog’ until it was finished?

That’s easy, working in our vegetable garden!  This year, back issues knocked me out of some of the actual ‘garden work’, but I still was able to do a lot of shelling, blanching, canning, and freezing.

Random:

For some reason, Ed and I have had an epidemic of ground moles, this year.  At times, our lawn is very spongy because of their huge tunnels.  The other day, I was talking with someone about this problem, and they mentioned putting pieces of Juicy Fruit chewing gum down into the mole holes to get rid of the moles.  I thought this sounded crazy, but I ‘googled’ it, and sure enough, Juicy Fruit gum is listed under ‘how to get rid of moles’.  As crazy as it sounds, we tried it, yesterday.  I’ll let you know if it works!

In other random ‘mole’ news, Ed had a suspicious growth (that seemed to spring up from nowhere) removed from his shoulder, yesterday.  He’s doing fine, and we hope the pathologist report comes back negative.  The stitches will come out in 9 days.

Published in: on September 2, 2015 at 8:31 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/09/02/a-september-kind-of-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I hope Ed’s biopsy comes back negative. You guys have had enough problems this year.

  2. Praying for a good report from pathology. I, too, am waiting for a report (thankfully mine was small enough that it didn’t require stitches). And praying for a successful surgery, too. {{{hug}}}

    We’ve had an infestation of moles last summer and this one. Nothing seems to work, so we ought to try Juicy Fruit. Can’t hurt, and who knows – it might work.

  3. I pray that all goes well for you with your surgery. It appears that many of us were born worriers! Respect is high on our lists too. We didn’t have much luck with juicy fruit a few years back or smoke bombs. We ended up having to use traps that kill them.

  4. I loved your transition “in other random mole news” — great writing! Hope you have a good week!

  5. You’ve had so much going on this year. I hope Ed gets a good report and you find relief with the surgery. When we lived in MD we had a horrible problem with moles one summer. We tried absolutely every trick people suggested including the gum, poison, smoking them out, etc etc. We resorted to whacking them on the head with a rubber mallet when we saw the ground move. They were so destructive!!

  6. Interesting about the juicy fruit gum. Please keep us posted! Sorry about Ed’s unscheduled surgery! Please keep us posted about that too. You are on my prayer list for that back of yours and your coming surgery. Another thing to keep us posted about!! Joyce gave us another fun Hodgepodge!

  7. We have had a bunch of moles and gophers this year too. I have tried all of the ‘internet remedies’ to no avail. The only thing we have found that worked is hiring someone to trap them. It was costly and they were back the next year. Now I just put up with it! Have a nice week!

  8. Here’s hoping that the back surgery goes very well and restores you to panfry normalcy. Is “minimally invasive” similar to saying a “minor heart attack?” I’m gonna have to try that mole remedy in my yard too. Thanks for stopping by. Hope everything is okay with Ed’s shoulder!

  9. So sorry that the exercises didn’t seem to “fix” your back problem, but at least you’ll be pain free! Hope all is well with Ed’s shoulder!


Leave a Reply

