Wednesday Hodgepodge #235…

We’re moving right along, into the month of September.  Ed helped me decorate the outside of the house for fall, this week,  (I gave directions, he did the work) so I’m ready for the ‘official’ beginning of fall when it comes.

Our Hodgepodge hostess, Joyce, has provided us with another great set of questions, this week, so let’s get started and have a little fun, shall we?

1. Last thing you did on the spur of the moment?

On Labor Day, completely on the spur of the moment, Ed and I drove almost 30 miles to  Wendy’s and had chili for lunch.  I don’t know which I enjoyed more, the chili or just getting out of the house.  The outing was well worth the drive!

2. How well informed do you feel about the current Syrian refugee crisis?

I’m  not well informed at all, because I’m currently taking a hiatus from watching the news, but I have caught glimpses of the dead bodies washing up on shore.  It’s a sad situation.

3. What have you changed your mind about?

I’ve changed my mind about elderly folks, disabled folks, and ‘shut ins’.  I have more compassion and understanding, than ever before, for people and the predicaments they often find themselves in, especially during their ‘golden years’.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ve always had compassion for these folks, but, after the past five months, my level of compassion has been taken to a whole new level.  Now I ‘get it’.

4. A medium sized non-poisonous snake found it’s way into the pool trap this weekend. If you’d been sitting poolside would you have fished it out? Gone running? Called for help? Pretended not to know? Continued swimming?

I hate snakes of all kinds, so there’s no doubt about it, I’d have gone running!  I can’t imagine continuing to swim with a snake nearby.

5. September 10th is National TV Dinner Day…what’s your idea of a great TV dinner? (Or at least a pretty good one!)

My goodness, I haven’t eaten a TV Dinner since the 70’s, but, back then, the only kind I liked was the dinner with turkey, gravy, stuffing, and mashed potatoes.  I didn’t like any of the others I tried.

6. Samuel Johnson is quoted as saying, “Courage is reckoned the greatest of all virtues; because, unless a man has that virtue, he has no security for preserving any other.” Would you agree? Where have you seen that played out recently? What’s the second greatest virtue?

I don’t agree that courage is the greatest virtue.  Courage is good, but what about patience, kindness, honesty, forgiveness, and many more I can’t think of at the moment?

7. What are three words you have trouble remembering how to spell?

(1) license (2) diarrhea (3)paraprofessional

Random:

This little cutie  experienced his first day of school, yesterday, and he liked it. He’s our next-to-the-youngest grandson, Chase.  It seems like he was born just yesterday.  Where did the time go?

12002936_10152997599956428_4422081685102074582_n

I hope you have a great year, Chase!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

After participating in all 235 editions of The Wednesday Hodgepodge, I’m 99.9% sure I’m going to have to miss next week’s edition.  My back surgery is scheduled for next Monday morning, September 14, and I’m pretty sure I won’t be on the computer Wednesday.  I’d very much appreciate your prayers for a safe and successful surgery. Hope to ‘see’ everyone again, soon!

 

Published in: on September 9, 2015 at 7:37 am  Comments (11)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/09/09/wednesday-hodgepodge-235/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I will certainly be keeping you in my prayers next week and will give you a pass on the Hodgepodge : ) I’m praying for a smooth procedure and full recovery, and peace to ease any anxiety you are feeling. Take care!

  2. Diarrhea is the perfect answer! It took me 4 tries with spellcheck not even recognizing it! Best wishes for the surgery!

  3. Will keep you in my prayers for your surgery!

  4. You are definitely in my thoughts. May your surgery be a success and may you regain the joy of being without pain.

  5. Will definitely be saying a prayer that your surgery and recovery go smoothly.

  6. You are on my prayer list, and I will include the surgical team, too. Let us know as soon as you can how everything went, please.

  7. Glad you ventured out and enjoyed your time away from home! I don’t watch the news so I am not informed either. I forgot that I often look up how to spell license. Glad the Chase enjoyed his first day! Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers, praying for a perfect surgery and a quick recovery.

  8. Definitely keep you in my prayers for a successful surgery and recovery.

  9. Hope your surgery goes well and that you are soon back to the Hodgepodge.

  10. Praying for successful surgery and a speedy recovery. {{{hug}}}

  11. I’m glad you’re feeling good Kathy! We couldn’t have the HP without you : )


Leave a Reply

