A November Hodgepodge…

Today, I’m taking a break from telling the story of Ed’s recent heart attack, to participate in today’s Hodgepodge.  I’ll resume the story “A Week Ago” tomorrow.  As always, thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for hosting The Hodgepodge.

1. Besides Thanksgiving, something you’re looking forward to on your November calendar?

I’m looking forward to celebrating my husband, Ed’s, 66 birthday with him, on November 13. Ten days ago, he came very close to not being here to celebrate, so it will be extra special this year!

100_4656

Ed, on his birthday, last year

2.  If I gave you a thank you card right now who would you send it to and why?

I’d send it to our two children, and their spouses, who live on the family farm with us.  Thanks to them, our nine chickens, twelve cats (thirteen counting “Trouble”),  pond full of goldfish, and dog were all fed and well cared for during Ed’s recent hospital stay.  I’d also say “thank you” to our youngest son, Brad, for taking the time to move my car to a good spot in the hospital parking lot, and for instructing me on how to find my way out of the parking lot!  Their help took a huge burden off of my shoulders, and I’m so grateful to them all!

3. Of the breads listed, which one’s your favorite…bagel, cinnamon, sourdough, garlic, banana, biscuit, pita, Naan, or plain old-fashioned white bread?

It’s almost a tie between a biscuit and a cinnamon bagel, but I think I like a cinnamon bagel best.

4. What’s something you have in abundance? Is that a good thing?

I have an abundance of a lot of different things because I’m a collector of “stuff”.  I have lots of dishes in my cabinets ( in fact, they’re over-flowing), I have lots of curios and books on the shelves, lots of clothes in the closet, and a large collection of dolls in my bedroom.  I won’t even get started on my abundance of holiday decorations for all seasons.

In hind sight, it’s probably not a good thing that I have collected so much “stuff”, but, there was a time when “stuff” made me happy.  I still like my “stuff”, but I don’t find quite as much pleasure in it, now, as I once did.

5. November 5th is National Love Your Red Hair Day. Are there any redheads in your family? Who’s your favorite redhead?

Yes, I do have some redheads in my family.  I have two first cousins (on my mother’s side) who have (or had) red hair.  When I think  ‘favorite redhead’, I immediately think of Lucille Ball, but I was always close with my redheaded first cousin, Kay, while growing up.

6.  The travel website Busbud recently calculated the most Instagrammed spot in every state. Go here to see what made the list where you live. Are you happy with your state’s #1? If not what do you think should be the most photographed spot in your state? Have you snapped a photo there? If you live outside the USA answer as it relates to your state, city or province.

Georgia’s most ‘Instagrammed spot is The Atlanta Motor Speedway, believe it or not!  Georgia has so many more scenic places than a speedway!  For instance, there’s the ” Georgia’s Little Grand Canyon”, in Lumpkin, Georgia,  and, yes, I’ve visited and snapped photos there.

images

photo via Google

7. I’m going to try to have something related to gratitude in this spot each week during the month of November. Here’s this week’s question-

What’s something you’ve learned about yourself this year that you’re grateful for?

I’ve learned that I am a much stronger person than I thought I was back in January.  I’ve been through a lot, this year, (Ed losing his job, termite and mold problems , my back surgery, and now Ed having a heart attack) but I’ve learned (again) that I can do (and survive) all things through Christ who strengthens me, and for that, I’m grateful.

Random:

Ed’s been home from the hospital for a week.  So far, so good.  He is adjusting to his new medications, and seems to be feeling better each day.  Life is slowly getting back to normal.  I’m so thankful he’s still with me!

All of the sudden, I feel like a new bride, trying to learn how to cook again!  I haven’t quite gotten the hang of how to season food with spices other than salt.  I’m a work in progress, but Ed’s a good sport and doesn’t complain.  I eat whatever Ed eats, so he’s not “suffering” alone. Ha!  We’ve been eating a lot of salad, lately.  It’s hard to mess up a good salad 🙂

Published in: on November 4, 2015 at 8:21 am  Comments (14)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/11/04/a-november-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh I’m glad Ed is home! Hope his recovery is a smooth one!

  2. I’m glad he’s okay and is able to celebrate the holidays with you and your family this year. Hope he and the rest of your family are in good health for many years to come.

  3. I only recently learned about that spot in Georgia. One of these years we’re going to get up there, since it’s not terribly far from north Florida.

  4. It’s funny that most of the photographed spots were man made places (tracks, ball parks, zoos) as opposed to all the natural beauty that can be found in every state. I’m glad Ed’s doing well, and good luck with the cooking. I don’t use much salt (except corn on the cob, popcorn, and mashed potatoes) and I think you’ll get used to it fairly quickly. It’s a process I’m sure. Enjoy your day!

  5. Enjoy your thanksgiving and I am happy Ed is on the road to recovery. Whew! Sometimes life certainly can throw us some serious curveballs!

  6. Glad to hear the recovery is going well and that you have family around to support you. I am also blessed with a wonderful family.

  7. Your #7 answer is almost the same as mine. We do find strength when we think there is none to be found! Happy Birthday to your hubby next week!

  8. I’m so glad for you that you have your honey and are taking such good care of him. Having such a wonderful family to assist you is a blessing. Your number 7 answer is good. And gee whiz, what is it with everybody taking pics of racetracks when there is so much beauty to be photographed?

    I’m with you on the “stuff”.

  9. I enjoyed your Hodgepodge answers!! You might want to try “No Salt” as a seasoning. It tastes like salt and shakes out like salt, but isn’t salt. I imagine all the grocery stores have it. You have sure had a year. Here’s to a better one ahead!!

  10. Life is precious I’m happy for you that Ed is home and doing better. Is that a German chocolate cake?
    MAMA Bear

  11. nice answers.

  12. I’m so glad that Ed is doing well … and yes, this birthday will definitely be a special one. And I agree with you on the Atlanta Motor Speedway. I couldn’t believe it when I saw that it was #1.

  13. I am so glad to hear that Ed is getting better. This taking care of my health thing is showing itself to be quite daunting. But alas, I promised SWMBO that I’d take better care of myself. You two kids take care of yourselves. All the best and, of course, thanks for stopping by my blog page.

  14. What a huge blessing this year to celebrate Ed’s birthday! Thank God.
    That little grand canyon looks amazing. I’m so happy to hear that Ed is home. Keeping you both in my prayers.


Leave a Reply

