The Last Wednesday Hodgepodge Of September…

Goodbye September, Hello Hodgepodge!  I can’t say that I’m sad to see September go, but I sure am glad to see The Wednesday Hodgepodge!  Thank you to our gracious hostess, Joyce, for keeping this fun meme going 🙂

Here are this week’s questions, along with my answers:

1. Something on your October calendar that makes you smile?

Birthdays!  Our family will celebrate three of them during the month of October. One of the birthdays belongs to our daughter, while the other two birthdays belong to our oldest and youngest grandchildren.  Fun times!

2. Food for the soul or music for the soul…which camp are you in? Tell us why.

I’m in the ‘music for the soul’ camp.  I’ll choose listening to good music over eating good food any day.  Don’t get me wrong, I love to eat, but I love listening to music more, especially live music.  Music can transport me away, to another place, another time, especially music from the 60’s and 70’s.

3. What are two or three things you’ve learned recently as the result of an online search?

I learned how to pickle peppers and I discovered a new chili recipe.  I also watched a video of an actual foraminotomy–before I had mine done.  (I wanted to know what to expect!)  Have I mentioned you can find just about anything through Google?

4. Share your favorite game day recipe. You can describe it, post the how-to, or add a link to the actual recipe.

The only thing that comes to mind is the new chili recipe I recently found, courtesy of Food.com. I tried it out last weekend, and it was a hit with the family.

Here it is:

 Award Winning Chili

DIRECTIONS

  1. Cook ground meat with onions and peppers in dutch oven.
  2. Drain excess grease and add tomatoes, seasonings, and water, bring to a boil.
  3. Add beans, cover and simmer 1-2 hours.
  4. Serve with toppings.

5. What are your five essential steps for creating the perfect morning routine?

Due to recent surgery, I don’t have a perfect morning routine, at this time. However, a normal morning would usually go like this: (1) Feed and clean up after the chickens (while Ed feeds the cats) (2) Take a morning walk down the road and back (3) Listen to the audio Bible for about fifteen minutes (4) Have breakfast (5) Wash my hair and begin the day’s activities.

6. What small thing have you taken note of today?

I noticed that our daylight hours are getting shorter, and because of this we are now getting fewer eggs from our hens.  This is normal.

7. Sum up your September in seven words or less.

September was “all about” back surgery.

Random:

Tomorrow will be our daughter’s birthday.  Thirty-seven years ago, today, Ed and I put my suitcase in the car and headed to the hospital, not sure if I was in labor or not.  Our baby was already 10 days overdue, and we’d already made one trip due to “false labor”.

It turned out I wasn’t actually in labor, but the amniotic fluid had begun to leak out, so they kept me and induced labor.  After eight long hours and one difficult delivery, our daughter, Brandy, was born on October 1, at 5:20 in the morning. She was precious, and our lives were changed forever.

9-3-2010 5;11;28 PM Brandy 5 wks

Brandy at 5 weeks old

Here we are, 37 years later, and our daughter is still precious to us.  She’s grown into a strong young woman with a family of her own.  She makes us proud. Best of all, she’s our next-door neighbor, so we can see her on a daily basis!  We’re SO blessed that God chose us to be her parents.

Happy Birthday, Brandy!

100_3757
Brandy and her daughter, Madison, who will also be celebrating a birthday in about 3 weeks

Published in: on September 30, 2015 at 8:07 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/09/30/the-last-wednesday-hodgepodge-of-september/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your granddaughter and daughter are beautiful. Happy Birthday (early) to Brandy!! I hope the recovery from your surgery continues to go well and that you feel much better as a result! Blessings to you!

  2. Such sweet pictures! Happy birthday to your lovely daughter! Hope you’re feeling better every day : )

  3. Wow, your daughter was a beautiful baby and is a beautiful woman! Enjoy the October birthdays. I hope you fully recover and feel great after your September surgery. AND, I hope it’s a nice October for you so you can get out and about.

  4. What a lovely picture. Enjoy your celebrations and I hope your recovery continues to go well. I’m sure it must be frustrating having to take things slowly.

  5. I loved your morning routine. Sounds like you hit all the important things. Google is a great way to learn so many things. I forgot about all the recipes and looming projects I found through Google.

  6. Your daughter is beautiful!! Happy birthday to her! I enjoyed your Hodgepodge!! It’s hard to imagine life without Google these days.

  7. Thank you four your kind words and for stopping by my blog page. I hope the back continues to improve.

  8. Your daughter and granddaughter are beautiful. Happy birthday to both of them!

  9. Enjoy the birthday celebrations! How can I not think of Peter Piper when you mentioned your pickled peppers. I noticed that also with our days getting shorter and shorter. Happy Birthday to you daughter, sweet photos.

  10. Happy Birthday Brandy! That is a beautiful mother-daughter photo.And about online research, I had to google “foraminotomy.” So it is my new word of the week. Sorry you had to go through all that for me to learn a new word! Prayers for you in your recovery journey.


Leave a Reply

