A Veteran’s Day Hodgepodge…

Welcome to another edition of The Wednesday Hodgepodge, brought to us by our gracious hostess, Joyce, “From This Side Of The Pond”.  Here are today’s questions, along with my answers:

1. In two or three sentences tell us what Veteran’s Day means to you?

Veteran’s Day is a day that’s set aside, to honor all, service men and service women, who sort of put their personal lives on hold and, often put themselves in harm’s way, to serve and protect our country.  I’m proud to say I’m married to one such army veteran who will FINALLY have Veteran’s Day off for the first time, ever. I think, above everyone else, veterans should get Veteran’s Day off, don’t you?

2. What’s your favorite film with a patriotic theme woven into the storyline?

It’s gritty and, at times, painful to watch but I like the movie “Born on the Fourth of July”, starring Tom Cruise.  I’ve watched it several times.

3. Flu shot-yes or no? If you answered no, do you plan to get a flu shot? If not, why not? Have you ever had the flu?

Yes, I’ve gotten a flu shot, every year, since our youngest son, Brad, ended up in ICU, from the flu, back in 2011.  He was a very sick young man, and didn’t look well for several months, afterward. Strangely enough, I, too, caught the flu, for the first time, two months before Brad, and was very sick during the week leading up to Christmas.  It made a believer [in getting flu shots] out of me!  By the way, I’ve hardly had a ‘sniffle’ since I began taking a flu shot every year.

4. I’ve seen lots of people posting pictures of their Christmas trees up and decorated. Many stores have had Christmas on display since well before Halloween. Red cups are back at Starbucks, sans the holiday decor, and that has some people up in arms. What are your thoughts on all the holiday ruckus this second week of November?

First of all, I think any time before Halloween is too early to be thinking about Christmas.  I don’t want to see Christmas displays or hear Christmas music until at least the day after Halloween.  For me,  it’s still too early to decorate for Christmas, too.  Why can’t people just enjoy the month of November, for Thanksgiving, instead of rushing into Christmas?  As for the red cups at Starbucks, I don’t really have any thoughts one way or another because I don’t go to Starbucks.

5. What ‘critter’ are you most afraid of encountering unexpectedly? Why that one?

I’m most afraid of encountering a rattlesnake, unexpectedly, for obvious reasons.  We’ve  encountered several, over the years we’ve lived here, so I know they’re living nearby.  In fact, I’m 99% sure I heard one, shaking its rattlers the other day.  We have cats wandering all around, and he was probably warning one of them of his presence.  We watched our daughter’s chihuahua suffer a terrible death (even after getting a very expensive anti venom) due to an encounter with a rattlesnake, a few years ago, and that image is still stuck in my mind.

6. Do you like building things? What’s the last thing you ‘built’?

Yes, I love building things, or I should say I love watching other people build things.  Over the years, Ed has taken on many different building projects.  Ed’s last project was the building of a storage house/carport out back, several years ago. He was just about to begin closing in the carport area when he suffered his recent heart attack.

7. In keeping with this month’s theme of gratitude…what are you most grateful for that brings beauty to your daily life?

I’ve said this before, but after nearly losing him two weeks ago, I can’t say this enough–I’m VERY GRATEFUL for my husband, Ed!!!  He brings SO MUCH beauty to my daily life!  I know in my heart, my life would be very different without him.   I tell him that I love him every night, and I mean it from the bottom of my heart, and at the beginning of each new day, I’m delighted to still be able to kiss that smiling face of his!  Thank you, Lord.  I am very grateful!

Random:

Our grandson, Evan, celebrated his 2nd birthday with a party held at the Busy Little Beavers preschool building, on Saturday.  (The owner of the preschool rents out the building for parties, on the weekends.)  It was a great party, and everyone enjoyed themselves.

12193735_10204450996228092_1657864766107183055_n

Evan and his parents, Brad and Jennifer, at the birthday party

Due to an outbreak of the stomach flu, Busy Little Beavers preschool had been closed the entire week before Evan’s party,  but we assumed the building had been disinfected and would be safe after a week of being empty.  Wrong!  On Monday night, Evan began throwing up, as well as Evan’s aunt, our daughter-in-law, Christina.  Now we’re all wondering…Who’s going to be next? 

Lesson learned:  Never assume anything!

Published in: on November 11, 2015 at 8:29 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/11/11/a-veterans-day-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh dear. The stomach thing. Ugh. I hope it’s not shared any further! Thank you to your hubs for his service. Enjoy your day!

  2. You certainly have something to be thankful for this Thanksgiving … and every day! Yikes! One WOULD assume that they would have disinfected everything, wouldn’t you? I sure hope that no one else comes down with it. And thank to Ed for his service.

  3. What darling grandchild and parents!!! Aren’t we so thankful for our families!

    As for rattlesnakes, I guess I should be thankful for our sub zero temperatures that keeps rattlers out of our area.

    Have a wonderful day. Enjoyed your Hodgepodge.

  4. Thank you to your husband for his service. I am glad he is okay. I agree that veterans should have the day off. I hope no one else gets the yucky bug.

  5. Thank you to YOUR veteran and I’m glad he’s getting the day off! I’m glad his health is better too. That grandson is adorable!

  6. I am so sorry to hear about your husband’s recent heart attack but so grateful he is doing well. Yes, it sometimes takes a scare or close call to remind us to express our gratitude more faithfully. That is really scary about the bug exposure, but that little birthday boy is adorable.

  7. I agree with you on Veteran’s getting the day off! I seldom go to Starbucks and it’s just a red cup. People need to get over it. I’m with you on snakes! So sorry about little Evan getting sick and the others. Hope it stops there.

  8. Oh that adorable boy. So sweet, but sorry he got sick. I know that you will be grateful and thankful every day for having your husband. Glad he is getting the day off.

  9. I agree wholeheartedly with you regarding the flu. I’ve yet to get mine this season, but once you suffer with it, you think twice. I know many think otherwise, but everyone has to do what they feel best for their health. Here’s to everyone feeling well soon. From the hodgepodge today.

  10. Evan is adorable! So sorry to hear that party goers have gotten sick. Crazy that they didn’t disinfect that space, knowing it was crawling with germs. I enjoyed your Hodgepodge!! Blessings to you and yours!

  11. sweet thankful answer.

  12. A good marriage is priceless. I have been blessed with remarkable spouse as apparently you have. I’m glad Ed is doing well since his heart attack. Happy birthday Evan. Grandchildren are also a wonderful blessing. Thanks for stopping by my blog post.

  13. Glad to hear your hubby is doing well. Sorry to hear about the stomach flu. Hope it doesn’t get you or hubby. I don’t think I could live somewhere near rattlesnakes (or any poisonous snake come to that).


Leave a Reply

