What Are The Chances?

These days, I almost hate to blog.  It seems, most of what I have to say has been about turmoil or bad news, but that’s the way 2015 has been for us.  It helps to blog about it, and maybe, one day, I can look back and laugh about all of the things Ed and I survived this year.  For now, it’s not so funny.

I mentioned, earlier in the week, I was waiting for some biopsy results from a couple of growths.  On Wednesday, I got the dreaded call.  One of the biopsies showed I have basal cell carcinoma on my face, beside my nose.  What are the chances my daughter and I both have the same type of cancer, at the same time, in almost the same place?

Brandy will be having her Mohl’s surgery on December 1, and I’ll be having mine in January. Neither of us are looking forward to it!  We’ve been told to plan to spend the day at the doctor’s office!  The doctor will remove the skin of the affected area one layer at a time, and examine it under the microscope for cancer cells.  If cells are still detected, they’ll go back and remove another layer of skin.  This process continues until the specimen looks clean under the microscope, then they sew you up.  The whole process can take quite a while.  Sounds like fun, doesn’t it?  In my daughter’s case, she will have the extra step of visiting the plastic surgeon immediately after the Mohl’s surgery, too.

I also mentioned, earlier in the week, how I was about to go out of my mind trying to find health insurance coverage for next year.  Ed and I have looked at health care plans until our eyes are about ready to pop out of our heads.  I think we’ve figured out what we are going to do.  We never were able to find coverage with all four of my doctors as providers, so we’ll settle for three out of four, and pay the “out-of-network” difference for the fourth doctor because that’s the best choice available to us.

What are the chances that Ed and I would have a visit from a couple of  life insurance salesmen, last week? I’d sent in a card requesting some information (for myself), not realizing salesmen would actually come calling.  Anyway, the men were very nice and there was no pressure to buy anything, but in the course of our conversation, they began to ask questions about Ed’s current life insurance coverage.  After doing some checking, it turns out, the insurance policy Ed bought, many years ago, isn’t quite what he thought it was going to be.  It’s okay, for now, but this may not be the case in years to come.  We’ve discovered, this week, nobody will sell you life insurance if you’ve recently survived a heart attack. Sigh.

What are the chances that I would wake up on Thursday morning with my back “out of whack” again?  I don’t know what I did wrong, if anything, but, after over three weeks of being pain-free, I’m having issues again.  There’s some difficulty in going from sitting to standing, and I have some pain on the right side. (Last time it was on the left side)  What else can I say?

At any rate,  even with all of our issues, I continue to try to remind myself– Things could always be worse, because I believe that’s true.  For example:

(1)At least my daughter and I discovered we have skin cancer before it was too late.

(2)At least I’ll have some type of health care coverage, next year, even if it doesn’t quite meet all of my needs

(3) At least Ed has some life insurance coverage, even if it’s not quite what he thought it was.

(4) And, at least I now have a neurologist, whom I can call if my back doesn’t improve.

When all is said and done, it’s the little things, people, like looking for a silver lining in those “clouds of life”, and waiting for those “clouds” to move on…  That’s exactly what I’m trying to do!

Published in: on November 20, 2015 at 10:28 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/11/20/what-are-the-chances/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m glad you caught your skin cancer early, but am sorry for all the hard things you’ve had to deal with this year. Take care, rest your back, and enjoy this week of Thanksgiving!

  2. Catching any cancer early is always the key to survival. I’m glad yours was found and can be taken care of in the doctor’s office. Praise God. Same for your daughters, though it sounds like it is a bit more extensive than yours. I do believe 2015 will be the year you and Ed can look back on and be thankful it is behind you! Perhaps you will be able to giggle about some of it, but nothing you have endured this year has been a laughing matter. Keep counting the positives and your blessings. They are still many! Hugs.

  3. I was so glad to see the positive way you’re choosing to view these events. It looks like since it didn’t kill you, it has made you stronger. In all seriousness, that’s the only way to deal with these cards you’ve been dealt. I’m sending a big warm hug from up north

  4. Oh, Kathy, I’m so sorry to hear that your biopsies came back positive for cancer. I’m thankful that you caught it early, and I pray that the surgery will remove it all and that you won’t have to deal with it in the future. I pray, too, that your neurologist will be able to bring you relief for your back. {{hug}}

  5. BIG ((((((HUGS))))))) I can’t believe everything you are going through. Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.

  6. I will be praying for you friend.


Leave a Reply

