Another October Hodgepodge…

We’re almost halfway through the month of October.  Some say “the older you get, the faster time goes”, and I believe it!  Tick tock, time is passing.  It’s already time for another edition of The Wednesday Hodgepodge.  As always, many thanks to Joyce for hosting this fun and thought-provoking meme each week 🙂

1. What’s something that has recently ‘tried your patience’?

Two bad discs in my back, and six  l-o-n-g  months of miserable sciatica has almost stretched my patience to the max.

2. Do you think patience comes to us naturally or is it something you have to learn as you grow? On a scale of 1-10 generally how patient are you? (1=I blow up at the drop of a hat and 10=I’ve got all the time in the world).

I think patience may come naturally to some, but it sure didn’t to me.  I learned patience as I grew older, and navigated the waters of life.  Raising children teaches you patience, as well as dealing with aging parents. Then, of course, there’s my chronic health issues I’ve had to learn to deal with.  On a scale of 1-10, I used to be about a 2.  After 61 years of life experience, I’d give myself about an 8.  I’m still a work in progress.

3. Share about a time when you felt like you could fly. Or a time you wished you could fly. Or a time you felt like you were flying.

I’m afraid of heights, so I can’t recall an actual time when felt like I could fly (or ever wanted to fly).  However, Ed has owned two motorcycles during our 43 years of marriage, and every time I rode on the back of one of them I felt like we were flying!  It felt like we were going faster than we actually were.  Of course there’s something about riding along on a motorcycle, watching the asphalt zooming by underneath your feet– knowing there’s no protection between your body and that asphalt…

4. Your favorite song with the word fly in the title or lyrics, or your favorite song that relates to flying in some way?

Fly Like An Eagle by  Steve Miller Band is the first song that came to mind, so I’ll go with that one.  “Tick tock.  Tick tock.  Time keeps on slipping, slipping, slipping into the future…”

5. What’s in your fall picnic basket and where are we picnicking in your neck of the woods this time of year?

If I had a fall picnic basket, I’d definitely have some fried chicken in it, and maybe some potato salad. I think we’d be picnicking at the Gordonia Alatamaha State Park, which is located about 17 miles from where we live.  Our family has camped and enjoyed many picnics there.  Fall is the perfect time of the year to picnic there.

22-gasp-0410-0045-full Gordonia Alatama Park

Gordonia Alatamaha State Park (photo via Google)

6. Carpentry, electrical, plumbing, landscaping…which skill would you most like to possess and how would you put that skill to use today?

My husband, Ed, knows a good bit about carpentry, electrical, and plumbing, but nothing about landscaping.  I wish we knew more about landscaping.  If we did, I’d totally re-do our yard.  Of course, there’s only so much one can do with 9 hens roaming in the yard 🙂  Ah, country living.  Gotta’ love it!

7. What’s something you think is too expensive to justify buying lately?

Ed and I have been looking at vehicles for over a week.  We haven’t bought a new car in 13 1/2 years, and, as you can imagine, we’re suffering from severe “sticker shock”.

Random:

October 8 made six months since my back “went out”.  Monday of this week made four weeks since my surgery.  I think I may have finally “turned the corner”, this week, and I’m happy, happy, happy to say, I’m feeling much better 🙂  Hey!  There’s some light at the end of this tunnel!

 

Published in: on October 14, 2015 at 6:52 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/10/14/another-october-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy for u…

  2. Glad to hear you are feeling better. I’m sure recovery has been a further test of your patience. Sounds like the chickens are doing your landscaping! 🙂 Thanks for visiting me.

  3. glad you feel better

  4. Hooray! I’m so glad that you’re really feeling better!!

  5. I’m glad to hear you are feeling better. You really have improved in patience, going from a 2 to a 8! Hope you find a vehicle you love for a good price 🙂

  6. I’m so glad you’re feeling better. You’ve certainly had a full plate in recent months! So many great state parks out there, we always try to check out those near us. I do love a picnic : )

  7. I’d love to sitting along a lake somewhere having a picnic lunch about right now. It’s a beautiful day around here.

    So glad you are feeling better now.

  8. I always think about fried chicken and potato salad for picnic’s. That’s what we had when we were kids. I am happy to hear that you have turned the corner with your back. I hope it continues to improve as time goes on.

  9. I so like reading that last Random!! Loved all of your answers, actually. Joyce always comes through with great questions. Fried chicken – yes!

  10. Good news that you are feeling better. I’m with you on wishing for landscaping skills, but you better leave the actual DOING to someone who hasn’t recently gone through back surgery! Best wishes for continued healing.

  11. So glad that your back is improving. The state park looks beautiful. Thanks for stopping by my blog post. Enjoy the rest of your week.


Leave a Reply

