A Few Friday Fragments…

I’m sitting here watching Ed and our little grandson, Chase playing with a wrestling ring and some old wrestling figures.  It reminds me of years gone by… It’s the same wrestling ring and men, but a much older Ed playing with a grandson instead of his sons.  Where has the time gone?

The week passed quickly.  You’d think these days would drag by since I’m not able to do much, but time is still flying. I managed to stay busy by watching tv, napping, doing laundry, and doing any chore that only requires me to be on my feet for less than ten minutes. (any longer than that brings on an attack of sciatica)

The days are down to minus ten and counting until my back surgery, on  September 14.  The doctor’s office called me, this week, to give me a list of “dos and don’ts” regarding the days prior surgery.  It was a long list, and the call lasted almost a half an hour! Really, I think the only thing they didn’t instruct me on was how to wear  my hair on the day of the surgery 🙂  I think the strangest instruction I received was “no fishing for a month after surgery.” (Like I’m going to feel like going fishing after back surgery!)  They explained the reason for this instruction has to do with all of the bacteria that has polluted our rivers, lakes, and beaches.  Apparently, there have been patients who have contracted nasty infections, following surgery, by being exposed to these kinds of bacteria.  Who knew?

God never ceases to amaze me, especially in times of trouble.  Our oldest son gave us a set of The Bible on dvd’s back in July.  Ed and I have listened to it, faithfully, every morning, and have made our way through Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.  This week, we started listening to Acts, but God hasn’t opened my ears to hear His message for me in Acts, so far .  So, I decided to watch some devotions on television, this week.  It turned out that those devotions were exactly what I needed to hear, at this particular time in my life!  I heard His message.  God is good!

Yesterday, Ed and I visited the hospital where he used to work, before they laid him off, back in January.  Since it’s closest to where we live, I went there to have my pre-op testing performed. (Nothing like feeding the hand that bit you! Ha!)  It was nice to see Ed’s former co-workers again, but most of the hospital looked pretty much deserted.  Judging from what I saw, business hasn’t picked up since the new management company took over in January.  Ed mentioned that the salaries of all of the employees[combined], who were laid off, probably just about pays the monthly cost of the management firm…  So, I wonder how that’s working out.  Anyway, I’m thankful the hospital is still there, it saved us from having to drive twenty more miles to the next one.

The first part of this week, our weather was fall-like.  Unfortunately, summer-like weather has returned.  I guess that’s a good thing for those who have Labor Day activities planned, though.  We have no plans, other than putting some fall decorations outside.  I’ll let Ed do the ‘leg work’ and I’ll supervise 🙂  That’s become our new way of life, lately… (Yesterday, Ed told his former co-workers that he’s gone from having six [women] telling him what to do, to only having one [woman] telling him what to do.)  On that note, I’m outta’ here!

I hope everyone has an enjoyable holiday weekend.  I’ll visit and post, again, as I am able.

 

Published in: on September 4, 2015 at 10:35 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/09/04/a-few-friday-fragments-13/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love that feeding the hand that bit you comment!

  2. Praying all goes well with your surgery and your recovery.

  3. One of my coworkers daughter had surgery a month ago, and when they went of vacation, they were told she could not go swimming in the ocean or any pools because of bacteria. Her incision was healed, but they didn’t want it getting softened in the water and possibly letting in some bacteria. Be careful is the new rule I guess. Thanks for catching us up…good to hear from you! Hugs & prayers!

  4. I admit that I couldn’t figure out the “no fishing” admonishment until you explained. Even if you’re not actually in the water, you’re at risk? Crazy. Praying for a successful surgery and a speedy recovery.

  5. Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers……


Leave a Reply

